We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slam-dunk success”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Slam-dunk success”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Good price, great service, delicious breakfast buffet, perfect location. If you like these things in a hotel you should stay here. I couldn't say it better if I worked in their marketing department! This place was really great. The service was top knotch (better than many 5 star hotels I've stayed at), the breakfast buffet had a nice selection of foods with outstanding fresh bread and juices along with delicious complimentary order items (choose one of pho, banana pancakes, or french toast). The rooms were average size, the beds were hard but that's typical of an insanely congested city in Asia and with a great AC and new soft sheets I slept very well. They offer private laptops in the room free of charge and comp wifi. The staff is really exceptional though. Duc was on staff while we stayed there, he took a ton of time to sit with us and go over the whole map of the city (nearly half an hour) explaining directions and offering suggestions for the best place to get pho on the street. Always smiling, always courteous and like I wrote in the title a real slam-dunk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    200
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
542
1,360
180
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel, which was a very pleasant stay. The staff is friendly and welcoming. They are helpful in ordering taxis, carrying luggage or giving you advice on what to do and what do see.
The rooms (we stayed in a Deluxe) are spacious, very clean and they made a good impression on us.
One thing to improve is the sound isolation of the windows. We heard the rooster starting at ca. 5am until ca 7am. This is very annoying and hence the deduction to 4 stars "only".

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, at a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kami_997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Highly recommended - lived up to the reviews that we read before we came. Very nice restaurant and friendly staff. Surprisingly quiet for the location! Were very happy to find a laptop and free wifi which made researching things to do very easy. Would come back here for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojopig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is the heart of the old down town and is a small modern hotel with very helpful staff. We were primarily attracted by the street life in Hanoi and would prefer to eat on the sidewalk. In that context, this hotel is far on the luxury end. We did not stay anywhere else in Vietnam to compare, but seemed overall to be fairly priced. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zlisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel was our first port of call after travelling from Toronto. Airport pickup was smooth even though we arrived late at night and we felt well looked after. We had booked one of their larger rooms for two nights before a trip to Halong Bay and one night upon our return. Rooms were very clean and comfortable with a nice shower, hot water and free mini bar and snacks with our room category. Our room had a bedroom, sitting room with sofa bed, large bathroom and balcony with views of Hanoi. Breakfasts were usual fare with very polite staff and prompt service. As other reviews have stated the staff go above and beyond......my husband inquired about obtaining a SIM card and a staff member took him to the store to buy it to make sure he got the right one then returned to the hotel with us. As you step out the door of the hotel you are surrounded by the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter. So many things to look at and explore.......I suggest getting a tour guide for your first day to get your bearings and introduce yourself to some food items you might not be brave enough to try otherwise.
To sum up.....should I ever return to Hanoi this hotel would be my first choice due to location, cleanliness, good food and outstanding staff at all levels of service.

Room Tip: Larger suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymars1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellant location with great staff. Rooms were nice and spacious and very clean. The bathrooms were also very spacious and clean. Would definetley recommend this place. The staff helped us obtain everything we needed, from tours to flights, taxis and also provided good recommendations on places to eat that were different from the regular tourist restaurants (we did ask for a separate set of recommendations than what hotel provides)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marcmaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A wonderful hotel in the heart of the old quarter. Step out the door and there is all kinds of shopping - clothing, jewellery, hidden gems and more than enough restaurants to choose from. Plus, walk to the first corner at the end of the day and have a seat on a small stool roadside and drink the daily local beer for around .50 cents to $1. A great way to end a day of walking before dinner. The hotel itself is well maintained. The rooms are nicely and tastefully decorated. The staff more than kind and attentive and the breakfast, which is included tasty. We would certainly stay again and recommend highly to friends! All of this for a very reasonable price. Be sure to check it out!

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room that has an outside facing window. Much more enjoyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing