We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We are presently on our trip in Vietnam. We have travelled all over the world and mostly try to stay in nice (3 star or up) hotels that we look forward to coming "home" to after a night out. The essence Hanoi exceeded our expectations. The location smack in the middle of the old quarter (which is busy, noisy, authentic Hanoi). When you walk into hotel its like being in another world. Quiet, elegant, amazing service, friendly smiles. They never say no. I had a headache on arrival. Asked for a pharmacy. They immediately send someone out to get avd deliver to room. Hotel Manager booked all our tours the following morning. Everything was first class from Halong Bay cruise (princess) to Sapa trains. They literally escorted us to station and into train cabin. Food at the restaurant is excellent quality. We ate there several times. And breakfast is fresh, made to order eggs, pancakes, Pho soup. I know this review is glowing but I am going to miss the staff when I go home. They even let us shower before train as we didn't have a room that day after cruise. Also, stored our luggage an entire week while we did overnight trips.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    201
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
544
1,367
182
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were being warmly welcome by the hotel staffs, a warm towel to refresh up and a hot cup of ginger tea... it was rather cold when we arrived in Hanoi, and that cup of tea was really GOOD !! (in fact too good that i almost ask if its possible to buy some...)
On the third day, we started a wedding photo shoot for my client, whom they stayed in the same hotel, the staffs were really helpful and meets all the request that we had ( well done guys !! ) even help us to sorce for photo shooting location and asking the locations if it is possible to do wedding photos, arranging taxi for us..
The hotel is very well located, we can pretty much get to most tourist sights on foot, and the hotel is very thoughful that they map out the routes and streets, where and what to shop, eat etc on a map for guest that stayed in the hotel.
The room size was nice, the bed linen were well pressed, clean,and because of our busy schedule, we "rush" in and out of the hotel during our shoot, we( me and my photographer) sometime pop into our room to pick up a dress for the bride or steal a break for a cup of coffee ( coffee and tea bags courtesy of the hotel ) The cups were being cleaned when we return in the evening.... WELL DONE house keeping !!! and one more very important thing, people that have been to Hanoi will know how much the motorist or drivers like to HORN on the road... once in the hotel room with window shut... ahhhhhhhhh.... PEACE !!
Because of the warm smile, helpfulness, welcoming mood of the staffs from ESSENCE HANOI HOTEL at 22 Ta Hien Street/ Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District,Hanoi 10000 , Vietnam ... Even the weather was COLD... we felt good during our stay in Hanoi.
Last but not least, i will go back to the same hotel if i am doing wedding photography again in Hanoi. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYS !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I would highly recommend the Essence Hotel to all travelers.
Situated in the Old Quarter in Hanoi,close to Ma May street
for restaurants.
The reception staff are hard to fault.,keen to help you with
tours and what to do whilst in Hanoi.
We had a suite which consisted of bedroom.lounge,2 TVs, 2 ACs.
free laptop.
The rate we paid cannot be beaten.
Suitable for all ages

Room Tip: Suites as you have lounge and bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've just written a fairly lengthy review for the hotel and staff on Agoda, so apologies that this is a fairly brief review. But in a nutshell the location is perfect, the room was spotless and comfy, but what really really really makes this hotel one of the best I've ever stayed in (out of literally hundreds) is the staff, and Toan in particular. They really couldn't do enough to help, and were always ready with a smile. I simply wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Hanoi, and neither, dear reader should you or anyone else in their right mind. Just do yourself a favour and stay here, end of story!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here with another couple for just one night, but the hotel helped organize a trip to wonderful Sapa and to Ha Long bay, and we used the hotel as a "base" in-between.

For a start, the location could not have been better, in the middle of bustling and somewhat hectic city life, but nevertheless, the hotel was an elegant and peaceful place. Also close to the scenic Hoan Kiem Lake.

As most buildings in Vietnam, the hotel is quite narrow and tall. Furtunately, the brand new hotel has a very good lift (or easy to walk stairs, if you prefer, as I, to get the exercise!), so access to all rooms is comfortable. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed for this price range, they even have free lap-tops in every room. Room sizes vary and some have windows that only opens towards a narrow inside area, so you may want to be specific about this when you book.

Breakfast was also very good, with both international and local food offered. Good selections and omelettes made to order.

Service was outstanding, from start to end. We even got a room for free, for a couple of hours, after having been away for a 2 day / 3 night trip to Sapa.

We will stay here again if / when we get back!

Room Tip: See text above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel and the reviews are all 100% right. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were looked after better than any other Hotel in Vietnam and we went to some good ones as well!! I say attention to detail because it's the small things that make the difference here are a few on them. 1) Being asked if the Airport pick up was good, and that the driver drove well. 2) Being asked personally by the Manager or Tam if you slept well the night before and if there was anything they could help us with. 3) Going through your itinerary for the day just to ensure you were on the right track, that was done everyday to everyone at Breakfast 4) Calling a good taxi and going out to give the details and ensuring the driver knew where to go 5) A feedback form 6) A follow up email AFTER you had left
7) Having 2 central tip boxes and we were assured that this is a team operation and tips are split. Tam again explained that and indeed when we tipped any staff we saw them put it into the tip box. I could go on, because there were more examples, ALL the staff without exception were very friendly and very courteous indeed. We stayed in the Suite room and it was very well appointed and again nothing left to chance. The hotel is immaculate all the time and if the staff are not so busy, then you can see them cleaning. The breakfast was the best we had in Vietnam as well, and we can both REALLY recommend the restaurant for lunch or evening meal. In fact I think it is open right through so you can go in at anytime. The food is fresh and cooked perfectly. It is a shame the restaurant is not used more, but that is probably due to the fact most people only stay a short time and they want to go out and sample the town. But we had about 10 meals in the City on our two stays and this was the best! The location of the hotel is really unbeatable, it is right in the heart of all the action, a good couple of bars very very close, in fact we used to pop back to the room quite often when in the local bars as the facilities were so much better. Hoan Kiem Lake is only 3 or 4 mins walk. Thanks very much to the manager and also Tam for all their help, and also to the rest of the staff who were quite amazing, and we will certainly ONLY stop here if we return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgotovietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

An absolutely wonderful hotel! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the service is amazing. When I asked at the desk for directions to a pharmacy for cold medicine they insisted on sending someone from the hotel to walk me there and translate, though I insisted it wasn't necessary. Then they sent some soup up to my room!
We had to move to another hotel when our plans changed and we stayed in Hanoi two extra nights. The found us a room nearby (lovely) and insisted on taking us there in a taxi and sending someone along to help with the luggage. With that service and the banana pancakes for breakfast, I could have stayed a long time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdtNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#18 of 586 in Hanoi
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing