We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in quiet in noisy Hanoi”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #310 of 621 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice in quiet in noisy Hanoi”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room we stayed in was super quiet and a breath of fresh air (conditioning) when we came in from the streets of Hanoi. Breakfast was included and also tasty. :) Wifi in the rooms was a plus! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night between Halong and leaving Vietnam. Room was ok with no windows but was also very quiet. Room clean, bathroom tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful when we need to print soem itinearies for flights etc. Seem very secure with 3-4 staff member sleeping in the reception area...

Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep stay at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked in here because our other hotel was closed. No, really, it actually was closed and this was the first hotel that had rooms both nights and was cheap. We've low standards, but this met them. The room had a double bed, Air Con, a small window and a private ensuite bathroom. We should have bargained harder for a better room or price, but my husband is rubbish at bargaining. We paid 18USD /night plus 2USD for breakfast (continental).

As I said, the room was cozy in size, but big enough, and had a poorly ventilated (i.e. not at all) bathroom w/ shower. The room smelled of damp, but opening the small window (and turning on the AC) helped quite a lot. It was set back from the street, so we didn't get any traffic noise, even in the middle of the day. Hanoi traffic is pretty well timed anyway, almost none between midnight and 6am. The sheets were almost as thin as the toilet paper, and the bed was hard and the tv fuzzy on some channels, but we didn't come here to lounge in a hotel. If we had, we'd have booked some fancy hotel. Smoking is also allowed in the room.

Not sure how the rooms vary, some might be better than others. Ours was 303, up two flights of narrow stairs in the middle of the property. So if you don't like your room, for God's sake, as to see another. Most look about the same, but prices quoted were between 15 and 25USD/night. Can't really complain.

Reception is pretty much open 24-hours. At worst, you'll have to wake up the guys sleeping on the reception floor. But the English levels are pretty high, and they're cheerful enough. They booked us an early taxi to the airport, 15USD, which turned out to be just about right according to the meter on the taxi. They also have free internet and wifi. (Can't comment on the speed, but one guy was always checking the markets on his laptop when we saw him.)

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, ask to see another, they've got plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beekysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Friendly staff and clean basic room. Located in the old quarter around main sight seeing interests. Easy to navigate and walk to and from in the old quarter. Had issue with bed was extremely hard, tv in our room was broken and room must have been under the washing machine as from 9pm on there was a thud every few seconds. For 2 people wanting a night of down time and sleep this wasn't the place to find it unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brit_doerges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The staff who greeted me were very polite and helpful

However, the room offered had mold on the walls and felt damp. The pillow smelt very foul, (I have to be very honest).

A room change was requested. Extremely noisely, with the constant beeping of mopeds from the street - made the decision to check out!

A different manager/supervisor arrived. Very bullish attitude, insisting that I pay ten dollars - I had been at the hotel for no more then 90minutes! Very bullishing, hard nose attitude.

I insisted he be reasonable. Eventually, after much dispute, he accepted five dollars.

Would not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Insist on a room well away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Friendly service with clean basic rooms. Rooms have AC, TV etc. Located in the old town so a great location. Head down to breakfast early as it all sits out until 10am. Issue with noise from building work next door which started at 7am.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend. We were on a budget, so we chose the Rainbow Hotel - and it totally surpassed our expectations! The room and bathroom were spotless, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was pretty good as well, and best of all, the location was perfect! Right smack in the centre of Old Quarters, but a short walking distance to the Lake and the Water Puppet show, and the best beef noodles in town (49 Bat Dan St) etc. The free wireless internet was definitely a plus! If you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring some ear plugs as the walls and windows are pretty thin, so the noise from the roads gets in (but it dies down after midnight). Nevertheless, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Hanoi without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
#297 of 621 in Hanoi
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 621 in Hanoi
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rainbow Hotel

Property: Hanoi Rainbow Hotel
Address: 20 Hang Can str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 621 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Rainbow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation and good service (24-hour availability), this 3-star hotel is the right choice. The hotel's 35 rooms benefit from air conditioning, as well as cable television, a telephone and a minibar. The hotel is situated near to the city centre (approx. 0.1 km). The hotel has non-smoking rooms, which can also accommodate your four-legged friends. Please indicate your requirements when booking. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. The hotel provides Internet access in your room or via a wireless connection in public areas. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The friendly team at reception will provide you with more information on the hotel's own car rental offer. All bathrooms are naturally equipped with a hairdryer. Go on a voyage of discovery on one of the hotel's own rental bicycles. Treat yourself to a meal in the hotel restaurant, pausing for refreshment from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing