We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service at Essence hotel Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top service at Essence hotel Hanoi”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights of which 1 night in sister hotel elite. Outstanding rooms, food, employees and service. Really, I think not much city hotels in the world can beat this kind of service, quality and friendlyness. You feel comfortable as soon as they open the doors for you when you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,595
    211
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
554
1,386
184
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although we were expecting a larger room, on explaination from the Manager about the small sizes of accommodation in the Old Quarter of Hanoi I was satisfied. The room was too small for us to adequately access our luggage.
A welcoming bowl of fruit (nice touch). Transport was organised from the airport and return and also tickets to the Water Puppets as well as organising our trip on a cruise to Halong Bay. The staff could not do enough, always friendly and eager to help. This hotel also has a shower that you can use (after check out) and prior to catching your flight. The manager works long hours, he is always available at the front tour desk and he appears to treat his staff well. Great manager (Mr Giang) and great staff! Sets an example! After returning from our cruise as planned for an extra night (they even safely store you belongings while you are on the cruise) we were offered a much larger room at a discounted rate and a reduced rate on our previous nights in the smaller room. It does not get any better than that ! Very informative re advice on restaurants and helpful organising taxi's and cyclo tours. We were given the rate on how much to pay etc so it was great to know we were not being ripped off! The honesty and service is second to none. If other Hotels offered this we would all be happy. Initially we wanted to stay at The Diamond and were very disappointed that this was unavailable. Think the Essence was a better location. A great breakfast, well done team!

Room Tip: Ask for something up from a superior room is you have large luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy5746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Vietnam. Great hotel located in a convenient area. Close to lots of restaurants. The inside of the hotel was very modern and nice! You cannot tell from the outside! The staff were very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading good reviews about it, and were not disappointed...The food was delicious and prepared and served with style. The prices were excellent, the staff were attentive and friendly without being over the top. So impressed we went back several times...try and reserve a table as it is very popular...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKat7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had an amazing time in Hanoi helped by the staff at this hotel, easily the best staff in any hotel we have stayed at
Noise was a major issue! inside the hotel
also finding lipstick on napkins, bedding was a turn off, i understand its hard to remove but I did not like finding it as it made me fee like the linen had not been cleaned
the only other negative was them not replacing the flowers each day and putting half dead ones back on things in the room!
Food was very very good for breakfast and dinner!

Room Tip: junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is really quite a nice little boutique hotel. Great for quick stopover 2-3 days in Hanoi as its location is great to just wander around and look at all the sights. The concierge also provides a great little map you can use to do various walking tours around the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandinmypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The staff really go out of their way to make your stay an excellent experience. The hotel booked for us an airport pickup, a one night Halong Bay cruise on the Dragon Pearl 3, a half day city tour with car and driver and also the Water Puppet theatre.

We highly recommend the hotel breakfasts and flower decorations, so much so that we decided to eat in the restaurant for one evening meal. A very memorable meal and again excellent service.

Our rooms were quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed the welcome fruit bowl and unlimited cold water.

Overall a very pleasant time in a vibrant city. The hotel is an oasis of calm in what can sometimes feel like a chaotic city.

James Taylor
Berenice Webb
Helga Webb

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing