We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value hotel with very helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tu Linh Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Ranked #84 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is made by the staff who do their utmost to ensure that you are accommodated. Whilst we only stayed 3 nights at the hotel (spread over 7 days) the staff ưere adament that ưe should use their facilities (including a shower, fresh fruit and họmemade juice, internet etc) free of charge.

The rooms are clean and quiet (for Hanoi). The wifi is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McOodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    135
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
320
75
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tu Linh may not be a fancy building, but the service is one of the best I've had anywhere. The staff were genuinely kind and helpful and offered us great breakfast and sightseeing advice/directions every morning. Tim was always there to offer us fruit and drinks after a day out in the hot weather, which was much appreciated!

Even though we booked the hotel for 7 nights, we ended up spending 3 nights sleeping in our rooms since we were gone on a Halong Bay and SaPa tour for the majority of our week in Vietnam. The staff let us store our luggage in the same room at a lower price, which was really convenient for us.

The rooms were clean, the AC was sufficient and there were always cold drinks in the fridge. Location was great and not far from Ho Guom lake, the night market, and the well-known pho place on Bat Dan St.

Would definitely stay at Tu Linh again if I am ever in Hanoi. The staff take excellent care of their guests

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff went to to ends of the earth to make sure our stay was awesome. The rooms are very cheap for what you get. Only negative was that the hotel restaurant wasn't all that great (but not bad), but you should be exploring Hanoi's awesome food scene anyway.

Room Tip: On one occasion a friend couldn't sleep due to noise from a neighbouring building and was moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sekincan, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Tu Linh Palace Hotel was our first Hotel in Hanoi and we definitly will go back there again. The staffs are great, especially Mr "Tim" & Miss "Bac" who's always nice and helpful. They provide us information of the city, and always pay attention for any questions we had. Rooms were nice and clean. Minibar downstairs always provide fresh fruits and drinks. Perfect experience for my first visit to Vietnam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Way K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Best service and hotel we had throughout our 2-week Vietnam/Cambodia trip! We did a fair bit of research for accommodation and I don't regret Tu Linh whatsoever, I would go back in a heartbeat. Described as a budget hotel in most guides, this place had all the basic comforts we needed but with 5-star service. I truly believe that the people you meet can really make your holiday- Tu Linh did exactly that.

Most impressed- By the generosity and genuine concern the staff had for us. We only booked to stay a total of 3 nights (none were consecutive stays and on the whole we spanned about 6 days in Hanoi because of various day trips in/out of Hanoi) however it felt like we had stayed the week because the staff were more than happy to look after us between tours. They allowed us to use their common shower, their toilet, offered fruit and used their dining room as our storage space. On one of the days they had a spare room which had turned over early, so they allowed us to use the room for a shower instead which was very much welcomed.

Service- from the reviews we knew service would be fairly good but it truly exceeded our expectations. For those not accustomed it may feel like you're greeted with over enthusiastic staff however we soon realised we were being looked after by staff who actually cared about their guests happiness and wellbeing. They won't ever let you go hungry. We had some initial problems with our trains to Sapa but the staff handled it wonderfully. I organised train tickets via email before we arrived and had no problem picking them up from the front desk upon arrival. Laundry was efficient and can sometimes be done within a few hours if you require express service. Taxi's can also be organised by the hotel and maps are provided without asking. We had the pleasure of being looked after by Ms Bac, Tim, Tien and Binh. By the end of our stay there they had become our adopted family as they had helped us so much along the way and helped us overcome culture shock.

Rooms- Clean, tidy and decorated with modern amenities. A/C and TV worked fine along with a good hot shower. Toiletries were also provided such as shower cap, comb, shampoo/conditioner and soap. Fruit provided in the rooms was most appreciated. Linen was clean but to be fair I can't comment on that as we used our sleeping bag liner as a rule throughout the whole of Vietnam.

Breakfast- enjoyed the breakfast on offer at Tu Linh. We had their noodle soup for breakfast which was simple, tasty and heart warming. Western options are also available.

Location- in a convenient location for all the activities we had planned and not to far from the lake. Also situated in a hub of great street food and bia hoi joints. If you need recommendations on local food try asking the staff, they recommended us some of the best food we had on our trip. For the younger crowd, the hotel is also walkable from the local club scene.

Tours- Did not use their tour services as we pre-arranged it independently. We had no pressure from the staff to use their tour services (Lonely Planet warned that some budget hotels may place pressure, but not at Tu Linh!). In fact the hotel staff greeted all our tour operators and had a short chat with them just to make sure we would be looked after.

Overall, I could not ask for anything more from a hotel such as this. Incredible value for money.

Room Tip: If you choose rooms with a window you may get some noise even with the windows shut (for sensitive s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azn_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel scene in Hanoi worried me, with so many hotels being accorded 5 stars by reviewers. With forums occasionally mentioning false reviews, we booked this hotel based on the photos and the price. We travelled as a family of 5, and had booked the honeymoon suite for the three boys, and a deluxe room for us. The rooms were clean, with comfortable beds, with a welcome bottle of local red wine (for honeymooners) and fresh fruit. There was a fridge in each room, with mineral water that cost the same as the supermarket nearby. The bathroom was attached to the bedroom and apart from one loose taphead, it was all in working order.
The hotel was located within the Old Quarter and allowed us to explore the entire area by foot, soaking in the Hanoi experience.
The staff were, as mentioned previously, very helpful and friendly. All the front desk people (Minh, and Tuan) spoke decent English, and made our stay memorable. From booking an overnight trip to Halong Bay, to recommending places to eat, and even arranging our taxi to the airport, it was done with a willing smile. The many equally good alternative hotels were all in the vicinity of the Old Quarter of Hanoi, and this made the staff aware of the need to outdo the competition in hospitality. Breakfast was good, and of sufficient variety to satisfy our children, with a free flow of fresh fruit, juice/cordials and tea/coffee available in the somewhat narrow but functional dining area.
We could leave our luggage until our evening flight, and there was a common bathroom for a quick shower even after we had checked out. All in all, an extraordinary experience in a budget hotel.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suites are in the front of the hotel, facing the hustle and bustle of the street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bboymsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tu Linh Palace Hotel was our first Hotel in Vietnam and we would always go back there. We were welcomed warmly by lovely "Tim" who gave us information of the city, tips for street food (Hotel is very central) and who always had an ear for any questions we had. Also all the other staff was very friendly and nice and made us feel great! Rooms were nice, clean, with great bathroom, TV and minibar...breakfast included, always fresh fruits and drinks. Perfect.
They helped us with everything, even booked the train to Hue for us and went with us to buy a Sim card.
Thank you very much for this nice starting time in Vietnam.
Anna & Sven

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#61 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#104 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#117 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Linh Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Linh Palace Hotel

Property: Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Address: No 2B Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem | Old Quarter, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tu Linh Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tu Linh Palace Hotel located at Hanoi's Old Quarter, erected on the street of old quarter hanoi is this famous near around: 36 old street, Dong Xuan market, Hoankiem lake, Ngocson temple and Chuongduong bridge… is about 800 metres prolonged. The area offers a wide range of excellent Vietnamese and Western food style and Surrounded many shops selling silk, souvenir with many other special of Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam. The lobby and reception area are awash with colors of Oriental luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Tu Linh Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing