We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers wanting a good Vietnamese meal for a good price”
Review of Restaurant 96

Restaurant 96
Ranked #170 of 3,143 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1996, 96 Restaurant has more than 20 years experience in Hanoi. Located at 34 Gia Ngu, the centre of Old Quater, just 5 minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, with the talented hands of chefs who experienced Vietnamese dishes, we will bring you the dish flavor nowhere else in Vietnam can have. Inspired by home-cooking recipes, the menu serves a diversity of traditional Vietnamese food in authentic taste. We not only aim to deliver delicious Vietnamese food in the old Hanoi architecture but also want to introduce to all traveller about Vietnamese cuisine culture. 96 Restaurant - The sense of Old Hanoi
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice staff and we had a lovely meal and experience on the balcony on the top floor (we read other reviews here that said it was nice.) Atmosphere is nice and so are the servers. End of May here is HOT, so the girl voluntarily brought out a fan for us to the balcony which greatly helped cool us down, how nice of her!

We are budget backpackers and try to keep most of our meals under $5 USD each in general. It can definitely be done here, as there is a range of prices... although we HAD hoped to try to spend more around $3 USD each, because that's typically what you should be able to get in Vietnam... this is more like $4 to $7 a person for food. Traditional Vietnamese meals, pork dishes, and beef dishes were around 92,000 to 110,000 VND, seafood dishes around 120,000+, vegetarian dishes around 70,000. Appetizers about 55,000 to 60,000 VND. Beers 35,000 to 40,000.

Food was good and was "just the right amount." Would recommend to others for sure!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 526 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had our last meal together in Hanoi in this great little restaurant and it sent us off feeling well pampered for a mid-range price ($40 feeds and waters 4 people, no problem). We can recommend the traditional Cha ca of seared fish in broth with herbs and vermicelli that arrives in a skillet on a bucket of hot coals that keeps the broth hot to the very end when the taste just gets better and better. The traditional building is laid out on 3 floors and has a light and airy feel - not what you find everywhere in Hanoi. Well, worth a visit.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food is inexpensive and tasty here, but beer is on the high side co;pared with some other restaurants with similiarly priced food. Service effecient and friendly. A safe bet for the neighbourhood. Didn't have Hanoi "local" beer (450 ml bottle, 4.2% Alcohol my favourite in Hanoi, the export is technically better, more alcohol - 4.9% IIRC, hoppier and maltier, but not as satisfying for a thirst.) Tiger beer on draught.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Finally had Bun Cha - which was yummy, with the staff showing me how to eat. We went to Restaurant 96 on our last night in Vietnam. We all enjoyed good meals - good range on the menu. We sat upstairs.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 324SandraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited this restaurant a year ago and promised the owner a review. I'm a tad late but honestly we still talk about how great the food was. We actually visited it twice on our stay in Hanoi. Both times we enjoyed the hotpot of fish and chicken. It was so fresh and flavourful!! I still salivate thinking about it.
The atmosphere was nice too. A short escape from the hustle and bustle of chaotic Vietnam.
Finally the staff were extremely friendly and provided great service. Unbeknownst to us we actually ended up chatting with the owner for a while. Only after he presented us with a gift did we realize who he was.
If you are looking for flavourful, reasonably priced food then definitely visit 96!!!

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PD2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing