We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD BASIC HOTEL”
Review of Hanoi Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Style Hotel
Ranked #452 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Pennsylvannia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A GOOD BASIC HOTEL”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are looking for a good basic hotel,with a fair price.Then this is the place.Located in the Old Quarter .It was a good starting point for my tourist activities.The free breakfast was all you can eat with a good selection of food.They had eggs to order.
My room had it's own computer so I didn't have to sit in the lobby and send emails.The rooms were a little small but big enough for a single traveler or a couple.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars with in 5 minutes walking distance.Including a restaurant/bar about 5 feet from the front door( The Green Gecko).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel away from the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
37
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked a delux double room with city view and was shown to a tiny room with a view of the elevator shaft. Made this aware to the staff who moved us 4hrs later into a room infested with cockroaches, holes in the sheets, dirty bath and a jacuzzi that didn't work. Informed the staff who said they couldn't do anything. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Hanoi Style is located in the Old Quarter, but you'd never know it once in your room because it's so quiet. The room was big and clean. Sheets are high grade cotton and there's a down comforter. Perfecto! Breakfast is included and it's pretty good; it includes an "egg station". There's a shop next door that does laundry within 24 hours.

Treat yourself to a room at the Hanoi Style Hotel. Such a nice respite from the busy, fun streets by day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There’s one thing I did like about the hotel, and that was the English the staff spoke. Not everyone around in the city can really communicate with such ease. The hotel was OK, considering what they charged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice back in 2006 when it was the Anh Dao Hotel. The name and prices have gone up some, but the overall quality and value haven't changed. I paid US$25 for a decent-sized 5th floor room with a comfortable bed. The room had lots of elaborately carved dark wood furniture -- bed headboard, armoire, two chairs, table and desk -- which gave it some character. The headboard, armoire and chairs had mother-of-pearl floral inlays. My window gave a pleasant view out over the city. The bathroom was spotless. The shower was combined with a tub and even had a shower curtain. A hair dryer was provided as were a variety of toiletries. The breakfast buffet -- including eggs cooked to order -- was pretty good, if not brilliant. My room had a computer, but I had my own and their in-room wifi was very speedy. There was a small fridge. The Hanoi Style does get a four star rating on TA, but it's also rated below 288 other hotels. I find it hard to believe that there are that many better hotel and better values than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoistylehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Style Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for your nice words and praises. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff and motivate us to keep up the good work.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Mr.Tam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is located in the old quarter and is walkable distance to attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Hang Gai, and the Hanoi Hilton. The English speaking staff were very helpful, they provided us a map of the old quarter and gave us directions on how to get to the attractions. They also made restaurant recommendations that were quite helpful and did not disappoint!
The room was clean and was decorated with traditional Vietnamese furnishings, which was quite charming. I was very surprised that we had no issues with noise at night since the old quarter is quite busy! The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby the three nights I stayed at this hotel. The breakfast was decent, make sure you go early and have a bowl of their tasty pho!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snake45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a nice place in the old quater, but as many other hotels in this area, it looks crammed up. But, it is still fine if you choose to stay in the old quarter. The staff is always smiling, interactive and very helpful. We stayed in superior room, which was small to fit a bed and cupboard. It had a PC with internet apart from wifi available in rooms. The pressure of water in the bathroom was bad, maybe because we stayed on the top floor (6th) and it had a large window in the bathroom, which was something not so good for me. So, while taking bath you get a good view of the neighbourhood, while maybe others can see you. Overall it was a good deal for the price we paid and location. Will come back to this place surely.

Room Tip: Superior room on lower floors. Lift is very small and also the water pressure is poor in top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiteshShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Spring Hotel
Golden Spring Hotel
#169 of 591 in Hanoi
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#132 of 591 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#139 of 591 in Hanoi
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
#167 of 591 in Hanoi
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Style Hotel

Property: Hanoi Style Hotel
Address: 35 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Quarter" – Hanoi Vietnam, Hanoi Style Hotel offers affordable, luxurious accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighbourhood. Shop in the nearby Dong Xuan market. Visit the many small shops, restaurants and coffee bars. It is just outside your Hanoi Style Hotel door. Hanoi Style's professional staff are well educated, speak English and Western languages and are committed to making your stay a pleasant, care-free experience.Visit our site and check out all latest hotel room promotions & special offers to enjoy your holiday in Hanoi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing