We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Halong Bay Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Halong Bay Tours
from $213.00
More Info
from $215.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
172
112
24
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
112
24
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halong bay day tour overnight cruise one night bamboo boat beautiful experience four hours overnight stay fishing village beautiful area junk boat booked this tour cruise ship recommend this trip visit hanoi rice cat ba island
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 319 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the trip was relaxing and just follow the guide into the caves for a spectacular view.

lunch on the boat was also a lovely experience. climbing on top of the boat for a magnificent view of the halong bay.

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank yoong43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A day trip is enough at Halong Bay unless you plan a very romantic couples trip.

The bay is beautiful itself, and doesn't matter what the weather is like. We departed our hotel at 8am and were back at 7pm. Drive is 3.5 hours both ways, and the road is rather bumpy - do bring some water with you.

Plenty of opportunities for taking photos in the bay. Don't make the caves/grotto a priority, and spend more time in the bay itself.

Date of experience: March 2013
16  Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Came from Cruise ship to Halong Bay. Met our guide who was about 30 minutes late. Road works along road from Hanoi held him up. This was only a small glitch. 8 of us took a private charter for $50US per person. This included a great seafood meal , private tour guide who was very professional and we saw some absolutely magnificent sights. The floating village and school with a private ride in smaller sam pans and then on the way back we visited the marble caves , once again spectacular. The boat was brilliant and coming back to port was an adventure in itself. We found Halong bay day Tours from Tripadvisor and would definitely recommend them. THANK YOU.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank jcinportd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Awesome day trip! I wouldn't stay on the overnight cruise - don't look that great and the food on the boats is not good - but Halong bay itself is awesome and it's def worth taking the little boat ride in the fishing village to see the lagoons - the caves are also cool although I was not a fan of the colored lighting they placed inside the caves...but overall....awesome

Date of experience: February 2013
4  Thank sowpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our day trip to Halong Bay. It wasn't as beautiful as the beaches in Thailand, but definitely still worth the trip. It was a 3.5 hour bus ride from Hanoi to Halong bay where we boarded a large boat with approximately 25 passengers. The day trip cost approx $20USD per person. Lunch was included (rice, cabbage, eggs, a cooked fish, spring rolls). The boat stops at one of the caves and everyone starts getting off and getting into these little boats. What they don't tell you is that it's 100 baht per person to get rowed around for 10 minutes...and they don't tell you until you're in the boat and they start demanding money. The caves we stopped at were really nice and had great views of the bay.

Date of experience: January 2013
11  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews