We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gecko on Hang Manh should be hung!”
Review of Gecko

Gecko
Ranked #170 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Gecko on Hang Manh should be hung!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I ate here hoping for a bit of western food.....I ordered pancakes and friend eggs and bacon....and got four plain folded crepes with jam on the side and an oily omelet with ham in it. My friends fruits salad with honey and coconut cream was a cup of oranges and banana's with a spoonful of yogurt on top. The staff were rude and not helpful, and still charged us the full price even though I explained (calmly) this was not what I ordered! Avoid avoid avoid!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sionna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    210
    87
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We've been here three times during our trip to Hanoi and would definitely go back. Mostly, I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices. The furniture is comfortable, there's a great music selection, and the staff are friendly, but not overbearing.

There's plenty to choose from on the menu too, although I would've liked to see more variety in the vegetarian section (perhaps more types of curry). Then again, for 50.000d-200.000d, it's hard to truly complain about selection. I really liked that I didn't feel pressured to leave after I had finished my meal, as I have felt in other Hanoi restaurants.

Overall, a great choice for Vietnamese or Western dishes, or even just a drink!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Very bad”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent three months in Hanoi, our dinner at this restaurant was the second worst dinner experience we had during that time. Our server was rambling incomprehensibly about current special offers and completely ignored us (or just didn't understand) when we asked if we could have a minute to look at the menu, he kept on rambling until we placed our orders.
During our meal a server was standing two meters away watching us intensely, at all times. The food was not very good either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I discovered this restaurant near our Hotel and found it as a quiet break from the hussle and bussle on the street. Tried the Pizzas which were great. Prices were very reasonable and the staff very helpful. We returned twice more and ate a mixture of Asian & Western Food and Beers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gem of a find”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

hotel recommended it, had a great time..local dishes great, pasta pizza ,listen its good but this is hanoi..go local,took young family and made to feel very welcome..
try it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing