We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every respect; an unforgettable experience”
Review of Indochina Pioneer

Indochina Pioneer
Ranked #16 of 824 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Indochina Pioneer Co., Ltd is a fully licensed Vietnamese International Tour Operator who offers personally customized package tours all over Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. Whether you are part of a group tour or on a tailor made itinerary, our staff both in the offices and out in the field will ensure that your every need is catered for. At Indochina Pioneer we believe passionately in the ethos of customer service and care.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dubai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect; an unforgettable experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've worked in and around the tourism and hospitality industry for 20 years as both an hotelier and journalist, and have had some amazing - and abysmal - experiences in terms of tour companies, but Indochina Pioneer raised the industry bar to an entirely new level. From my initial email enquiry back in January, through to farewells at Hanoi airport in May, the service, attention to detail and personalisation was exceptional. Quyen created a bespoke itinerary that took us on a whistle-stop 10-day journey to Ho Chi Minh City, the Mekong Delta, Siem Reap and Angkor Wat, Hanoi and Halong Bay, which pressed all the right buttons in terms of my holy grail of travel experiences - local culture, people interaction and exquisitely authentic food. I could wax lyrical about the trip for far longer than the allowed word count, but the highlight - apart from the scenery, history, people, cuisine - and meeting Quyen for lunch on our last day in Hanoi - was his passion for what he does and desire to showcase Indochina in the best possible light. Other tour operators would do well to take a leaf out of Indochina Pioneer's book. Outstanding in every respect - thank you Quyen; Laos and Myanmar next for sure!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CuriousTravellerDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear CuriousTravellerDXB
We, at Indochina Pioneer, would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is especially rewarding to receive such high praise from someone who has been involved in the travel industry for so long.

We strive hard to ensure every Client receives top quality service for their Private Holiday, be it Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos or Myanmar. We pride ourselves for surpassing your expectations.
We will definitely give the same undivided attention to your next trip, as we did with the first.

Thanks & best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceedingly Professional and excellent value for money”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

In May my wife,myself and another couple took a trip to Vietnam that was organized by Ms. Kata Trans of Indochina Pioneer travel of Hanoi. Our trip took us from the Mekong Delta to Hanoi with stops and side tours in NhaTrang, Dalat, Danang, Hoian, Hue, and Halong Bay. The trip lasted 17 days, with accommodation, tour guides, private car transport, train, and airplane travel involved.
Pioneer Travel did an exceptional job coordinating the entire trip. To ensure everything was satisfactory, Pioneer Travel provided us with a Mobile phone, and kept in constant contact with us.
The Tour Guides were English Speaking, very knowledgable of their areas. Nothing was to much trouble for the Guides. My wife had an unfortunate accident in the hotel, the 1st day we were in country, which necessitated a hospital visit in Ho Chi Minh City, and subsequent follow up visits to a hospital in Danang, and Hanoi. Kata at Pioneer Travel, organized those visits, provided transportation and an interpreter at no additional cost to us. We can not speak highly enough of this Companies attentions to detail, professionalism, and obsession with ensuring our satisfaction. The itinerary they organised for us, gave us the maximum exposure for the time we had, and feel it was excellent "value for money". The four of us would have no hesitation in recommending Indochina Pioneer to anyone J Montague Surfers Paradise Queensland Australia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveler255072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear worldtraveler255072

We, at Indochina Pioneer, would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review. We strive hard to ensure that every PRIVATE TOUR/vacation lives up to our Client’s expectations, and were very pleased to learn this was the case with your group.

We take pride in our private Tour Guides, both for their expertise in English, and of course the intimate knowledge of their homeland. Your compliments will certainly be passed on to them.

We were sorry to hear about your wife’s accident, but very happy we could assist her with planning medical care and a translator.

Kata thanks you for your kind words. She said it was a pleasure working with you, and maybe one day she can help you plan a trip to Cambodia, Laos or Myanmar!

Our best wishes to you all, and thanks for choosing Indochina Pioneer for your groups’ Private Tour of Vietnam.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A wonderful, honest and knowledgable company”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just want to say thank you to Quyen and all his crew at this great firm. Trustworthy, accountable, and hard working folks made our recent adventure to Vietnam and Cambodia wonderful. Count on them to fulfill your expectations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear William C,

Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave us such nice feedback. It never gets old hearing from Clients that we achieved what we set out to do! We are very happy that we fulfilled your expectations!

Best regards to you and your family, and thanks you for using Indochina Pioneer for your group's adventure!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indochina Pioneer worked with Trails of Mountains for an excellent Sapa Adventure!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by Mr. Duong Dai Lam ("LAM")'s attentiveness to our needs via email for months before the trip. He was very professional, flexible, and accommodated all of our needs for our 4 day, 3 night (homestays) trekking tour of Sapa Valley.

We were picked up at our hotel in Hanoi by one of the Indochina pioneer people. He escorted us to the train station and then made sure we got on the train in the exact cabin. (We splurged to buy out the whole 4-berth cabin for 2 of us...it was WORTH IT! No one to bother you and you can lock the door while you are sleeping, only $144 per person total).

Mr. Lam had booked us with a local Sapa tour company called "Trails of Mountains." Our guide picked us up with a driver at 5am in the morning to drive 1 hour through the mountains to a hotel where we could take a shower and rest before our first day of trekking. It was surprising easy.

Mr. Nga was one of the most knowledgeable, fun, athletic, and kindest tour guides I have ever met. He absolutely made our trip. We had a private tour with Mr. Nga, which meant we did a lot of hiking (some strenuous parts, but worth it)....we went off the beaten path and really experienced Sapa. He seemed to know all of Sapa Valley like the back of his hand. It was amazing!

Mr. Nga was a great translator during the homestays as well. The homestays were fascinating! I would caution that they are provincial in that there is no air conditioning, little running water, and/or plumbing in some places. However, that is what we expected and didnt mind at all.

Hands down, the food in the Homestays were probably some of the best meals I have EVER eaten. Everything in the meal was fresh from the garden or farm (I mean everything, meat, fruits/vegetables, grains, herbs). DELICIOUS!

All in all, the tour was amazing. I would highly recommend to everyone. Mr. Lam and Mr. Nga were absolutely fantastic. Ask for them :)

The only thing I would caution about the booking with Indochina Pioneer: it is better to pay everything before you start the tour, we paid 50% before we arrived in Vietnam and had to pay the rest while waiting at the Hanoi station for the train to Sapa (it was sort of a hassle).

Overall, a fantastic experience, we would definitely book with them again! Thanks Lam and Nga!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Wendy914,
We, at INDOCHINA PIONEER, are extremely happy you took the time to leave a review regarding the private tour of SAPA which we arranged on your behalf. As a professional tour operator based in HANOI we are able to arrange private tours for any size group throughout Vietnam, and nothing gives us greater pleasure than to hear it was thoroughly enjoyed, and everything went as planned!

We get many compliments regarding our food in Vietnam, and your feedback illustrated one of the benefits of a “home stay” in Sapa. Delicious fresh home grown foods!

All of the Guides used by Indochina Pioneer are born and raised in Vietnam so are very knowledgeable regarding their homeland. Mr. Nga will be delighted with your compliments, which we will certainly pass on to him!

Lam also thanks you for the review, and said if you ever decide to visit other parts of Vietnam, or even Cambodia, Laos or Myanmar, he will be more than happy to work with you!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - couldn't have been better”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I first heard about Indochina Pioneer at tripadvisor and I decided to write an enquiry email right away. Best choice ever! :) Got my first answer from Kata (our contact person for the whole time) within 24 hours and the first offer was very good. But until we could finally book the trip we had to do a lot of chances - no problem for Kata at all, she put in whatever I asked her to in our program. About the hotels we totally trusted her knowledge. We just wanted to have 3 to 4 star hotels. And I have to say every hotel that we stayed at was perfect for our needs, breakfast was always included. As were the entrance fees and meals if mentioned in our program.

About our tour: we did a 3 1/2 weeks Vietnam and Cambodia tour - all organised by Kata. In total we had 3 (international) flights, two trainrides (Hanoi - Sa Pa retourn) , a night at a boat in Halong Bay and the rest in "normal" hotels.
Everything worked out perfectly - we got a mobile phone at the beginning of our trip to call Kata at anytime if problems would occur. We had to do that once and within minutes our problem was solved, eventhough it was already 10 pm!

Every tour guide we had made a perfect job and tried to fullfill every of our wishes. It was no problem to stop by somewhere, leave early or late, whatever we wanted too do. Íf we wanted to buy typical stuff we got help negotiating the prices.
In Sa Pa our tour guide cooked a meal in a homestay house for us - a thing we wouldn't have asked for as we wouldn't have know that this would be possible! And we loved it!

All in all, I would not consider a second about booking my trip with Indochina Pinoeer again, I would just do it. We talked to people who did everything on their own, it was neither cheaper nor more relaxing or anything. It was just nice to have somebody taking care of us wherever we were.

We met Kata once in Hanoi - she extra came to our breakfast restaurant in the mornging - and it was really nice to finally see the person, I've been writing to emails for about 5 months.

It's hardly to say what we liked most: but Sa Pa should be a must on every Vietnam trip and I would definitly go to Cambodia too, if I'm there, as it's not a very long journey and absolutely worth it. Halong Bay was also beautiful too, of course. Vietnam in general is a very beautiful country with lots of different things to do and see, I wouldn't want to miss anything that we did on our trip! It was just perfect as it was!

Thank you again, Kata and everybody else that made our trip unforgetable!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Denise P,
It was a joy to read your wonderful feedback regarding our company, Indochina Pioneer.

Being experts at organizing preivately customized tours it was our privilege to continue working with you until you got exactly what you wanted! Nothing makes us happier than hearing we achieved that. I am sure many people on tripadvisor will benefit from reading about your experience in Vietnam and Cambodia with Indochina Pioneer. We will certainly pass on your lovely compliments to the Guides and drivers.

Kata send you her warmest regards, and said it was a pleasure working with you!

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochina Pioneer also viewed

 

Been to Indochina Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing