We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hanoi Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Grand Hotel
Ranked #279 of 620 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hanoi Grand Hotel. The staff were always so helpful, the rooms were very comfortable and at breakfast time there was so much to choose from. The hotel is a good distance from the main centre, 5 to 10 main walk depending on which route you take. We enjoyed walking down the streets smelling all the yummy food and seeing the sights. We used the hotel as our base for when we returned back to the city from Sapa and Halong Bay. Better still, the hotel staff organised all of our trips and accommodation for us! Everything ran smoothly and best of all they organised transfers to and from the airport. No worries at all and because of this, we'll return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
33
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (jan 2013) at the Hanoi Grand.
The location was ideal and the staff could not have been more helpful.
This hotel is down a quiet side street ensuring a peaceful nights sleep,surprising for a location
right in the heart of Hanoi with all the main attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a package holiday to Hanoi and the Hanoi Grand Hotel was the hotel selected.The website looked fine.The travel agent was optimistic.Trip Advisor had mixed reviews.That was the last of the good news.We arrived and were eventually met by the hotels bus to transfer us from airport to the hotel.It delivered us to an alley nearbye and we hauled our suitcases from there to the hotel.On arrival we discovered the room we had booked and paid for months in advance had been given to another family.The staff denied this for about an hour , before breaking down and showing us to our room.Complete with a large family sitting in it attempting to pack and disappear.The staff (I think they were staff,no one owns a uniform or identification) had no alternative room.If you think of booking Hanoi Grand, DONT DO IT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luhansk, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'm always wary of seeing too many great reviews for a hotel, but trusted my instinct on them this time. The property is very convenient to the strip without the bustle and noise, and has a good atmostphere. Room was amazing, very clean and very beautiful. A free PC/internet connection and wifi .Front desk staff polite and helpful. Lots of smiles exchanged and friendly greetings from all the staff we would encounter (housekeeping, maintenance, security). I booked a Halong Bay trip and Hoalu –tamcoc trip via the receptionist and it was reasonably good too.Wonderful breakfast included in stay (eggs, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, fresh juice, milk, variety of coffee styles). This is an excellent hotel which is well managed and offers great value for money. I'll be going back next time I am in Hanoi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

In a city with SO MANY hotels, and high end hotels, it's impossible to choose. A terrific hotel - beautifully appointed, centrally located and wonderfully managed. We availed the service of airport pick up (airport is about 45 minutes’ drive from Old Quarters). The service was nominally charged at 17USD. a
A hotel representative received us warmly at the airport and we were welcomed at the hotel by the staff with a tropical fruit welcome drink. Very clean, great amenities in the rooms and very attentive at guest services - we got everything we asked for in quick time. What sets it apart is the effortless, professional service from staff who tend to speak pretty good english. If you are leaving the hotel they will get a taxi for you and give you a card that gives you the taxi number and a phone number to call if you have a problem. The location of the hotel is probably the best in Hanoi ,the hotel is very close also the usual markets and handy for a good tailor. Breakfast was very good, with eggs and pancakes cooked to order. Overall, this is a hotel that exudes quality and professionalism. I would recommend this hotel to everyone as after a busy day in Hanoi, nothing is better than coming home to a beautiful hotel and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronald l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is not really a hotel, more a large B&B. We booked through an agency in Hong Kong and presumed it was a large hotel from the material and images we were shown. Upon arrival the staff appeared friendly enough but the room was not that clean. A large cobweb in the bathroom was there when we arrived and no doubt it is still there, whilst cigarette butts on the balcony of our non smoking room looked as though they had been there for months and were still there upon our departure.
Everything was fine until I was persuaded to book a trip to Halong Bay and also booked train tickets to Nanning. The tickets, which cost US$29 at the railway station were charged at $49 to me by the hotel. The 3 day, 2 night cruise was charged at $235 a person, whilst others on board our cruise ship appeared to have paid The Charming Hotel just US$175 for the same thing. When I complained to the reception about the train tickets relations became a little strange. My partner was twice lied to in what appeared to be an effort to cause distrust and trouble between us. This started after my complaint before we went to Halong and was repeated upon our return. In short, I cannot recommend this hotel as it was not particularly clean; they charge excessive commission on bookings made by them from other suppliers , some staff lie to their customers and many of the staff are extremely unprofessional, often preferring to gaze at computer screens rather than providing any degree of customer service.

Room Tip: try the Charming, they were reported as very good and very ethical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I discovered this lil' gem online and took advantage of their outrageously amazing introduction price .The service was great too - very helpful people at the front desk and everyone we ran into was friendly. We changed money at the hotel and got a good rate and also booked a trip to Halong Bay
through them and the boat they recommended turned out to be just right. The design is beautiful - elegant and clean-lined modern but very inviting. The room and bath are very nicely decorated and everything from bed, sheets and towels felt so comfortable and luxurious. The hotel is incredibly quiet. We never heard the traffic from the street. Staff at desk were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. They printed a few things for us, recommended a good place from brunch, and were just pleasant no matter what we might have needed. Anyway, LOVE this hotel and I wish them continued success!! They're my favour!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
3.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#208 of 591 in Hanoi
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Grand Hotel

Property: Hanoi Grand Hotel
Address: No. 26 Hoi Vu Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 620 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Grand Hotel is situated in the heart of Vietnam's Capital City, Hanoi, in Hanoi's most popular tourist destination, The Old Quarter.Hanoi Grand Hotel have cheaper price than other hotels with same service. The Old Quarter is the base for experiencing the intriguingly crazy beautiful culture, with not to be missed breathtaking destinations such as Ha Long Bay, and Sapa close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing