We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury for a budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #37 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury for a budget traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a great hotel. As a backpacker who has been staying in pretty average places, this is pure bliss. Very clean and spacious private room, comfy bed, great shower, nice to have toiletries, gowns, kettle etc
Location is excellent if you want be in the middle of the old town near the main bia hois! Locate in a quiet street and we were on the 7th floor so no noise.
Reception were very helpful. Laundry was OK not the best we have had in terms of how clean the clothes are.
Breakfast was so so for a vegetarian. The waitress was a bit rude at times. All we could eat was bread fruit and salad and the latter 2 were limited. When they ran out 1 day 15 mins before the end of breakfast time, the waitress would no bring us more even though I explained we are veggie.....seemed as if they couldn't be bothered to cut some more.
The travel desk man was very persistent...we simply wanted information but felt like he was being pushy like the red of the Vietnamese travel agents.
All in all a good place to stay...def recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leenk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Leenk8
That is nice to read your nice comments for May De Ville Backpackers Hosteland we are so appreciated about that.
That is a great chance of having you as our regular guest and your enjoying staying at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel as our goal for all our staff and our effort to keep it as your home when ever you staying with us.
We hope you are always doing well and we are looking forward to receiving you and your friends again at May De Ville
Thank you and best wishes to you.
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    149
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
21
122
137
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The May De Ville really had a great chance to get a good review, but blew it.

They have a great property, good location, and a decent price. The staff is fairly attentive and the rooms are pretty spacious.

Here is what went wrong:

Water Pressure:

We stayed a total of six nights in three different rooms (all on the ninth floor). We generally take two showers a day and only one out of countless attempts was the water pressure anywhere close to decent.

Laptop In Every Room:

Our first room had a laptop but no adapter, nor did our fridge. Thus rendering both useless. Our second room had a laptop which worked, our third a laptop that didn't work. They took one out of another room (depriving another guest) to provide one for us.

Free Breakfast:

This is one of the worst breakfasts we have had in Vietnam. It always looks decimated regardless of what time you arrive. It is the same four dishes everyday. Rice, instant noodles, over cooked steamed carrots, and hotdogs. They also have white bread and fruit. You can get eggs if you ask them, which is the only decent part of what they serve. Fine, I get it. It's free. But if you are factoring it in to your budget for accommodation, then I would go with a cheaper option and get my own breakfast or find a place with a better breakfast.

Room "upgrade":

We broke up our stay with a trip to Ho Long Bay. We booked our additional four nights before we left and requested the same room we had. When we returned we were told that we had been given an upgrade! Ok? Sounds good. Upgrade meant a room of the same size, but with an additional single bed. Which we had no use for. Not much of an upgrade, but it was a corner room and had an additional window. We then received a call at 10:40 am the next morning instructing us that we needed to move to our booked double room. I guess we were upgraded for a night? We now have twenty minutes to move all of our stuff. I went down stairs and spoke with management and they said, "We need that room now" and gave us an additional hour to move our stuff. When we paid our bill, the "upgraded room" was charged at the family room price. It was only an additional three dollars, but it is the principle. Basically they were either unorganized and shuffled us around, then chose to charge us for their poor planning. Or they saw an opportunity to make more money by booking in a family and moved us, then chose to charge us for their opportunistic behavior. Either way, we were not happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear The_Gospel.

How are you today?

Thanks for your post a review on Tripadvisor.com.

However, this review is mistake about our hostel.
Our hostel name is : May De Ville Backpackers Hostel.
I would like to clear all the review below :

1.The review you wrote is May De Ville Hotel. This is the partner of Group My De Ville like May De Ville Old Quarter Hotel and May De Ville City Center Hotel.

2. Regards the laptop in the room did not working or now adapter . This is second mistake too.
Because, before the guest arrival our hostel we have to check everything working & have no problem. And then, our guest can check-in and have no problem.

3. About Breakfast ! We do buffet breakfast. It mean have a lot of choice for the guest have breakfast in the morning like Noodle soup , fried rice or fried noodle , banana pancake , salad , eggs & bacon, ham & cheese and western breakfast or american breakfast too , juice , fruit and more other. That mean, we have more than 4 choice for breakfast .This is third mistake.

4. About the water ! We sure 100% the water in good for all room for the guest take shower. Every time the guest check-in we always check everything before guest enter the guest. Ensure the room is excellent and have no problem. This is fourth time mistake.

5. About Upgrade Room : If our hostel upgrade room we always upgrade room to Family Room. It is very big room. The room will be 1 Double Bed & 1 Single Bed. Surely, the room is very big & comfortable. It is mean not for single bed room. This is fifth mistake.

We hope all the guest read my respond understand about the wrong & mistake the review with May De Ville Backpackers Hostel.
Anyway, we are hope welcome you bak to stay with Group of May De Ville .

Wish you all the best & take care.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My room is spacious enough for 6 folks, looks and smells new. Air-conditioning is ok, bedsheets are clean, bathroom looks well-maintained - no problem with water

The staff were very friendly - checked me in just after a couple of minutes, looked for a lock for me, called an early morning taxi for my flight to Ho Chi Minh city.

They also offer free WIFI at the lobby. There is supposed to be free WIFI in each room but signal is intermittent.

Was also able to get to meet travelers/backpackers from around the world - great to hear stories during some random dinner and bar hopping around hoan kiem bars.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank daskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear daskid
Thank you so much for your review, it is a delight to know you enjoyed your stay and all of our staff efforts making you feel truly comfortable are worthy.

Once again, thank you for choosing May De Ville to be part of your journey and we look forward to welcoming you back to May De Ville in the near future.
Happy Travel !!!
May De Ville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location one street back from Ma May and tonnes of great restaurants nearby. Walking distance to Hoan Kiem lake and other attractions.
Clean and tidy with really helpful, friendly staff—every recommendation they gave was spot on (restaurants, clothing etc).
Laundry service was a bit off—everything came back visibly clean but always smelt smoky. Super quick though and all the mud from Sapa gone completely.
Housekeeping staff were really sweet but would occasionally forget to replace some things.
Do not use the laptops in the private rooms! They're painfully slow and riddled with viruses—one wiped my camera memory card! Computers in the lobby are fast and seem fine. Wifi is also fast everywhere in the building.
Nice games and movie rooms. Relatively cheap beer for sale at reception.
Airport transfer both ways organised with out a hitch.
Very nice bathrooms—almost worth paying the bit extra for the separate shower with seemingly endless hot water and good pressure!
Organised Halong Bay trip and Sapa trip through the hostel—Halong was excellent, well organised and great value.—definitely recommend!
Wish I could say the same for the Sapa trip! The hotel they put us in was horrible (Grand View Sapa), the transfer from the train in Lao Cai couldn't fit us in so put us with another van for a backhander who then couldn't find the hotel for almost half an hour. Our trekking guide—a local woman—was scamming us from the start! She had clearly alerted other women from her village that we were coming—these women walked with us and helped us for the entire first half of the first day trekking only to instantly attack us when we stopped for lunch. They hassled us incessantly to buy things when we were trying to eat and our guide even advised us to buy something then they would leave. We took her advice and each bought something small but they didn't leave and kept hassling—the guide disappeared. We had several other dodgy experiences clearly set up by our guide.
The homestay part of this trip was excellent though and the transfers to and from May De Ville to the train in Hanoi were well organised. Not sure what happened at the other end?! We did tell all of this to the May de Ville Manager who was mortified! The tour company we were connected with for the Sapa trip was Lead Travel. If you do book a Sapa trip with May De Ville check they no longer use this company.

Would definitely recommend staying at May De Ville Backpackers A little more expensive than other places but well worth it. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Our Guest !!
Thank you for your review; it is highly appreciated and it is a delight to know that you have enjoyed a stay with us.

Our hotel location is great for all the sights, and thanks for the compliment with regards to our hotel staff. Our main mission is customer satisfaction. We aim at not only providing a comfortable & friendly accommodation but also being your home away from home.
We really sorry about service & hotel in Sapa. We will change the other hotel in Sapa & make better experience for all the guest travel to Sapa.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will return to us in the very near future for another enjoyable stay.


Yours sincerely,

May De Ville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent service, perfect location in the middle of old town, excellent facilities (great room, spotless bathroom, great lighting, plugs everywhere, excellent wireless), very helpful advice from the reception, luggage room, printing, computers in the rooms and in the lobby, you name it it's all thought of. Major thank you to the staff for being so friendly and helpful. We really had a wonderful stay. By far the best value for money in all Hanoi! Would DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tiger G
It was a great pleasure welcoming you at May De Ville. Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

Thank you for taking time sharing your experience and our team hope to welcome you back again for another pleasant stay in the future.

Happy Travel !!

May De Ville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as a big group of 10 people. They were helpful in moving us around and getting us into rooms with one another. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful in booking train tickets, setting up taxis and also calling a doctor since a few of us had gotten food poisoning.

Safety and cleanliness were very high for the price, I can't complain at all. For such a cheap room, it was a great buy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Our Guest !!!

Thank you very much for staying at May De Ville and sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor travelers. It was a pleasure hosting you in Hanoi and we are glad to learn that you satisfied with our facilities and services.

Hope to see you again in Hanoi in a near future.

Best regards,
May De Ville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spend 4 nights here in total and enjoyed our time very much. The location is perfect in the
heart of the old quarter. We got a double room for only 25$ wich was really luxury. They even provide a computer in every room! On the second floor you can find a cosy movie room where you can hang out and play some pool. The staff is superfriendly and helpful.
We also booked 2 2-day-trips with the travel agent at the lobby, one to Halong Bay and one to Sapa. The trip to Halong Bay was very nice and well organised. The boat we slept on was really nice and comfortable. The trip to Sapa was also nice, we liked the trekking and our local Black-Hmong-Guide very much. Unfortunately the hotel that was arranged for us in Sapa (Grand View Sapa Hotel) was the worst we have ever been to! When we came back to Hanoi our travel agent seemed very concerned about our experience and promised us to change hotels (when you book the Sapa trip in the May de ville Hotel make sure that you don´t have to stay in the hotel named above!). We heard some good storys about the homestay though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Our Guest !!!

Thank you very much for staying at May De Ville and sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor travelers. It was a pleasure hosting you in Hanoi and we are glad to learn that you satisfied with our facilities and services.

Hope to see you again in Hanoi in a near future.

Best regards,
May De Ville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#180 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#12 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May De Ville Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Property: May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing