We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Time Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Time Hostel
Ranked #27 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a double room for 2 nights. The room was spacious enough, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was the very small bathroom which was a bit tatty, but you can't argue for the price.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    57
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
96
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peacham, Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Golden Time Hostel is an amazing value in Hanoi. My husband and I stayed their for three nights in March 2013.

The location is a real selling point. Set on a quiet square it's outside the crazy energy of the Old Town, but within easy walking distance.

The room was one of the most attractive and comfortable we've stayed at during our month-long trip in Vietnam, and one of the cheapest too! The bathroom was nice and extremely clean. The TV and AC worked well. The free breakfast was a real step up from most.

The service was great. Michael, the main concierge, was helpful. As is usually the case they can be pushy to try their tours, but we weren't bothered by it. When we didn't end up using any of them it wasn't a problem. Michael helped us with all of our requests and ended up helping us book our onward train ticket. He gave us a really great suggestion for bun cha (noodles & grilled pork), which I can highly recommend for lunch anytime.

Overall, a really nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

All the staff are really friendly and happy to help with all aspects of your stay. Good breakfast of omlette on a roll. We booked our Halong Bay trip with Peter on the Fantasea and it was a good boat with great staff and tour guide. Always greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PENNAJ1255438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable and clean hostel in a central location near Hoan Kiem lake and close to the Opera House. The bathrooms were clean and running hot water was available anytime. The staff comprising Tony, David, Alice and Michael were friendly and helpful. Alice especially was kind and helpful and recommended some delicious local Vietnamese restaurants as well as gave us precise directions to the night market and other sights. Wifi strength was excellent in the room. The window doesn't have much of a view, but that is not at all a complaint considering how happy we were with Golden Time. They arranged a taxi to and fro the airport after we requested them to. We would go back to Golden Time if we are visiting Hanoi again and strongly recommend this place. Fantastic value! 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private room. Staff is simply amazing. Very helpfull. They even remember your name. Rooms are basic and clean, but staff makes the stay worthwile. Overall great value.
On a side note. There is no communal space so your wont meet other travelers. Its all very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdewildt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place based on reviews and was not disappointed. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience of Hanoi. Alice, Tony and Michael are all very knowledgeable and always smiling. They arranged a trip to Ha Long Bay for me and out of the 20 or so people on the boat I paid the least! First time that's happened to me in Vietnam. I had to stay here for a long time while I waited for the the banks to open after new year and Alice made sure I was never bored. She took me to see all of the sights around Hanoi and even let me ride her bike which was the scariest thing in the world but a great experience nonetheless. The location was perfect as it's not too far from the old quarter and not too far from the french quarter and it's nice and quiet. The room I stayed in had a massive bed and cable TV (although some channels were dedgy). The shower was excellent and I was regularly topped up with tea or coffee. Alice makes a mean brown coffee.
Overall my experience was great! Room was perfect with great wifi. Location perfect for a lone traveller or couple, maybe out of the way for party animals. Staff made this place for me. Loved them all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikokakola1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

A short walk from all the action of old town, this is a lovely home away from home.

The staff treat you like family guest. They call you by name, serve eggs for breakfast in your room, offer you tea all the time etc. Basically, you will love it here.

The rooms are small and basic an the lobby is very small too. Difficult to meet other travellers but still a great place and deserves 5 stars. I would give 6 stars just for the staff if i could.

Only downside for me was the Ha Long cruise they booked for me, did not deliver upto the set expectations. Though this is not the hostels fault, they were extremely apologetic.
They provided me a free airport drop to makeup for the same.
Never seen this kind of service in a hostel kind of a place.

I am longing to go back to Hanoi. :)

Room Tip: Avoid the street facing rooms. Gets Noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#102 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Time Hostel 3
Golden Time Hostel 3
#28 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Time Hostel 2
Golden Time Hostel 2
#28 of 566 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#22 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Time Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Time Hostel

Property: Golden Time Hostel
Address: 43 Ly Thai To Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Time Hostel is brand new one located in the heart of the Old Quarter, at 43 Ly Thai To street, just by Hoan Kiem Lake, and close to major amenities such as Markets and Restaurants...The Golden Time Hostel is an ideal place to stay in Hanoi city!All our rooms are clean , comfortable and include an air conditioning units, private bathroom inside, cable television,wifi internet, and a refrigerator. We have single, double, twin and triple rooms to choose from. All our price includes breakfast. Our friendly staff can provide tourist assistance and travel services for your convenience.The choice is clear, come stay with us and have a great time in Hanoi. SERVICES:- SE Asian Visas and Visa Extensions.- Domestic and International Flights.- Train and Bus Tickets.- Vietnam Tours (Halong Bay & Sapa).- Motorcycle Rentals.- Airport Pick-up and Take- away.- Restaurant with breakfast.- Internet 24hours for free.- Foreign exchange.FEATURES:- Computers with free high-speed Internet access.- A restaurant providing Western and Vietnamese food delived.- Tour desk with all the information on everything you want to see or do while touring Vietnam. Especially Hanoi and the Hanoi Old Quarter. Our very friendly staff is always happy to book these tours for you.- Laundry service ($1.5 / kilo)FACILITIES:.24 Hour Reception .Internet Access . Mini Bar .Tours Desk .Free Web Access in Lobby .Free Web Access in Room .Free WiFi in Room .Free WiFi in Lobby .Breakfast Accommodation Information All our rooms are clean , comfortable and include an air conditioning units, private bathroom inside, cable television,wifi internet, and a refrigerator. We have single, double, twin and triple rooms to choose from. All our price includes breakfast.Location Information Golden Time Hostel is brand new one located in the heart of the Old Quarter, at 43 Ly Thai To street, just by Hoan Kiem Lake, and close to major amenities such as Markets and Restaurants... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Time Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing