We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat ride was fantastic”
Review of Go Asia Travel

Go Asia Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Halong Bay Day Cruise from Hanoi
More Info
$49.00*
and up
HALONG BAY TOUR ONE DAY KS01V
More Info
$45.00*
and up
TRANG AN BAI DINH 1 DAY GROUP TOUR GAT01
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Go Asia Travel is one of the best Tour Operators in Vietnam offering group joining tours departing daily to Halong Bay, Ninh Binh and Sapa by bus. With the slogan “We care about your trip” we are providing the highest quality of services and best values to customers.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This trip there was long, not so interesting, but worth it because of the scenic boat trip. We were inspired to go there by Luke Nguyen, the Australian chef who has made cooking shows in various parts of Vietnam. Look up his video clips for some insights into the natural charms of this area. Sunny was a very personable and knowlegeable guide and we enjoyed learning from him. Interesting to hear about the 'rocket houses' which we had been wondering about. The 90 minute boat trip, rowed by our very capable boat lady was so relaxing and lovely. We had recently been to Halong Bay and the name "Halong Bay of the Rice Fields" rang true as we looked at the mountainous limestone outcrops. The minimum tip for the rowers seemed to be 50,000 Dong and it is expected by them and well earned. There were pedlars on the water and on land and if you don't want what's offered, just a firm "No thank you," admittedly said a few times, works. The buffet lunch provided was extensive, offering a mix of Western and Vietnamese food. We were interested to sample goat, which is a specialty of the area and it was good.

Thank Christel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenhotel, Manager at Go Asia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Christel B,
I'm very happy to hear that you had a memorable trip in scenic Hoa Lu Tam Coc. As you may see, this is a gorgeous destination with mountainous limestone, endless paddy field and peaceful environment. I'm also glad that you appreciate our tour guide, Mr. Sunny, the buffet lunch and the rowing trip. Indeed, Mr. Sunny is a knowledgeable and caring tour guide, he also has sense of humor that many guests loves seeing him. Our chefs are trained well, they has tweaked the Vietnamese cuisine to suit the international palate. Thank you so much for sharing your nice review on TripAdvisor, also a big thank to your friend, Mr. Luke Nguyen for suggesting about the trip. We, Go Asia Travel, will always do our best to keep our services high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,024 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me, my aunt and cousin went to Hanoi on 29th August and booked the day trip through our hotel at Hanoi Posh. On 31st August, Kim (as what he asked us to call him) is our tour guide during this trip. Kim came to the hotel to pick us up and headed to a chartered decent tour bus. He is a very friendly guide that he do his level best to entertain us by sharing history of the place of Hoa Lu. While in Tam Coc we enjoyed the boat ride very much!
Really thankful to Kim for the enjoyable trip. Keep up the good work! -Anna-

Thank Anna_Maria617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenhotel, Manager at Go Asia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Anna_Maria617,
It's great that you had a good and memorable experience. We’re also glad to see your nice praise about our tour guide, Mr. Kim. It means so much to him. He did a good job with his best ability and knowledge to cheer you up. Besides, I would love to share with you that there are still many gorgeous places in Vietnam that promise to bring you great experience as you did in Hoa Lu Tam Coc. Let tour with us, Go Asia Travel, and you will never be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful day in Halong Bay. The trip was well organised and Sonny our guide was very friendly and informative. It was my friends first visit and my second and we all enjoyed ourselves. Lunch was fantastic, great food. The price is for a full day tour is well worth it not expensive at all. I'd highly recommend Alova Cruises for anyone wanting to see the wonders of Halong Bay.

Thank Rosie194830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenhotel, Manager at Go Asia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Rosie194830,
It's nice that you share your wonderful experience with our Alova Cruise on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad that it was your second visit to Ha Long Bay and you really enjoyed it. Undeniably, this stunning wonder is amazing all the time, and you will never get bored with it. Besides, fantastic food, friendly and informative tour guide, Mr. Sunny, and so on are to cheer you up, we are really happy that you satisfied with the whole thing. If you and your friends tend to come back Vietnam in the near future, we will be pleased to show you more gorgeous attractions that you should not miss. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We returned home to INDIA last week after our fantastic tour of Hanoi

I wish to convey our appreciation to Go Asia Travel for all the arrangements made. The hotels were very good especially our stay in Golden Silk Hotel
Our trip to Halong Bay arranged by Go Asia Travel was very comfortable despite the bad road to Hanoi - the Van was in good condition and the driver was careful, we felt very comfortable and confident about his driving. Please convey our thanks to him

Our guide Mr. Sunny and Travel Assistant Ms. Lee made out the trip more enjoyable.
We found Vietnam to be a fascinating country with a very rich history and the friendliest people we have come across in all our travels. We would love to visit your country again and bring our friend too!!!!

Thanks again for a lovely experience.

Thank blind_owl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenhotel, Manager at Go Asia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear blind_owl1959,
Your satisfaction is our happiness. It was our pleasure to see that you did enjoy your time in Vietnam and felt comfortable with all the arrangement from us. I'm also glad to share with you that Mr. Sunny is one of our excellent tour guide with sense of humor, it's good that he made your trip more enjoyable. As we commit, we really care about your trip, and we always put safety on the top, thank you for appreciate that, I will convey your thank to the driver. Honestly, I completely agree with you that Vietnam is a fascinating country with rich history and friendly people. If you or your friend tend to come back our beautiful country in the future, we will be happy to show you more amazing destinations that will astound you. Let come and experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

the cheap price for the full day tour is a plus. The tourguide Mr. Man was very nice and helpful. When seeing the ship I first had some concerns but all ships there look like that and the biggest surprise was the tasty food on board. I did not expect such a good food quality on a ship. Super big plus. Halong Bay itself is similar to Pha Nga in Thailand. Kajaking was not available that day. I read in some comments about swimming but I would not be brave enough to swim in that water anyway. Overall a informative tour for everyone who wants to see Halong Bay in a compact and cheap way.Also to mention and important. When doing the restroom stop on the long way to Halong Bay they have chosen a typical souvenier shop place but and that is also a big plus they provided the cleanest restrooms I have seen in Vietnam so far and the souveniershop offered a nice and indeed interesting selection without beeing forced to buy something.

Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinnguyenhotel, Manager at Go Asia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear nokie,
I'm so glad that you had a great experience on our Alova Cruise in Ha Long Bay - a goreous attraction of Vietnam. Thank you for your nice review. All the things you said: nice and helpful tour guide, tasty food,… make us, Go Asia Travel, happy so much. Indeed, you're deserved that. While being in breathtaking Ha Long Bay, having fine lunch and interesting activities will light up your day. Your tour guide, Mr. Manh and the whole team always do their best to make the day more perfect. Besides, it's great to know that you like the facility stop. While choosing a place, we want all guests to be free to take a rest without forcing any thing, then they can continue the trip in a good mood. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Asia Travel also viewed

 

Been to Go Asia Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing