We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience, service, and food”
Review of Avalon Cafe Lounge

Avalon Cafe Lounge
Ranked #79 of 2,341 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located directly in the heart of Hanoi, Avalon offers spectacular, sky rise view of Hoan Kiem lake and the Old Quarter. Order from our selection of Vietnamese or Western cuisines as you enjoy a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. We have an extensive selection of wines and champagnes from France, hand chosen from each season to ensure the finest quality. We also have delicious homemade desserts and a variety of cocktails that are sure to please.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good ambience, service, and food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went here three times during my stay. It is very central and has great views over Hoan Kiem Lake. There are three floors including a roof terrace. The coffee, pastries and food I had was all good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizzyPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    239
    62
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The photo on a blackboard at street level sold the Cafe to us. We were escorted all the way to the cafe which was around the corner from where we saw the blackboard. The attentive staff, superb food, amazing views and very reasonable prices made this evening one to remember

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location - expensive food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The view was beautiful and the location was good. The food was great, but a bit overpriced. The service was ok, but nok perfekt.
Go there for the view and a drink..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good view, poor food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Can't disagree with many of the previous reviews that the view from this place is great, however if you are planning to eat, the food here is very much at the lower end for Hanoi. Recommend you stop by for a drink and then pick somewhere else to eat. 4 out of 5 for the view, 2 out of 5 for the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yonguk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great views and mostly local clients. The food is as you see in the photos and the fruit drinks are fantastic. We ended a hectic site seeing day with an afternoon here enjoying the view and the food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon Cafe Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Avalon Cafe Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing