We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be ranked 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Deserves to be ranked 1st”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great hotel this is. Not huge, but the staff are first class and nothing was too much trouble for them. They would remember what we had planned each day and ask how it went, they could all be at a 5star hotel. The rooms are plenty big enough although some may find the bathroom a little "compact". We were on the 4th floor but there was very little noise from outside and we didn't have any trouble sleeping. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and not overly expensive for Vietnam (certainly cheap by Perth standards!) and the breakfast was especially good. I liked still being able to order hot food cooked to order and still it was included in the price. The staff at breakfast would also have a chat without being intrusive. The old quarter is area is very convenient for just walking around shopping or eating and I would thoroughly recommend the Essence to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyozPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    200
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
542
1,360
180
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

the only reason i can't give this hotel 5 stars is not the fault of the staff--the location means that there is no view and we kept our blinds drawn. but we don't spend that much time in the room anyway.
i can't praise the service we got here enough. everyone--from the front desk to the waitstaff (the chef showed my husband how to make a flower out of a carrot when he asked!), to the porters gave their all to make for a perfect stay. and the hotel is very conveniently located though they'll call a cab for you if you need one.
we needed some help because of glitches--lost items essentially--and the front desk made phone calls for us, took messages and did their best to smooth things out.
several people gave excellent advice about what to visit and when. when we returned to the hotel after a side trip to halong bay, they gave us a room upgrade. still no view, but everything was clean and comfortable and generous.
breakfast and dinner were fine as well.
in sum, i recommend this hotel without any doubts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here because of the amazing TripAdvisor reviews, and they proved to be accurate. The location is perfect, in the heart of the old city, which is really where you want to stay. The staff is remarkably courteous and helpful. They have some unusual perks like laptops in the room, which proved useful for me for things like Skype (rather than using WiFi on the iPhone or iPad that I had). The room is very comfortable. There's a minibar, and by American standards, it's ridiculously cheap (eg less than $1/soda). The hotel was a great value overall. While Hanoi has a lot of very cheap hotels that look decent, this is by far the nicest place I've ever stayed for handily under $100 per night. As a bonus, I also followed TripAdvisor reviewers' advice and tried the restaurant in the lobby, and the food is excellent - a bonus when you don't want to move far after a long day. You're also within a 5-10 walk of some of the other best options ih Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This 3 stars hotel looks like a 5 stars. We've stayed 4 days in the end of May and it is difficult to say what we liked most. The hotel is small, like almost everything in the old quarter, but very comfortable, clean and very well decorated. We stayed in a twin room. The size is average, but clean and with a laptop available for the guests to use. The breakfast was very good and I recommend you try the pineapple pancakes. One of the nights we had dinner in the restaurant and the food we tried was of the bests in Vietnam. We preferred the Vietnamese food - reasonable price and very tasteful. We had lots of fun doing spring rolls by ourselves. Finally, the staff. They were very friendly, efficient and they speak well English (hard to find in Vietnam). This Hotel definitely exceeded our expectations (for a 3 stars hotel) and will be place to stay on our next return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves Beach,Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great little hotel, with brilliant staff and service. I agree with the other reviews. Great value as well. One of the best value hotels ( for the quality) I have stayed at anywhere in the world
Recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was so good I decided to do a review on Trip Advisor for the first time. That is saying something for someone who never has time for such things. There is so much to be said. Perfect location right in the heart of the Old Quarter. It couldn't be more central. The staff go above and beyond. They escorted us to our cabin on the train for free. They even paid for the taxi there! They offered - we didn't even have to ask. Also they offered the use of a shower room when we returned from a tour even though we had checked out the day before. Towels and toiletries provided as well. We just wanted somewhere to store our luggage. We happily accepted their offer. They thought of everything, even when we didn't. They also booked our tour to Halong Bay and our onward train tickets saving us a lot of hassle. Saved using agencies and/or going to the train stationn to get tickets. Five star service for a three star price. The hotel facilities are also exactly as described. The rooms are ideal, with a laptop in every room. Great for those who don't travel with modern technology. The breakfast is also good with a mix of food to order and a comprehensive buffet. The hotel met or exceeded our expectations on every front. Our expectations were high based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It did not dissappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERyan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We love this hotel, the fabulous staff, the location, and the restaurant – breakfast and dinner. This time we stayed for two days on the front end of our Vietnam vacation and two more days on the back.
The rooms are average size but are well appointed, nicely decorated, are clean. The linens and towels are very nice. And there is laptop in every room to access the internet.

But it is the staff that we are most impressed with… everyone from the front desk staff, to the waiters/waitresses, to the drivers. They are always happy and helpful.

This time we visited their sister hotel, The Diamond, for a drink on the roof in the early evening. It was very pleasant and gave a nice view of the city (on the 12th floor).

Don’t be afraid to eat the street food in Hanoi, but for a break, eat at the hotel restaurant. They have a new French chef. The Vietnamese food is excellent and is presented in a very fun way.

We will stay again!

Room Tip: The suites provide a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing