We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanoi Walking Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Group Tour

Vietnam Group Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc from Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vietnam Group Tour is a local based provider offering a wide range of tourist services in Vietnam. Our market is from budget travelers who have a chance to join daily typical tour with others, to travelers who want a customized tour, personalized service and a high quality product, to those who want to get something special and have the travel experience they desire. We care about every customer's demand and do our best on every tour to offer customers from all walk of life enjoyable trips with us. That's what we have been doing since our very first start in 1998.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hanoi Walking Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked a morning tour of the Old Quarter about 2 weeks before we left Australia. We thought we were booking a tour with Hanoi Kids as it was their website that directed me to Vietnam Group Day Tours. Our guide, Tung was a little late arriving, due to having spent the weekend with his family some 3-4 hours drive north of Hanoi. He had left their place at 4.00am so that he could make his appointment with us, but he was caught in peak hour traffic. He was not involved with Hanoi Kids but he still provided a free walking tour of his city. He was a very pleasant young man and made a huge effort to show us around the Old Quarter. He was knowledgeable and friendly and we spent a very pleasant morning with him. He not only answered questions about the local area but gave us a broad perspective on life in Vietnam in general. He was interested in our lifestyle and communicated well with our 20yr old daughter who is also studying at University. He walked us around the Old Quarter, showing us landmarks and suggesting shops that we may wish to revisit. He also suggested several restaurants in Hanoi where we could try authentic Vietnamese cuisine. All in all, a good experience and would recommend to anyone wanting an orientation of Hanoi.

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank kayw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    57
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

i contacted the organization a few weeks before our trip and luckily they still had an available guide for us last march 30, saturday. we originally wanted to have it on our first day, thursday, but unfortunately, they only have guides during the weekend. the guide assigned to us (her name's nancy) was very nice and accommodating. she took us around the french and old quarters and showed us areas of interests that we were not aware of (most likely due to lack of research, hehe). she was very knowledgeable and answered all our inquiries about vietnam and its history. if i get to visit hanoi again, i'll definitely contact the organization again. highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank marlonpasilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour with volunteer club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Enjoy the tour as the volunteers are really friendly and try their best to answer your queries on various topics like history of tour sits etc, they will google for answers when in doubt. It is very handy with someone who can speak local language.

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank JefferyNk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hanoi tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a wonderful day we had with our 2 young students. They were so enthusiastic and spoke excellent English. We visited the prison, Temple of Literature and Museum of Ethnology. They were extremely knowledgeable about these places and also gave us an lot more information about Vietnamese life and customs. We also experienced lunch in an authentic Vietnamese street cafe and travelled on local buses as well as having lessons on crossing the roads!.
I would recommend this to any visitors. It was a great day for us and we gained so much from it.

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spend a day with real Hanoians!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Vietnam Group Day Tours (aka Hanoi Kids) is a fabulous idea. You are guided around Hanoi by two university students, and my guides - Hien and Tuyet - were absolutely delightful.
The schedule for the day is pretty much up to you. There are suggested itineraries, but If you want to see something different, just ask. Walk around the Old Quarter, see some usual tourist sights or catch a taxi to something further out if you like... it's very flexible and the guides are most helpful. I asked if I could find a special Ao Dai dress for my daughter, and the girls went right out of their way to help me find it. Even enlisting their family to help me shop!
What you get is a day with real people, not jaded tour guides. What the guides get is a chance to practice their English with a native English-speaker. This is very important to understand - you get the tour for free, because they value greatly the opportunity to practice speaking English with you, so talk a lot with them!
I think Hanoi Kids is a great idea - what's better than discovering the real Hanoi with two charming young locals. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Group Tour also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Group Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing