We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Located centrally to everything in the old centre this is a really nice hotel. Well appointed rooms and the staff are fantastic.The restaurant is great for breakfast and is also one of the best places in Hanoi for an evening meal. Highly recommended in all respects.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgans121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    201
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
544
1,367
182
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The standard of the accommodation was excellent and the staff were very helpful.. Our delux room was perfect complete with laptop. The hotel is tucked away in the old quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake is just a five minute walk away. We stayed six nights but spent one night on a cruise in Halong Bay (see separate review). I would like to thank the reservation officer Ms Toan Phan who was tremendous help when booking the holiday, upgrading our rooms, booking the cruise and arranging for all transfers. Everything was arranged, quickly and with no fuss.The food at the hotel was of a very high standard but you must also eat outside sampling food from the street vendors and the wide range of restaurants. If you like beer then you should try the local fresh beer. Oh and there is a handy ATM just outside the hotel. Choose your cabs carefully as some charge much more than others. They give you a handy map at the hotel which tell you the cabs to use. There is much to see here and I would recommend the Water Puppet Theatre located at the top of the lake on the north east corner. What helped make the stay memorable was the friendly polite people of Hanoi. They would say hello as you walked past and even took photos with us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are a mid 30s couple who are happy with accommodation as long as it is comfortable, but most importantly in a good location. This hotel is perfectly situated to explore the Old Quarter of Hanoi. It is only 5 minutes walk to the lake and is pretty much central to the rest of the Old Quarter's adventure and craziness. Whatsmore, it is only 10 metres away from Bia Hoi corner (International Corner to the locals) where you can grab a small plastic stool and a refreshing draught beer (or 4) for around 30 cents and watch the world go by. We were there most afternoons when the heat had beaten us and again after dinner for a nightcap before bed. Great fun and a great place to meet travellers and locals wanting to improve their English.

We stayed in a Junior suite, which was a good size and included laptop with internet, wifi, free minibar, fruit and laundry and a bottle of Dalat red wine upon checkin. Our room was at the back of the Hotel and was very quiet. Big window but only view over rooftops (but fine because that's why it was quiet). Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Service was great throughout. Map provided was adequate and advice was given upon request. Breakfast was excellent, but can't comment on the restaurant for other meals as there were too many street food and other culinary delights to enjoy in Hanoi and we did not eat there.

We had already booked 2 nights in Halong Bay and 3 in Sapa and the hotel was happy to mind our bags. We also arranged airport pick-up and drop off and train station pick-up for a reasonable fee. All went smoothly. We were offered breakfast and a smaller room to shower after sapa train before our flight to Danang and took up the offer for $40. Well worth it after getting off the overnight train at 4:30am. The room was not as big as the Suite but still clean comfortable and had laptop. Only small window though.

My wife and I loved this hotel and would stay here again due to the location, staff and comfortable room.

Room Tip: Junior suite room 604 was at the back of the building. No view to speak of but big window, plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were met with exceptional service. The staff was friendly and helped us on numerous occasions with our plans (including a trip to Halong Bay). The breakfast at the Cafe was incredible - great options, delicious food, and very attentive service. Our room was quiet, very clean, modern and very comfortable. The location in the Old Quarter is unbeatable, and this allowed us to have a cool, comfortable sanctuary in the midst of chaos and heat! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM8430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In addition to nice rooms and a central Old Quarter location, we had amazing service. Arriving by on an afternoon plane to catch a night train in to Sapa we found a rainy dismal train station with no baggage check and no way to get tickets. Wet, with 5 hours to kill and all our luggage we went to the hotel where we had a reservation in 3 days. They gave us a room to shower and change our clothes, held our luggage and then sent a bellboy with us to negogiate getting on the train. All no charge!
When returned in 3 days later at 6:00 amagain dripping wet, they gave us a room so we could shower and hang out until ours was ready in the afternoon with a minimal extra charge.
Great staff nice rooms and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

It is a little difficult to get across just how amazing the staff here are. It would take me too long to explain everything they did to help us or just how great they were. Couple this with the ideal location, the fact there is one of the best restaurants in town attached and that the place is lovely, well furnished and attractive. There is a reason this is trip advisors's number one pic. But keep in mind that their other places are also excellent (we spent two nights at the Diamond as well. Even if you're not staying there you should go to the roof top bar for a drink).
Thanks essence team, you guys are amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoscoeHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything here is first rate, from the warm welcome, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast and friendly staff always making sure you're comfortable and your stay is memorable. A terrific location in the centre of the best part of a very interesting city.
We had planned an overnight cruise on Halong Bay after checking out our last day intending to pick up our bags at the Essence the next day on our way to the airport. We learned at Halong Bay that the overnight cruise had been cancelled due to weather and we would be returning to Hanoi that night after a day cruise. The Essence was contacted, they were completely booked, but found us a room at another nice hotel and paid for the cab to take us there. Service above and beyond.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#18 of 586 in Hanoi
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing