We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

You absolutely deserve to treat yourself & stay here. We stayed 3 nights in an amazing suite at an excellent price, free use of laptop in the room, fruit supplied daily - free, free laundry service.
Fabulous staff, very helpful, friendly, and ready for a chat. Rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated, air conditioned and very comfy beds. Breakfast is delicious, offering great choices.We have traveled quite a lot and can honestly say, this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Suite on 7th floor is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    198
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
541
1,350
178
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Delivered very little of what was promised. And we were in deluxe rooms. Dingy. Dark. TINY. We may as well have stayed at an Ibis. Our "view" out the smallest window EVER was some discarded sprite bottles jammed into a rusting air con unit. Our kids' room was worse. No light whatsoever in their room which can only be described as tomb-like. Note we tried to upgrade to a suite but none were available. Just don't stay here, is all we can say. It spoiled our trip to Hanoi. The food (breakfast) is good and the service is good but in such a hectic city to return to a dark and dingy hole is not fun. There was not even enough light to read and our fridge didn't work so forget coming home to a cold refreshment. We based our booking on reviews, which were all gleaming. All we can say is they must have stayed in different rooms to ours. And we had two rooms! Also note this is my first trip advisor review and I'm not normally critical. Just felt pretty strongly about how UNLIKE what was on their website the reality was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Regi412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Essence hotel 16/813 for 4 nights. The service in the hotel was amazing and the attention to every detail was incredible. We have 2 young kids 6 & 8 and the amount of attention the staff paid the children was quite overwhelming. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to couples with or without children accompanying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Essence Hotel as part of our honeymoon in July. As we had an overnight flight we arrived really early in the morning, we were greeted with such warmth and friendliness and were checked into our room at about 10am after having a really good breakfast. It was so nice of the staff to let us get some rest after our flight, especially being so long before the check-in time. This basically set an amazing standard for our stay as the staff were just incredible and made our time in Hanoi so easy. The team booked us excursions, tables at lovely local restaurants and made getting around the city so easy. They also surprised me with a cake as our trip coincided with my birthday! We really did feel speacial and I would 100% recommend the hotel to anyone. We would love to come back to Hanoi and we would absolutely stay at the Essence Hanoi. Thanks for such great service and a lovely time.
Rob & Tina

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Wife & I stayed at the Essence 7/8/13 to 14/8/13
We have stayed in many hotels around the world, but I would say the service at this hotel is the best experience we have had
The Hotel staff take a pride in their jobs,the hotel itself is spotless, we stayed in a suite it was spacious.
Hotel restaurant is great both food and service
Do yourself a favour.If in Hanoi stay at the Essence.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Essence hotel in August 2013 (2 adults in one double room and 3 teenagers in a twin with 1 extra bed).
The service is excellent from the pick up at the airport to departure: smily staff, check in around drinks in a sofa, help with luggage...). We left the hotel for 2 days and 1 night to go on a cruise in Halong Bay. They kept our luggage so we did not have to carry large suitcases.
The decoration is lovely (modern with a touch of local style) and the hotel and bedrooms qre super clean and comfortable. I travel a lot for business and I can say bathroom and bedroom quality matches that of the international 4 star chain hotels.
The breakfast is very good and the restaurant (Essence cafe) excellent: good value for money and good quality and variety (Vietnamese but also international food). It gets very busy in the evening so it is better to book if you want a table.
The location at the heart of the old quarter is fantastic: you are in the 36 streets area and you can walk (5 minutes) to the lake, temple... You have the animation of the Hanoi lively streets (street bars and street food on the sidewalks) but as soon as you pass the door of the hotel everything gets quiet, calm and relaxed again.
We booked on line directly from their internet website. No problem at all.
I would strongly recommend Essence hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 605 and 607. Very quiet, recently refurbished. Great decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013. It's a great hotel in the heart of the Old Quarter. The room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was a small but nice buffet with extras cooked fresh on request (included). One real bonus is the free wifi and laptop in the room. Staff very helpful with excellent English. We booked the airport transfer which cost D380,000. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#15 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing