We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to run away from the city noise”
Review of Gecko

Gecko
Ranked #179 of 2,239 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warsaw
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice to run away from the city noise”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good drinks and and nice gataway from the noise and seed of the city. There are may Gecko's in Vietnam, and most keep a good standard.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    209
    87
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
376 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Cheapest Tiger in Town?”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

As we walked in Otis Redding was performing Love Man on the sound system. He was followed by a selection of Bluesmen practising their craft. Doesn't get much better for me. The decor and seating are good. A large Tiger comes in at 16 and you can get a giant pizza for the price of a large. We have had much better pizzas and the Vietnamese tea was not so good. So top marks for some aspects and a definite "could do better" on others. Service was fine and with a smile. Price was low.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food at Reasonable Price”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We ate here three times as we liked the warm reception from the manager and the menu which includes both Vietnamese and Western dishes. There is a permanent Happy Hour offer of two Tiger beers for price of one.The spring rolls (vegetarian for us) and pumpkin soup were excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pho Cocktail”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I normally try to avoid restaurants like this that cater entirely to the budget backpacker crowd. The food here is a middle of the road combination of Western and Asian dishes. From a western point of view, the food is fairly cheap and not bad, though certainly nothing special. However there is a great bartender here who created an amazing cocktail -- the pho cocktail. I don't know what all is in this tantalizing drink; it has many flavors including a hint of pho. It is the most delicious cocktail I ever had! It cost about $3.60 and is only available at the Gecko Restaurant on Hang Manh Str. (This is a local chain restaurant which several locations scattered around Hanoi.) If you are staying anywhere near here in the Old Quarter, I recommend stopping by for this delicious drink. BTW, it is not on the menu -- you have to ask for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rip off”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We asked the waiter how much peanuts were and he said "fifteen". Knowing the specifics of Vietnamese pronunciation and how sneaky the waiters are in Ha Noi area I re-asked "did you say fifteen?", stressing the second syllable to make sure it is actually 15, to which he replied "yes it is". When we got the bill it was 50... Nice trick. 50 000 VND for 100 grams of half-cooked peanuts. Don't go there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing