We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour for 11 days”
Review of Indochina Pioneer

Indochina Pioneer
Ranked #16 of 837 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Indochina Pioneer Co., Ltd is a fully licensed Vietnamese International Tour Operator who offers personally customized package tours all over Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. Whether you are part of a group tour or on a tailor made itinerary, our staff both in the offices and out in the field will ensure that your every need is catered for. At Indochina Pioneer we believe passionately in the ethos of customer service and care.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Champaign, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Tour for 11 days”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had an absolutely great tour with Pioneer. Quyen was our tour guide for Vietnam and Cambodia and was a delight. We covered a lot of territory, Hanoi, Saigon, Halong Bay for 3 days and Siem Reap. Great hotels, tours and just the right pace for this short time in these countries with sites to be seen but also time to relax and explore on our own. Would book with them again. Trust the reveiws, this company is the one to take.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kpaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear kpaulsen,

We at Indochina Pioneer would like to thank you for your kind review of our Company.

We are always gratified when clients take the time to let others know how satisfied they were with our tour service.

When arranging a "private tour" for one person, or a large Group such as yours, we strive to ensure that everything goes as planned and everyone is happy.

Quyen said he had a great time with you all, and asked me to convey his "thanks" for your kind comments.

Best wishes to the entire group,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SUPERB TOUR”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Where do we start!! Never being ones for doing "trips/tours", as we always like doing our own thing, that is not being taken to places guides think we want to see or souvenier outlets, or hanging around waiting for the rest of the bus!! We took a leap of faith booking our tour to Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos with Indochina, but from the start of the planning last August to throughly enjoying our tour Jan/Feb this year the service we received was exeptional. Kata had to be very patient with us while we fine tuned our trip numerous times so we could vist all the places we wanted to see in the time scale we had. But she got it perfect in the end thanks Kata.

We had a private tour just my self and my husband. All the hotels were lovely, the guides were all so well mannered, polite and had a good knowledge of the English language, and a great knowledge of their individual countries and attractions. The transport was perfect, clean safe vehicles, the drivers were polite and very punctual, we were treated like Royalty nothing was too much trouble.

It really was a trip of a lifetime, seen and experienced so much, and I would not hesitate to recomend Indochina Pioneer to anyone.

They are such a great team too, we were very fortunate to meet a lot of them in person as we happened to be in Hanoi ,Vientnam for Chinese New Year this year, and we were invited to Indochina's staff party at a local restaurant, we had such a good evening great food, wine and company, it was a shame we had to leave quite early for our overnight train to Sapa,(now that was and experience!!!)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PendleWitchFence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear PendleWitchFence,

Nothing makes us happier than receiving reviews from satisfied clients. Even better that we actually got to meet you both in person.

We were so glad you were able to join us for our Office Party, and that you both had a good time! We work hard to ensure that every clients’ Private Tour goes smoothly and they get what was promised in their tailor made itineraries, as you and your husband did.

Kata was delighted to know that her efforts were appreciated and sends you her warmest regards. We will certainly pass your lovely comments on to the drivers and guides.

Take care, maybe see you again one day?

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed with Indochina Pioneer”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have recently concluded a 23 day tour of Cambodia and Vietnam, arranged by the wonderful Kata @ Indochina Pioneer, in Hanoi.
First I should say that i started the whole process a year ago, when we had finalized our flights and nothing else. I emailed a few companies, some in Vietnam and some in N. America. Right from the start i was impressed with Kata, who responded promptly, and got back to me when she said she would get back to me. Between the two of us, this trip was revised so many times by tweaking the category of hotels, or the route! Nothing was too much trouble. I never felt I was a pain in the butt!

Our tour actually started for us in Bangkok as that is where our stopover en route to Australia went. Kata arranged our pick up from the airport, a hotel, return to the airport the next day and flight to Cambodia for the 'real' start of our tour.
We did 5 nights in Cambodia and 18 in Vietnam. Once the details had been ironed out prior to departure, we were totally at the mercy of Kata's scheduling, and she did not disappoint. We literally were guided along at every step of the way.
The tour operators were very nice people, who were so eager to share their knowledge of their respective countries.
On arrival in Vietnam we were handed a cell phone, with Kata's number in it, and also on our first day Lam phoned (the boss) asking if everything was OK. Nice touch! As we were travelling without a cell phone (Just an ipad for emails) it was reassuring to know in an emergency we had a phone at our disposal.
Our tour ended in Hanoi, and Kata and her husband came to visit us at the hotel. It was so nice to meet the person i had sent (what felt like) hundreds of emails. She was just as charming in person too!
So, in short, I would recommend this company anytime, and I would also book with them in the future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkielassincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Yorkielassincanada,

23 days in Cambodia and Vietnam without a hitch! We love to read that Indochina Pioneer did it again! Arranging PRIVATE TOURS for clients, be it 2 or 22, is our forte. When we read glowing feedback such as yours it tells us that we are still doing it right!

Kata was especially happy to read your comments. She thanks you for the compliments and was so happy she got to meet you in person. She sends her warmest regards.

Don’t forget we also do Laos and Myanmar! Should you ever choose to return Kata says she will give you the same great service!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing trip, fantastic organisation”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Believe the rave reviews for Indochina Pioneer! We booked a 3 week tour of Vietnam/Cambodia/Laos with Indochina Pioneer and I can recommend them unreservedly. Very competitive prices for the attention and detail put into your trip - we just travelled as a couple so had individual attention. Superb. Great hotels and experiences and the guides/drivers were superb, it was like clockwork so time was really maximised. Great flexibility regards visits - Lam at Head Office in Hanoi was so friendly and helpful when we were booking the trip, he even came out to meet us at our hotel when we arrived. Hotel d' Opera in Hanoi was brilliant - well worth eating there too, superb food.

The guides were really knowledgeable, spoke good English and knew exactly what times to visit places so that they were at their least busy. Exploring the temples round Angkor Wat was a real highlight and we were able to see most places with very few other tourists. Fascinating insight into the culture and diverse ethnic groups and you got the opportunity to see ordinary people in their homes/stilt houses etc which was so interesting. Such a pity that the US deliberately destroyed so much of Vietnam's cultural heritage alongside 2 million civilians! The Imperial Palace at Hue was awesome even though 90% was destroyed by American bombs. You really wonder at their mentality but the Vietnamese seem amazingly forgiving and only look to the future.

Hanoi is a crazy city but we loved it once we had got over the initial culture shock. So many scooters/bikes/motor bikes and crossing the road by just stepping out and walking slowly across through the chaos takes some getting used to but we didn't see any accidents - the riders and drivers aren't at all aggressive and all give way easily. Halong Bay is well worth seeing unlike any place I've ever seen.

We loved Hoi An in Central Vietnam - great place for having clothes made but also many excellent places to eat. We were there for Tet, the New Year and it was so colourful. The Mekon Delta was very interesting and we took a boat up to Phnom Penh - we only had one night there but very interesting city and totally different to anywhere in Vietnam. Siem Reap and the temples is an absolute must see - truly awesome. The Cambodians were such nice peole even though they have had such an awful recent history - the US killed 600,000 during the Vietnamese war and opened the way for Pol Pot who wiped out another 2 million! I just hadn't realised how much damage had been done across the whole region. Siem Reap isn't particularly attractive as a town but there are loads of places to eat and some great bargains to be had in the shops and markets but be prepared to haggle.

We finished our trip at Luang Prabang in Laos, a very attractive French colonial town with some great restaurants and beautiful surroundings. Having guides and skilled drivers (and the drivers really were good, I wouldn't dream of driving in the region!) made such a difference. It was like being royalty and having everything arranged for you and all you have to do is turn up. Everyone was so friendly and you always felt safe wherever you went. If you're considering a trip to Indochina then I would look no further, these guys are local experts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Phil S,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review which will allow prospective holiday-makers to see that booking with a local company IN VIETNAM can make a difference to the quality of service and attention to detail you receive. We pride ourselves in knowing the regions personally and love to customise PRIVATE TOURS for 2 people like yourselves, or families and large club groups.

War is, unfortunately, a two way street, and now many years later we have all moved on and are concentrating on our bright futures. We can see from your review that there is so much more to see and do here, and we were delighted you enjoyed it all! Like you, most people find the traffic in Hanoi daunting, but everyone enjoys mastering it!

Should you ever choose to return Lam says he will pay the same attention to your trip as he did this time, and thanks you for your kind compliments!

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd vacation with INDOCHINA PIONEER in HANOI, Vietnam”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I chose INDOCHINA PIONEER again for my second vacation in Hanoi. My experience with them the first time was so positive that I did not need to look any further when deciding to return to Vietnam a year later. As with my first trip arranged by them, the second went just as smoothly, with the same attention to detail and planning, which is beyond compare. My guides spoke excellent english, and the drivers were 1st class. Mr. Lam at INDOCHINA PIONEER makes you feel like his only client when planning your trip and nothing is too much trouble for him. I doubt you will find this kind of service anywhere else! I strongly recommend this company if you are considering Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos or Myanmar, you will not regret it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUITRAVELER2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinntravel, General Manager at Indochina Pioneer, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mauitraveler,

Nothing gives us more satisfaction than a "return" traveler, then we know we did our job right the 1st time!

We were more than happy to welcome you back to our beautiful Country for a second visit and that your Guides and drivers were as good as the first time. Maybe Cambodia and Laos next time?

Lam sends you his best wishes and thanks you for your positive comments.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochina Pioneer also viewed

 

Been to Indochina Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing