We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank your kind service”
Review of Hanoi View 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi View 2 Hotel
Ranked #159 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GEORGIA, CUMMING
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank your kind service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had a late 2 hours check-out without any charge. My room was nice and clean with a free PC and internet and other facilities, all in good condition. Very comfortable beds. The staff were so lovely, always smile, they can speak very good English and French as well. The hotel's near Van Mieu and train station, and easy to visit other attractions by walking. Price was very good.

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
60
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After reading the reviews here, we thought we were going to have a great stay. What a shame that's not how it turned out. Our experience at Hanoi View 2 ruined what should have been a relaxing night and day in between adventure tourism-style stops.

We booked a superior double for what seemed like a great deal. Upon arrival, we were upsold to a suite room for an extra charge, and accepted a 50% charge to have a 6pm checkout before our train to Sapa the next evening.

The room we got was not a suite. It was lovely, don't get me wrong, but it was the room we had booked according to their online marketing (website and booking site). A suite is supposed to have two double beds, some sort dining area and a balcony; ours had no balcony and one double and one single bed, and no extra space. In short it looked identical to a superior double (as per their website).

Foolishly, I should have acted immediately. The next morning I inquired, thinking it would be ok, we would just pay for a superior double. No. I was told it was a suite but only 2 of the 3 suites had balconies. How convenient. We had to race out to run some errands, so I left it at that but, after letting so much pass by in Vietnam, I decided to not let it lie.

Upon checking out I once again brought it up, presenting the front desk with information and pictures from their own website. I got nothing but an apology, that obviously the photos were wrong because we did have a suite, and if we didn't pay the upgrade difference, the owners would make him pay it. After the lines we've been fed in Vietnam, I remain unconvinced by the sob story; it was probably the owners' son. We paid the difference though, on the slim slim chance he was being honest.

In short, we booked a superior double, were upsold to (and paid for) a suite. I doubt very much that's what we got. The picture I took of our room and the pics on their website say all that needs to be said. Funnily enough the price we ended up paying was the room rate on their website, as opposed to the discounted price on the booking website. Funny that!

Just blatant dishonesty, the worst kind. Be careful about what you get should you choose to stay in this otherwise nice establishment. Bad people karma!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here with my son and 2 grandchildren for 2 nights prior to a trip to SAPA and 2 nights when we returned , they apologized for having to charge us a total of $9 for late checkout , 6pm and early check-in 6 am, !!
If you have not been in Vietnam long you may find the market in the street outside a bit intimidating but you soon get used to it and take it in as part of your Vietnam experience. Google maps shows it about 2 blocks around the corner from the hotel. But the station has a back entrance much closer, Make sure you have a ticket (not a voucher ) to go in or out that way and keep your ticket as you need it to get out of the station.\
The hotel seems to have only 2 rooms on each floor .A request to change one of our rooms was happily complied with. The western style breakfast omelet (included)was very nice and more toast provided . Take a business card from reception to show taxi drivers - they have to drop you at the end of the street, and ask for a map.There are some interesting places nearby.
We arrived back in Saigon at 4.30 am and they did not open until 6 am but there is a cafe with WIFI opposite the rear entrance of the station so we we filled up with delicious Vietnamese coffee, if you ask for white it comes with condensed milk, stir it in -Yum.
We had a weeks laundry done here (same day !) for $4.30 so we went home with all clean clothes.
Summary . Friendly staff, interesting location , well appointed, good service,clean and comfortable,cheap..
What else could you want ?
PS the restaurant next to the station that has cars parked in it is very good !

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the street , it has a small balcony where you can watch the fascinating market be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rodjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here twice on my recent trip, was travelling with my father and two teenage kids. We were looking for an affordable hotel in close proximity to the railway station and CBD.

On arrival they had booked us into a room with a double bed but we wanted a room with two beds and it was no problem at all for them to change us to another room. I was pleasantly surprised that it was so easy.

I was also surprised by the unusual location. For a newish hotel it is in a street that is an open air market during the day. If you were new to Vietnam this would be an entertaining introduction. The range of fresh produce immediately outside the front door is fascinating. Fruit, meat, fish and roast dog could be a real eye opener if you weren't ready for it. Your taxi won't be able to deliver you to the front door so you will have to walk 20 meters from the nearest accessible cross street.

My first impression of the hotel and rooms was excellent. The managers are really nice, friendly and helpful. The fittings are clean and new. The shower head in the room was broken on our arrival; they had it fixed within ten minutes. We actually had two rooms booked which were quite different. One on the first floor, two single beds, good sized bath room, easy access to lobby. Second on the 8th floor, two large beds, much larger room, new and effective heater/air conditioner great views from the balcony.

Breakfast was simple, choose from about five standard options, it's not gourmet but if you want that go pay extra at one of the big hotels. It is included and they bring you seconds if you want it.

Located nearby is a strip of coffee shops, Tan Quy Cap (street), is the next street when you go left from the hotel, it backs to the railway station and the taxi mayhem is very entertaining. There are a few other hotels well within walking distance with ok restaurants.

Overall I would say this hotel is great value for money. In the price range I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Of the two rooms we saw, the one on the 8th floor was much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernardjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms and very clean with large television and bathroom. However breakfast was awful and the baked beans are not at all how I expected but huge green-ish beans. Service was slow for breakfast and orders often became mixed up. The food was also freezing.
The location wasn't ideal as it was removed from the main areas and located near the fish market. Despite the noise and smell it meant food was nearby and available.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Chose this hotel because of its location. Do not usually use 3 star hotels in Asia but am glad we chose this one. It is a small hotel in the heart of the center of the old Hanoi.The rooms are very well decorated and offer all the amenities required, clean and well maintained. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of our Vietnam holiday. Arriving very tired at 10.30pm we were shown to a lovely room. We found it quite spacious and VERY VERY quiet.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful during those first few days in Vietnam. Great staff with excellent English. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuntravel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

i had booked a room for half day ($15 for 2 pax) while waiting to take the night train to sapa. booking is via email. Mr Giap is a friendly man who response to your email fast.

distance of hotel to the train station is around 4 mins. hotel staff is able to speak minimal english but still understandable.

walk from the hotel to quan an ngoh restaurant is ard 7 mins.

there is a market directly along the hotel street and you could get your food and snacks easily

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 586 in Hanoi
1,002 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#85 of 586 in Hanoi
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.7 mi away
Little Hanoi Diamond Hotel
0.9 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#10 of 601 in Hanoi
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi View 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi View 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi View 2 Hotel
Address: 48 Ngo Si Lien Street, Dong Da District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi View 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest three star Hanoiview2 hotel is new hotel of Old Quarter nearby HaNoi trainstation and Hoan Kiem lake , perfectly located in heart of Old Quarter. It is easy access to famous restaurants, shopping centers, banking facilities and entertainment activities in Old Quarter, and just 3 minutes to walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and 40 minutes on taxi from Noi Bai International airport. just a minutes walk from the famous lake Hoan Kiem, Hanoiview2 hotel is also close to the central business district, major non-governmental offices and the famous Water Puppet Theatre.It is also very convenient for you to discover the Opera House, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex and the War Museum, Dong Xuan Market and enjoy the bustling atmosphere of Vietnamese capital.39 boutique rooms are mixture of Asian and European style designed with aim to provide the best of first class amenities and hospitality for both business and leisure travelers.All rooms are tastefully decorated with the most luxurious and modern expenditure: AC, minibar, bathtub with hot shower, LCD TV with international channels, Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi View 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing