We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For real travellers”
Review of Club Opera Novel

Club Opera Novel
Ranked #118 of 2,225 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For real travellers”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A quiet and beautiful place. for amateurs of the old Hanoi in a modern way. With a real excellent vietnamese food. An house of taste, far away from touristical "fun". The new manager, Laurent, a french guy, do his best to make you enjoy quality of food and style life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OloPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    64
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“just fantastic”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A really lovely small understated restaurant around the corner from Metropole Hotel and Opera House. Food one of the best I have found in Hanoi (and thats been a challenge), with wonderful friendly manager, making the night a memorable one. Beautifully prepared and presented foods. Warming inviting atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice service and boring food.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The service was great and helpful. The food a bit boring for Vietnamese food. It was almost Westernized Chinese food.


The negative things i have to say .. we were served flat champagne (they knew it was old), but were happy to take it back, a pour of Japanese whiskey that was $15 and finished off in one little sip...truly ridiculous.

Overall, we should have known what we were getting into. Nice space and service. Just really disappointing food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeboOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant, Amazing Food, Amazing Host.....Amazing.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were staying up the road at Hotel Del Opera and walked past this restauant, the menu's on easels caught our eyes and so we stopped to read. We were very impressed with the set menu and so went in to book for that evening. We also had the free flowing wine with our meal, which of course you get a little concerned one flow too freely - but it certainly did - and it was also an amazing French Sauvignon Blanc. We were so impressed with the food and service and the Maitre'd was brilliant. Enough time with you to ensure you were happy with everything - but not around too much. He also found out after one of our courses (crab) that we don't eat seafood and said we should have told him and he could have made us something different. All other courses were delicious and can highly recommend going to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with great service!!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went there on a week night, the food was great and the service was excellent. Regarding price is not that cheap in Vietnamese standard but is still acceptable. We had a starter, 2 main courses, 3 cocktails and a hot tea for around US$75. BTW this is a place I will definitely go again in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alvinwwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Opera Novel also viewed

 

Been to Club Opera Novel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing