We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food!”
Review of Gecko

Gecko
Ranked #119 of 2,341 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really great food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The food here is lovely and I have no complaints, just one suggestion :) We ordered the crepes for dessert and I have a piece of advice for the chef: use eggs in your batter! The crepes tasted like a bland tortilla. Everything else was superb! Great value and nice atmosphere. Steak was cooked to perfection and the calamari appetizer was delcious. They make a mean, lassi, too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    149
    63
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Am I missing something here?”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Was lured into Gecko on the basis of the rave reviews on this site..... I have given this restaurant a rating of "poor" Perhaps this is a little harsh. But I feel the need to drag the average down as I was expecting something amazing and was left bitterly disappointed.
The alarm bells started ringing when we ordered a steak and weren't asked how we would like it cooked. Upon asking the waitress about this she advised us that she would bring the appetizers first and the steak in 15 minutes. As the steak was one of the more expensive items on the menu we decided to abort as we didn't wish to waste our money on an over cooked piece of Australian tenderloin.
To be fair the spring rolls were lovely, but it is Vietnam. It's pretty hard to find a bad spring roll in these parts. Soup average. The pork medallion in mustard sauce was neither a medallion nor did it involve mustard sauce. I liken it to chewing on a bit of old boot.
The wine was very reasonable and quite nice. Perhaps if we had gone for a pizza or burger we would have been a bit more satisfied but anything beyond the bog standard western dish is a definite no go.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This restaurant looks pretty small from the front but give it a go because the food and drinks are delish. We ate here a few times throughout our Hanoi trip and the food was fantastic each time. Good prices too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mishiGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe Valley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Crab and Shrimp and avocado soup to die for”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Can't really describe the tastes flashing around in my mouth from this soup. Absolutely the best thing i have ever tasted.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food for great price”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Several locations throughout the old town. Big menu with vietnamese cuisine, burgers, but also steaks and Austritch steaks (absolutely jummy). And very cheap compared to similar restaurants. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thepouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing