We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #50 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a single room, which was excellent. The room has a large double bed and an ensuite. The room is furnished to a high standard with a large wall mounted tv and air conditioning. The rooms have key card access which is useful and saves messing around with keys.

Breakfast was included for one night and was just acceptable but not spectacular.

The staff were all friendly, especially Michael who always took the time to speak to guests and never overly pushed the tour service.

The location is excellent and is right in the middle of the old quarter next to local street corner bars and restaurants, but I never heard any noise in the room. It is around a 5 minute walk to the lake but this depends on how brave you are in crossing the road,

Overall this hotel is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at May De Ville. Thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our excellent service and central location. It is delightful to read that you had a wonderful stay and all expectations were met.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Respectfully yours,
May De Ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 517 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and liked everything about it. I would give 6 out of 5 in almost every category!

As it is located in a small alley going off a busy street you don't get too much noise from everything thats going on there, but if you step out of the alley, you're right in the middle of where you want to be when you re in Hanoi. Don't get scared by it being a little off the main streets, it's only a couple of meters and there's a doorman watching the alley, who even opens the door for you.

The lobby is nicely organized with some chairs and a couple of P.C.s you can use for no charge. The drinks are sold for the same price you have to pay in convenient stores and it's possible to write everything on the room bill or pay in dollar.

The rooms are good in size, comfortably arranged and well equipped. Besides the big flat screen TV there is a laptop which I didn't use as Wi-Fi was fine most of the time. The bathrooms look very nice and have a spacious shower. Most important, both are very clean and get cleaned every day without asking for it. We had a little bug incident which was dealt with immediately.

There is a pool/TV room on the second floor which is nice to hang out.

The included breakfast is good, the yoghurt is awesome the fruits fresh and there is enough of everything.

Last but not least, the staff is super friendly, they greeted us with our names and gave advice when needed. the travel agent is very busy and always looking to male a deal with you which is sometimes uncomfortable BUT when we told him "no, not right now" he understood AND we booked the 3days/2nights Ha-Long-Bay tour with him which was the best decision ever! We compared a couple of travel agencies, and honestly, don't even bother: ODC Travel is a must book. I will write a review on our tour as well, and if possible, I would give 7 out of 5 stars for that!

The hostel was recommended to us, and we recommend it to everyone who wants to have a nice and pleasant stay in Hanoi. If we ever come back there is no doubt that we would stay there again. Please keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flogoesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear flogoesworld
Thank you for your wrote nice review for May De Vlle. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the world. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel , our team and service we provide to you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Happy Travel !!!

From May De Ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in a private double room with an ensuite for $28 US a night. It's a steal for this price, including breakfast. The bed is comfy, there are cupboards and the room, the air con works great, the bathroom is clean and modern, and the room is spacious. All staff were friendly. I honestly cannot work out how the price is so low.
The location is good if you want to go to the weekend night markets, buy DVDs or souvenirs. It's close to the lake. A bit of a walk to get to the museums. The entrance to the hotel is about 10 metres down a narrow lane - don't be put off by this! It really is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Bridget A
It was a great pleasure welcoming you at May De Ville. Thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our facilities, services , the price and good location.

Look forward to seeing you again and may all the bests come to you this new year.

Best regards,

May De Ville Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Don't be fooled by the "Back Packers Hostel" in the name. Although there are a couple floors with bunks, we stayed in a nice private room with a private bathroom for a great price.

The location is great, right in the middle of the Old Quarter and about a 30 second walk to the famous Bia Hoi Corner. The front door is about 10 meters down an alley off the street so you don't ge as much noise as other places. We walked everywhere we went in Hanoi.

The room is a little small but is equipped with a safe, a large flat screen tv, lap top and nice bathroom. The TV has a usb input - we watched a movie using my flash drive one night. The heat and a/c is remote-controlled. We didn't use the laptop provided but did use the wifi which was decent.

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful for asking directions, booking trips, recommendations, etc. I needed to be to work sooner than I thought so we had to abbreviate our trip and left a few nights early. They refunded us without a problem - and mindful we were leaving the country - refunded us in USD.

It is the only place we stayed in Hanoi so I don't know how it compares to the others, but if I go back, I wouldn't risk staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up so that your window is higher than the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBN_ASW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear KBN_ASW
That is nice to reading your nice comment about your home May De Ville in Hanoi, you make us higher than other.

You not mentioned your name here but I know you are Amy William & Kyle are you?. Your enjoying stay with us is our great reward when we trying our best to do a job.

Your comment and your score will be remain forever and goes along with us as the testimonial for other traveler who interested in Hanoi accommodation.
Regards
May De Ville !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here in a family room with my parents, the room had everything, a very nice and clean bathroom, a big televisionscreen, a laptop that did work very well and nice beds and that for only 39 dollars in Hanoi, including buffet-breakfast for three people.
I also stayed in a dorm, that was oke, but the room was not very pleasant, it's a small room, there is just one bathroom with toilet, so when someone is taking a shower and you really have got to go to the toilet, you got a problem. But for the rest it's still nice, the shower is nice, the A/C works well and it is clean.
The hostel has some great facilities as well and they can arrange some really good trips, if you arrange a tour it with them, you won't have to be afraid that you end up in a horrible bus and dirty boat.
End last but not least, unless the fact that the hostel is pretty big, they know who you are and are always welcoming you very friendly. Staff is very, very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Miriam T
It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. It is our utmost reward. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our service, staff performance, facilities and central location. We will be sure to share it with our colleagues. It is a motivation for us to deliver even better and higher service quality.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit to May De Ville.

Yours sincerely,
May De Ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hostel is great value for money and came as a pleasant surprise. As (ever so slightly) older backpackers we were looking for some comfort and privacy. This hostel was perfect, the location was brilliant, we had a good sized double room including wifi, laptop, en suite bathroom and toiletries! The breakfast was included in the room rate of $10 and was more than adequate for early morning starts.
The location is the key with this hostel, walk out of the door and you are immediately part of one of the main biahoi drinking corners. So much life and interest !! This may be a little more touristy in peak season but we went in October and were mainly joined by young Vietnamese enjoying the local brew !
We used Hanoi as a base and left the hostel a number of times to visit the surrounding area's. The hostel were more than happy for us to leave our luggage for a couple of days at no extra cost. The staff were very accommodating and happy to help, we used their airport transfer ($16) two or three times without any hitches and far easier than trying to fight our way through the taxi drivers at the airport.
We would happily recommend this hostel to anyone wanting a base in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear DJGR
Thank you for your enjoyed staying at our hotel. That is nice to read your great comment for May De Ville in Hanoi. We are so appreciated about this ans considered as our reward which goes along with our business.

Your comment is so importance for our hotel to keep the good ranking on this site as the testimonial for other travelers who interested when they need the accommodation in Hanoi.

Hope you are doing well and we wishing you a great Christmas and Happy New Year as looking forward to seeing you again next year.

With our best regards

May De Ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hostel had a good location in Hanoi, the staff was friendly and helpful with everything. The breakfast was included in the room rate, and it was good as well. The hostel is situated in the heart of Old Hanoi which made it very convenient, easy to explore the area close by. The dorm rooms were very clean, bedsheets were new and clean. I would recommend this hostel to people traveling to Hanoi, especially those who look for something affordable with decent standard and appreciate cleanliness.

The hostel also provide travel services and can arrange cheap transportation to the airport. Although we didnt book trips with the hostel, we heard it was good. We did book transportation to the airport with them, and it was cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eplemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Eplemango
Thank you once again for staying with us at May De Ville . It is always our great pleasure to take care of you. Thank you also for you lovely comments which I have passed to all the team.
It gives us great satisfaction and is very rewarding to know that our hard work is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit .

Warm regards,

May De Ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#14 of 455 in Hanoi
1,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luxury Backpackers Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Hostel
Hanoi Hostel
#40 of 455 in Hanoi
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Youth Hostel
My Youth Hostel
#104 of 455 in Hanoi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May De Ville Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 455 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: $10 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing