We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me: this is one to avoid”
Review of Gecko

Gecko
Ranked #176 of 2,341 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Trust me: this is one to avoid”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The food is of poor quality - halfway between Western and Vietnamese. Rice paper rolls were soggy, beef, in chillies and garlic, tasted spoiled. Chicken was overcooked and not spiced at all - and it was supposed to be a Vietnamese dish but maybe they messed it up in the kitchen and ended serving it in western style. Best avoided. Maybe ok for drinks only.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    212
    89
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sadly found this restaurant on our last night in Hanoi”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Sit back, relax, enjoy a cocktail and let the waiter choose for you. He enticed us in with "If you dont like it, you dont have to pay" and we enjoyed wonderful Vietnamese meals from the specials board. Good variety and well priced, very friendly staff. Would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food & Atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We ate here twice with our family with the restaurant across the road from our Golden Land Hotel.
Lovely food & drinks & very reasonably priced. Beautiful little set up. Our kids enjoyed the upstairs room the most, such a cool little joint :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leejacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Gecko on Hang Manh should be hung!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I ate here hoping for a bit of western food.....I ordered pancakes and friend eggs and bacon....and got four plain folded crepes with jam on the side and an oily omelet with ham in it. My friends fruits salad with honey and coconut cream was a cup of oranges and banana's with a spoonful of yogurt on top. The staff were rude and not helpful, and still charged us the full price even though I explained (calmly) this was not what I ordered! Avoid avoid avoid!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sionna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We've been here three times during our trip to Hanoi and would definitely go back. Mostly, I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices. The furniture is comfortable, there's a great music selection, and the staff are friendly, but not overbearing.

There's plenty to choose from on the menu too, although I would've liked to see more variety in the vegetarian section (perhaps more types of curry). Then again, for 50.000d-200.000d, it's hard to truly complain about selection. I really liked that I didn't feel pressured to leave after I had finished my meal, as I have felt in other Hanoi restaurants.

Overall, a great choice for Vietnamese or Western dishes, or even just a drink!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing