We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend break with friends”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friends and I have returned from a great break in Hanoi. The hotel was wonderful, right in the heart of the old quarter. Plenty of shopping, cafes and bars.

The hotel organised for us a bike ride around the outskirts of Hanoi, through small villages and across the barriers between rice fields. We had to cycle past groups of cows and cross a river by ferry. Everyone we passed shouted hello and my friend stopped the traffic as she spoke to school children. As she chatted more and more children appeared all wanting to show off their English. We then came back to the town and our guide took us to a road side eatery. I wouldn't normally have tried this but .. the food was fabulous. Traditional food fresh and perfect.

The staff of the hotel couldn't do enough for us and were always interested in where we had been and what we had bought. I love the fact that shops will always deliver to your hotel.

We also went to the sister hotel for a massage. Very good and you could pay directly or charge back to your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waggydivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,595
    211
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
554
1,386
184
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent three days at essence hotel. First night we were relocated to another hotel due to a water issue in our room. Staffe took good care of us and we were upgraded.
The room was clean and quiet (which surprised us given how noisy the old quarter is). Probably not THE best rooms in all of Hanoi (i could imagin the 5 star hotels having bigger and better rooms obviously), but i doubt you could find better quality / price around.
breakfast is good, especially the a la carte french toasts. didnt try the restaurant though.
Ginger tea on the arrival is the best ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank av_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hotel with really awesome staff located in the heart of the Old Quarter. We were welcomed with a bowl of fresh fruit in our room which was a nice touch. The room was lovely with a French-Vietnamese influence. Breakfast was limited but the food was fantastic. Staff at reception were also incredibly helpful with directions and suggestions about where to eat locally.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
- clean room with everything you need
- amazing breakfast included in the room price
- good location
- GREAT service: friendly, helpful, professional

Cons:
- the bathroom is just okay and quite small. I stayed at the Hanoi elegance diamond before and the shower was much better
- the room we were given was quite small too

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilambil Heights, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The truth is that it is very small and has no external installation, but as soon as you walk in the door you feel great! It is very cozy, elegant, clean ... With rooms spend more or less the same, which are tiny but cozy. Normally try to accommodate interior rooms ... amaze you because the views are to a wall that is less than two feet from your window, but you can get any better if you want to rest in Hanoi. It is a city that never sleeps ... there are always people on the street, because they make life on the street. Not that the Vietnamese are particularly noisy, but in a city with more than 10 million motorcycles ...
The staff is very friendly. The last day we had to leave very early in the morning and did not care to open the dining room of breakfast 20 minutes earlier than they normally have provided.
Also the hotel is in the center, near the Lake of the Restored Sword.
Having seen other hotels in the city of more stars (this only has 2, but it certainly has to do with the issue of taxes paid by category) I'll take this without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LE15417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

First, the glitch. On arriving we were told that our Junior Suite was not available as there was a "water problem". We were given another standard of room which was still very good, and had to move rooms the next day. I am not convinced that there was a "water problem", and suspect that it was a case of double booking. I only mention this in case it happens to others and becomes an ongoing issue for travellers. Otherwise it was an 11 out of 10.

Service is sensational, rooms excellent and very quiet (get one on floors 6 or 7 as they building next door is lower = more light). Breakfast was 7/10.

But, even better than the service is the location, which could not be better. Hanoi is an amazing city, and this the perfect base to experiene all Hanoi has to offer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Floors 6 & 7 offer more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JArg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

There isn't much to say about the Essence Hotel that already hasn't been said. It is in a great location in the Old Quarter, about a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and to the Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre. There are countless restaurants nearby (we easily walked to the Green Mango, LIttle Hanoi and Gourmet Kitchen restaurants) and the shopping of course starts as soon as you exit the hotel.

The hotel itself is spotless, both the rooms and common areas. All staff (front desk, restaurant, cleaning staff) are extremely helpful and courteous and will take care of most any request you can throw at them. They'll call you a cab, get Water Puppet Theatre tickets, and even negotiate a better price with vendors selling pastries out on the street! When we had to get all of our luggage to a nearby hotel to catch a hired van, they put it all on luggage carts and walked it through the streets for us. And if you've seen the streets of the Old Quarter in Hanoi, you'll know how difficult this can be.

We had a deluxe twin room which was a good size and very well laid out. Beds were comfortable, everything functioned properly (AC, shower, etc.) and there was a good selection of English speaking channels available. By North American standards the mini bar was very reasonably priced and offered a good selection. The room contained a safe, hair dryer and laptop, and the internet connection was one of the most reliable we've had. An iron and ironing board will also be provided if requested. The only little perk I missed at this hotel compared to others, was a bathrobe, but this is not a criticism by any means.

The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was very good. The buffet was not large, but offered a good selection of hot foods, pastries, fruit, coffee/tea, etc. However unlike other hotels we stayed in, they also offered a menu from which you could choose items like french toast, eggs,omelets, etc. The french toast was great.

During our stay the power in the Old Quarter was out, which I understand to be a common occurrence in Vietnam. We certainly noticed this while shopping as the stores were completely dark. However the hotel ran their generator so we were not inconvenienced at all.

The Essence Hotel was a welcome resting place after busy days navigating the streets of Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocAHolic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing