We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

this hotel is just great!
location is good, staff are exttremly nice, rooms are beautiful and clean and the breakfast is very various and tasty.
we got a really nice welcome with a honeymoon cake and a greeting (hand written - which felt very personal!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,595
    211
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
554
1,386
184
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Incredibly friendly and helpful hotel with absolutely superb rooms and in a great location.

I really couldnt fault this hotel - the staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly and the room was superb - clean, well equiped, and spacious (with a balcony if you pick the suite). We also took advantage of one of their cruises in Halong Bay which was excellent.

I don't know whether this came with all rooms - but we also got free mini-bar, complementary bottle of wine, free fruit, free laundry, and free wifi - all of which made it a perfect stay. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The suite was superb and well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was an excellent boutique hotel, that we have stayed in, in the heart of the old quarter,
we could feel the buzz of the city, we just loved it, the staff were polite and courteous, they
arranged for a private car with a guide to take us around Hanoi, the rooms were pretty
and spotless,we chose this hotel because it was the top rated hotel on trip advisor, and we are
glad we made the choice. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onaizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Hanoi. It is very conveniently located in the old quarter, with bustling street life just around the corner. At the same time, it provides the perfect retreat from the hectic with well appointed, clean and quiet rooms. Breakfast and food at the restaurant were excellent and good value. Most of all, we were extremely pleased by the friendlyness and attentiveness of the staff who made us feel at home immediately. Customer Service Manager Tam arranged a two day trip to Ha Long Bay for us at short notice. During our absence, our luggage was well taken care of, we simply left it in the room and found it in the new room upon return. When one of our Jetstar flights was delayed, messing up our travel plans for the coming days, Tam helped us book new tickets for a more convenient travel option and then went out of her way to negotiate the maximum refund for us with Jetstar. When she learned about the price we were supposed to pay to the hotel for airport transfer at our next destination (Hue), she found us an option which was 10 USD cheaper. Overall, we had an extremely comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small window. If you want a bright room choose Deluxe or mention this to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with some of our friends. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our party had 3 rooms booked and they hotel was able to have us all stay on the stay floor which made things very convenient. They also arranged for the hotel shuttle to the airport for us as needed. The rooms were clean and felt new. Breakfast was great with all the essentials. Centrally located, we were able to walk everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpham503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed there for two nights. Rooms are very good with all amenities , clean and confortable. The ubication in th old quarter very close to the lake is one of the best points of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant , Essence cafe . Is a good choice for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macafe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. The staff and super friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us, particularly after we'd checked out of the boutique church hotel due to its bad service and rooms.
The hotel manager was very welcoming showing us a number of rooms and upgrading us !! He suggested some great day trips - Duong Lam the old village in the north is worth a visit . We rode bikes through tourist free rice fields and felt very content in Vietnam. Miss Tam who greets everyone each morning at breakfast is a delight ! she booked and rebooked , and changed a number of appointments for us at restaurants, spas and the puppet theatre, nothing was ever a bother. I will be sending all family and friends to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliBAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing