We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Woolworths and take a photo”
Review of Ancient House

Ancient House
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Private Hanoi Sightseeing with Electric Car Tour in the Old Quarter
Ranked #32 of 280 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This house in the Old Quarter was restored in 1999, as an example of an ancient Hanoian home. It represents the architecture of the Old Quarter, and is decorated to reflect ancient houses of Hanoi.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go to Woolworths and take a photo”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is just a shop in an old building. If you feel compelled to go the take a photo outside and save the price they charge to enter a shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    138
    57
    10
    3
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“I don't like paying to shop!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is more beautiful from the outside than the inside. You have to pay to get in, and then the house is one big store. Also, the prices in the store are quite a bit higher than we saw elsewhere. If you are going to Hoi An, skip this Ancient Shop (er . . . I mean house), as you can visit real clan homes there instead.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More shop than museum”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Interesting enough to take a quick look around & it was cheap enough but really the house is predominantly a shop for traditional artwork, embroidery, games & other items, many of which are sourced from local villages. The prices & quality seemed decent so we did pick up a couple of items and we enjoyed 15-20 minutes out of the sun. It isn't the most exciting place but it's worth calling in if you are visiting/staying in the old town since the cost is so low.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pgwhatkatydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing - not what it used to be”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my second visit and something had happen. The old and genuine was kind of gone. Not gone, but hidden behind all the stuff they had put up for tourists to buy, and it wasn´t old stuff to match the house. No, it was just the crap you can buy in all the other shops for tourists.

They probably want to survive and earn more money like all the other businesses. But to what cost? The first time I was there it was a pretty genuine house with only interior and furniture's from way back and the staff talked about the house and everything else in the house. Now the staff talked about the authenticity of the merchandises - "oh no, this place mat is real silk and it´s made by hand, you can see this by looking at the stitches". Bah! - I didn´t go there to get a lesson about pillowcases, place mats, table cloths and silver necklaces made by their fellow men´s down the road. I want to see how it looked like 200-300 years ago.

A good advise to the manager:
Instead of getting an income from selling "new" things and ruin the authenticity of the place, they should rice the 10.000 VND (½ USD) entrance fee. I would gladly pay 5 times more (maybe even more) to see an authentic house. And I think I speak for others too.

But still, if you look beyond the merchandises, it´s a pretty cool place. I want one...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Backmansinhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good example of old french influenced architecture”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

this old restored building remined us very much of the old eurpoean style housing particulalrly that built by Gaudi in Barcelona where light is allowed to enter inside the building from the alcoves inside.
the building now is very much filled with tourist items but is still worth a quick visit to see how the old houses in this area were once like.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwe003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient House also viewed

 

Been to Ancient House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing