We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Finnegans Hotel
Ranked #37 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved our stay at Finnegans, the hotel is in a great location, the family that runs the hotel goes above and beyond to advise you and make your stay truly as though you feel at home.

They even put on a great New Year's Eve dinner for all the guests, which was a great touch.

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Hanoi!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    50
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
47
199
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Service, service, service. We used Finnegans as our base while in Northern Vietnam. Han and Viet assisted us with visa introductions first of all. They helped us with reservations to Sapa and Ha Long Bay. When we arrived in Hanoi, which is a bit overwhelming in those first minutes, Viet gave us tea and then sent us to a cool little barbecue place just around the corner. Only in hindsight do I realize that we did not have to cross a street to get there.

The rooms are especially clean and comfortable. The internet was very reliable.

Location in the old quarter is a 1/2 block off of Ma May, on a little street to narrow for cars so the staff was there when the cab arrived to carry bags.

It was a great experience.

Room Tip: We splurged for the larger room on the street side, floor 4 and then 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheWorld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice owner, very friendly and helpful, also his wife and brother.
The room was clean. For a good sleep, you need ohropax!

Unfortunately we had a little bit troubles with our Transfer to ninh binh. At First, the owner was very helpful by booking the transfer via a touristic bus, without guidedtour. 11km away from our hostel, the driver didnt want to bring us to ninh binh city. They persuaded us to take a guidedtour tour! Because we didn't want to do the tour, they was very pissed and told us, to pick our backpacks and go to another Bus. Fortunately we found a Taxi, which bring us to our hostel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Twin-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Finnegan's is a small, family-owned hotel in Hanoi's Old Quarter. The owners provide tremendous service in all respects. I stayed there twice on my recent trip to Vietnam, for a total of five days. I booked an excellent two-day, one-night trip to Halong Bay through them. They also arranged train tickets, airline tickets and airport pickup for the remainder of my stay in Vietnam. I took a night train from Hanoi to Hue, and my flight home was in the evening. On both occasions, Viet not only stored my luggage after checking out, but provided me a room to shower before departing. They go out of their way to help you in every respect. The rooms were great, with a balcony, computer and wi-fi. Hanoi is a wonderful city, but definitely a bit hectic, and it was always nice to be able to return to Finnegan's, which was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived at 11pm. Our airport pick up was right there. After our taxi ride we were greeted by 2 awesome guys who took our bags and led us down the alley to the hotel. This is when we met Viet! He was absolutely WONDERFUL! He was super friendly, funny and informative! We met Hanh and their son the next day. This hotel has it all - perfect location, clean, computer in room and wifi, but most of all....GREAT hospitality! They really care! We recommended them to people we met on our travels that were heading to Hanoi. I will definitely stay with them again when I return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallywag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Viet and Hanh, the hotel owners and operators, are two of the warmest and kindest people I've ever met. For this trip I researched high and low, this being the first time I've traveled so far with a group of friends. I knew please a crowd would be difficult. I read reviews for hundreds of hotels, finally deciding that this property would suffice. When we were met out on a busy street by two young men, we were really kind of concerned and got out of the taxi a little cautious.

Within 5 minutes we're greeted by this young man, as welcoming as can be, Mr. Viet. The hotel doesn't look like a hotel in the states. It sits on an alley. We weren't sure if we were at the right place until Mr. Viet had us seated, greeted, and drinking warm tea. He saw us to our rooms in no time. Very modern and really large. The bathroom as amazing. The room was very clean and the a/c ice cold. I loved that there was a computer with WI-FI in the room. He had one of his crew take us down the street, to give us our bearings. The location was A+ perfect. Other areas of the quarter were loud and too busy. This was a nice quiet spot we'd found.

In the morning we met Hanh and her their little boy. We felt at home with the whole family. Sitting in the lobby, I felt we were seated in their living room, just enjoying each other's company and humor (they are VERY funny).

I give Finnegan's 5-stars because the owners went out of their way to anticipate what we might need. They gave us all that we needed at their hotel and went even further to make sure we got what we needed on the outside, too. They made our dinner reservations, got us cabs, Viet followed us to the bus terminal and waited with us to make sure we got the right transport to Halong Bay—all without even asking. And we're SO glad bc its easy to get lost!

Finally, I'd give my business to Finnegan's over and over again because this is a young family who are working very hard to give tourists a good experience in Vietnam. I can't say that for many other places we stayed on this trip. They are sole-proprietors with hearts of gold and they give you what I feel is the best Hanoi experience.

Room Tip: We were right on the alley. At first, it may make you turn your nose up. We found it was the BEST vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We were I'm northern Vietnam for a week (3 days in SaPa, 2 days in Ha Long Bay, 2 days in Hanoi).

We actually spent 2 days at FINNEGANS but they helped us at every aspect. Picking us up at train station, arrangements for train tickets, tours.

They also gave us very good recommendations about where to eat which places to visit.

Even staying just 2 days at the hotel, our big luggage stayed there for the entire week which made our traveling a lot easier.

The hotel is on a side street of the busy Ma May Street, so I expected a bit of noise, but it was not true. After a certain time, the street got very quiet and we had some nice sleeping.

The room us very comfortable, clean and we had a great breakfast.

My recommendation is if you are going to visit northern Vietnam, you should base yourself at FINNEGANS. You will not regret.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 36_WM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#45 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#7 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#35 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Finnegans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Finnegans Hotel

Property: Hanoi Finnegans Hotel
Address: No. 7 Dong Thai street, Hang Buom Ward, Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Finnegans Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Finnegans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever imagined that you can still stay at your lovely home even in your journey to the strange land? Now let Hanoi Finnegans hotel becomes that wonderful home.Lying in the nice little lane of charming Hanoi Old Quarter, our Finnegans Hotel is a peacefully nestling house –like seeking for a tranquil moment in crowded Hanoi streets. Even more, you will fall in love with our Hanoi’s charming, which is full of color and characteristics in every nook and crannies. It also satisfies your curiosity by just few minute walking to discover famed tourist attractions, such as Hoan Kiem Lake (Lake of Sword Restored), Water Puppet Theatre, Night Market, Opera House, History Museum, One Pillar Pagoda, Temple Of Literature, Art Museum, etc.With the greatest love of ancient Hanoi and passion about hospitability field, I started to open the family hotel in an effort to pursuit my dream. Coming to my hotel, you will be pleased with the cozy and friendly atmosphere created through “like-brother-and-sister” staff; however, professional serving style is definitely maintained. It is proved through ten-year experience in hotel service. Despite lacking of five-star facilities, I always remind myself of putting my heart, soul and great effort to give the most memorable experience for you, even more than five- star service. Being one of my friends, you will be warmly welcomed through my hospitability, trustworthy and caring with all my heart.If Hanoi is your most preferable choice for your trip, Finnegans hotel is your perfect and unforgettable destination for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Finnegans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing