We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Ranked #15 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Little Hanoi Hostel 2 was our first hostel following our arrival in Vietnam, and I would highly recommend it. The free airport pick up was efficient, if made slightly more exciting with the storm. The location of the hostel is perfect, with rooms being absolutely spotless! The staff were incredibly friendly; offering tours, advice and in my case, helping to get my bag back from Bangkok (won't explain).

Word of warning, although the staff are only trying to help, hunt around for tour prices as you'll undoubtedly find cheaper. Besides that, everything was perfect! Would 100% recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trussell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    87
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
185
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, rooms are good size and comfortable and what you would expect for around $25. On our first night at the end of April we were woken at 7am to extremely loud drilling which shook the whole hotel. We'd arrived on a late flight and desperately wanted a lie-in so were very disappointed. The staff however were extremely nice and understanding offering for us to stay at their other hostel to continue our sleep etc for free though we declined. We stayed a week later when we knew we'd have to be up early and that morning there was no noise.
The staff are extremely nice and helpful and went far out of their way for us. We didn't book any trips/tours through them and that didn't affect their mood towards us. We had a few hours one morning between arriving on a night train and going to Halong Bay and they happily gave us a recently checked-out room to freshen up in then insisted on feeding us breakfast - all without charge.
I'm not sure regarding the building work though whether there will be on and off noise for a while so if you like your lie-ins you may want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleHanoiHostel2, Manager at Little Hanoi Hostel 2, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Sorry for the certain time noise from the building around. It finished already to bring you the quiet and fresh atmosphere by Hoan Kiem Lake. We are waiting for your next visiting here. Thank you so much for your supporting. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here the entire time when we were in Hanoi. The free airport pickup was def a plus, especially when you just don't want to deal with the local taxis. We had a private room, and it was comfortable, clean, and just overall well worth the $25 we paid.

Hanoi at the time rained almost everyday, and the humidity level was at 100%. The first night we had the AC set on cool, and everything in the room turned damp. We quickly learned that there was a "dry" setting on the AC, so just a tip, when it rains, set your AC on "dry."

The staffs were super friendly and totally helpful. We booked the Ha Long bay trip and Sapa trip from the hostel and they were both well worth the money.

The Location of this hostel can not be beat. It was in the old quarter right next to the lake, with a supermarket next door, everything in Hanoi was walkable.

The map they had of the city was an exact copy of the map from the Backpackers hostel. The copy was poor, and the staffs really don't know much about where to go eat other than the tourist places. I'd recommend dropping by the backpackers hostel and get their colored map. Much more helpful than the ones this place had.

Overall a fantastic experience, although we didn't like Hanoi much, and felt North Vietnam was dirty, none-classy, and just overall unorganized and ghetto. This hostel was the best thing Hanoi has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

As a matter of fact, we stayed here 2 times, coz we really liked it! Rooms were big, beds were really comfy, air con and fan both worked well, hot water was not always good, but it made for a quick shower, coffee and tea offered at all times, plus breakfast included is great!! Staff organizes all kind of activities and tours for you, help you with whatever you need, organize trains and schedules for you, and they say they don´t mind if you don´t book with them and do elsewhere.
Everyone was EXTREMELY friendly, I think until the time we booked somewhere else... It gave me the feeling they didn´t like that, although they didn´t say anything.
I also found the staff to be very touchy all the time, hugging and kissing everyone.
But that´s my feeling....
Overall, it was a great stay!

Room Tip: 102 can get quite noisy, since it´s close to the kitchen and service area-
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairanJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

$25 for a good sized single room that was both clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and made this place fun and relaxing. Early arrivals (l came on an overnight bus from Hue) were given breakfast and coffee/tea on arrival. Location is great. Down a quiet alley on the Hoan Kiem Lake. I also organised a 2 day trip to Halong Bay and my train to Sapa here at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzpatrick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dontchuwurryabouthat
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights with my friend. Upon arriving, we were greeted by the most peppy/chipper staff I've ever encountered. They were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs, which we welcomed.

The room itself was... for $25/night... well, it depends on your priorities. After a couple nights, we ended up looking at other places just to see what was out there, and it turns out there are several hotels in the area that offer the same fundamental amenities (private bath, WiFi, fridge) for nearly $10 less. Most of the upgrades offered by Little Hanoi Hostel 2 aren't in this category, but rather in the form of perks, such free bananas, nicer furniture, a beverage-stocked fridge... not really things we cared about, so we moved.

It's right on the lake, if that's something you're into.

Water pressure was AWESOME, and the water was hot. Granted, if the water was at full blast, the hot water only lasted about ten minutes. Needless to say, less water pressure meant hotter water for longer.

The WiFi was unreliable, which is a HUGE pet peeve of mine. When it did work, it only did so anywhere from five to fifteen minutes before cutting out for longer.

The shower did have a curtain, but due to the angle of the shower head, as well as the bathtub's position in the room (it's tough to explain), water would leak onto the bathroom flood to form a puddle.

On the bright side, the hotel is located right next door to a supermarket, which was convenient.

*** UPDATE*** Ok, I just turned to my friend to ask her if there's anything she wanted to add, and she's telling me that breakfast was included in the price this whole time. I can't speak to the quality of the food because we never ate breakfast there (because I never knew it was included!). So yeah, if you throw in a free breakfast, maybe it's worth the $25. I couldn't tell you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonFiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

was transferred from little hanoi 1 to 2, and i stayed in a dorm bed in little hanoi 2. well, it is a steep 6 storeys climb upwards, and the entrance is via a alleyway that can appear a little dodgy, but yeah, everything else is excellent.

they even place modem routers on every other floors to ensure we have internet access from any corner of the hostel. staff is excellent, always offering coffee and tea to us. they genuinely asked how was my day each night that i am back there. very homely feel. i am not sure if they do offer dorms in this place or is it just little hanoi 1, but to me both places have won me over with their hospitality, and either 1 or 2 will be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frolicker_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#17 of 586 in Hanoi
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 586 in Hanoi
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 367 in Hanoi
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hanoi Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hanoi Hostel 2

Property: Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Address: 32 Le Thai To Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hanoi Hostel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Little Hanoi Hostel 2! This quaint hostel is newly affiliated with the top-rated Little Hanoi Hostel at 48 Hang Ga Street and we are committed to providing the same level of service.Little Hanoi Hostel 2 is located in a quiet alley, right across the street from Hoan Kiem Lake at the heart of Hanoi's old quarter and within 2 to 10 minutes walking distance to tourist attractions and basic amenities such as the Water Puppet Theater, the weekend night market, major international banks and ATMs, grocery and convenient stores, shopping streets, restaurants and nightclubs.Guests may choose between single, double or twin rooms or a newly renovated 4 person dorm, all with classic wooden furniture, their own private modern bathrooms and air conditioning. All our rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to free tea and coffee throughout the day.Our restaurant is open from 7:30AM to 9:00PM and offers both Western and Asian meal options at very reasonable prices.For the convenience of our guests, we also offer tourism services on demand and our knowledgeable staff can provide no-obligation information on tour options and make booking arrangements for Halong Bay, Sapa, Hoalu, Tamcoc, the Perfume Pagoda, City tours, Mai Chau, Hoa Binh or customized private tours to most regional destinations. Our staff can also help our guests with flight, train and bus bookings as well as visa extensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little Hanoi Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hanoi Hostel 2 Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing