We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Ranked #43 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Great staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked this hotel after positive reviews on this website. Got a free airport pickup with 3 night + stay. Staff were super friendly - evening presenting me with drinks and fruit before I was taken to my room. The room was small but very clean (I had opted for the smallest room to stay within budget). The location was also quite nice as I thought it was on a quieter street, if that is possible in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. The breakfast had western options although I went for a pho bowl every chance I got. The room also had a desktop computer with impressive internet speeds and whatever cable package they had always had a soccer game on. I would definitely go back and would only consider upgrading to a larger room if I were to take my family.

Room Tip: I was splitting this with a friend and we were trying to go cheap ($30 split between 2 is pretty che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScholesScoresGoals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    265
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
219
826
228
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service at this hotel was simply outstanding. Van (Candy) and her colleagues made sure we were comfortable throughout our stay. Right from the moment we reached the hotel, we were greeted like long-lost friends. Nothing was too much trouble to arrange, right from umbrellas if it was raining outside to maps of the Old Quarter showing areas of interest. The staff went out all out to make us feel at home. Van even arranged to have breakfast packed for us because we checked out early in the morning and she didn't want us to miss breakfast. I cannot praise their service enough.

The room itself was basic and clean and came with an en suite bathroom with shower amenities. There is free wifi and there is also a PC with internet connection. Breakfast was ample and included in the room rate.

The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the Old Quarter. Local shops, eateries, and tourist sites are within walking distance from here.

It may not be fancy, but it's a great place to stay if you're looking for a simple place with excellent service.

Room Tip: If you need a smoking room, ask for a room with a window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spravin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed with Holiday Diamond Hotel for 5 nights in their Junior room.

Location: The hotel is located in the old quarter of Hanoi. The Hoan Kiem lake and the French quarter are about a 15 minute walk, while the shopping areas are equally near. Although, the streets can get busy and noisy during the day, nights are peaceful. A nice area to park yourself for a few days for sure.

Room: The room was spacious and well appointed. The room provides an electronic safe to keep your passport and valuables, which is very useful. The maintenance staff do their job well and the room and well as the bathroom and toilet were returned to a sparkling cleanliness everyday.
But, do not expect the room quality to be on par with 5 star levels for the cost that you pay.
As a plus, I was provided a plate of fresh fruit every single day, along with the usual tea, coffee packets.

Service: This is the best aspect of the hotel. The guys here are super friendly and will help you with almost any request. Nancy, Candy, Kathy, Mr. Dee all are very knowledgable and always cheerful. I would have rated the hotel excellent only for the staff. A tip: You can book trips to Ha Long bay or Sapa right at the hotel reception and the cost will be included in the final hotel bill. Worked nicely for me.

In summary, Holiday Diamond is a true gem in Hanoi's Old Quarter. For the price you pay, it is a steal! Do not miss it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrishikesh_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here two nights and were really impressed with the service. It's in a great spot in the Old Quarter and the staff helped us navigate to their favorite hole-in-the wall eateries and fun places around the city. When weather spoiled our plans to go to central Vietnam, they helped us rebook our train tickets and deal with the local tour company. They also held our bags for 2 nights while we went to Sapa. Can't say enough about them.

The room itself was basic. Clean, comfortable, everything working (phone, wifi, AC). It wasn't extravagant, but we were totally satisfied based on our expectations.

If you are also traveling to Hue in central Vietnam, we stayed at their sister hotel, the Serene Palace Hotel, and highly recommend this too. Same exceptional service and affordable rates. I'm really happy to review a place like this, they are doing things the right way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just came back from spending a week in Hanoi and spent three nights at this hotel on and off during that week. The staff were great and very accommodating throughout our stay. They arranged transportation to and from the airport, gave us empty rooms to shower in when we had late trains and/or flights to catch and woke up extra early to let us in when we arrived back to Hanoi on the overnight train from Sapa. Breakfast too was ample and included in the price of the room. We could order as much as we wanted! The room was very clean, each room has a working computer with free internet, hot showers etc. The staff really went out of their way to make the place look fresh and clean and to make us feel welcome! The location was also amazing, in the heart of the old French quarter, walking distance to many tourist sites and local eateries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPhxtoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Even though its a small hotel but its a nice place to stay in old quarters ,
I have nothing negative to say about the hotel .Staff was very friendly , rooms were clean and tidy breakfast was good and hotel is located right in the middle of old quarters area which is the main shopping and dining area for tourists and backpackers .
Rooms are reasonably priced and staff is ready to solve all your problems ... right from visa approval letter to cruise booking ...
everytime we went out staff helped us to get the taxi and will explain the driver were we want to go .
Though there are no frills like swimming pool ,gym, sauna or massage etc its still a very good place to stay in hanoi and I would recommend it for all .

Room Tip: Request room at higher floor with window .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights at the start of my Vietnam holiday and could not be happier! I arrived a day before my mum and all the staff were so friendly and made me feel very welcome. They made some good recommendations for restaurants and sights and we even booked our HaLong Bay cruise through them (Galaxy Cruises which was also brilliant!). The rooms are clean and spacious, with a good breakfast selection. While being right in the middle of the Old Quarter, it was very quiet once inside the hotel.
Next time I'm back in Hanoi, I wouldn't consider any other place to stay! Again, everyone who works there needs to be commended on their jobs - we were always greeted with smiles and a friendly chat! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#61 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel

Property: Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Address: 5 Nguyen Sieu Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a 3 star hotel. A renovation has been done in 2014 by redecorating all the funitures in all of our rooms . The old design was replaced by a very modern and charming style one .You will live in a fresh and comfortable space with new beds ,wardrobes ,floor... Arrangement.Offering fantastic value of money, our hotel is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing