We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute crap” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #30 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Traveling
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolute crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Being on a 7 month trip around Asia and having travelled around Australia and Europe and Russia I have seen my share of hostels. You generally get what you pay for and I don't usually slate them for the things you should expect when you pay next to nothing. That being said, Central backpacker in Hanoi is THE WORST HOSTEL I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

I won't go into a long rant about every little detail, but here is a run down.

Cleanliness; They only change the bottom sheet and not the duvet cover between guest, the cleaners will take a nap in your bed, they clean the floors with water from the toilet bowl, the only communal toilet is in the bar and is disgusting and never cleaned, the dorms get a cursory wipe over from time to time, but that about it. Dorms do not lock so you end up with people walking in at all hours.


Staff attitude; They will make you check out regardless of your booking if they need the bed for a large group, there is no secure storage after checkout so items are often stolen, the laundry service is the worst I have ever encountered(the items that made it back to us were somehow still wet, but not clean and several items were missing), if you complain they get aggressive, the advertised free beer is more often than not 'forgotten', breakfast is usually late so if you have an early bus or flight, good luck. Their tours are overpriced, as are the bus tickets.

It is hard to tell who works there and who doesn't, several times we tried to get breakfast or drinks to be told by the person behind the bar that they do not work there, but oh well I guess they were just hanging out. Staff or locals use the bar/breakfast room as a bedroom so you feel uncomfortable trying to eat while they have a lie in.

The only things this place has going for it are the price $5, but that's not hard to match in Hanoi and the location, but again you can find better for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deaninmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    67
    29
    3
    9
See reviews for
1
38
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for almost a week and saw three rooms during my stay (I was checking in and out due to day trips to Halong Bay etc.). All of the rooms were of similar quality. The bathrooms were all clean with good hot showers although they were a little dark. The beds were all very hard and the linen was pretty tired and grey looking and prompted me to jump inside my sleeping bag liner. Air conditioning worked fine.

For the last few nights I was in the room directly above the reception, the noise from the hostel bar starts at around 5pm and goes on until after midnight and was so loud there would be little chance of sleeping. I would recommend to stay out drinking until 12pm+ anyway ;)

The location is great, a short walk from the Old Quarter (food, beer, travel agents, coffee, shopping etc.) and in close proximity to Hoan Kiem lake.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of 3-4 I would definitely consider getting a 4 bed private room. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

No problems with this place, accepting that its a hostel. We took the top floor private room. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue, but again, the room was 25US per night for a large room with a private bath and two queen size beds. Beds were rock-hard, and the bedding was fairly old and stained, so better to leave the lights low in the room.

Everything is so inexpensive, on top of which there is a free happy hour from 7-8 while the beer lasts in the lounge. The place definitely has character, the elevator works, and its located in a very central location in Pho Co, a good place from which to explore. If your on a budget, you could definitely do worse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

For US$5 a night, you get a good location, clean dorm bed, clean ensuite toilet, personal locker, and power points beside every bed. Real value for money. The drinking water sold at the reception is reasonably priced.

However, the aircon in our dorm was spoilt during our 2 night stay, making the room unbearably stuffy. We opened the balcony door slightly to let in the cool night air, which is unfortunately accompanied by the noise of the Hanoi streets. I told the reception about the aircon problem after the first night and while I did not expect it to be fixed within a day, they did not offer any temporary solutions such as bringing in portable fans or swapping rooms.

The beds were exceptionally creaky, and every small movement was heard by every member of the dorm. I had a bunk mate sleeping on the upper deck that snored loudly throughout the night (thank god for my ear plugs), although this was no fault of Central's.

The staff were friendly enough and always greeted us with wide smiles. However, there is a certain personal, genuine touch missing. Everything was treated purely like a business transaction (which of course it is), it would have been nice to feel like they genuinely wanted to help. For example, I wanted to go to Le Mat snake village on my first night and asked reception for advice. All they said was no problem a taxi could be arranged for us, and did not elaborate further on what to expect, which restaurant is recommended, etc. In the end we got lost there and wandered around for half an hour searching for the place I read about online. I also asked for a recommended massage place and was just directed to the one next door (they obviously had mutual business relations as they kept each others brochures), was hoping to be pointed to one with favourable reviews or one that the staff actually enjoy going to themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caphesuada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hostel is in an excellent location just west of the Hoan Kiem Lake. We stayed in an 8 bed dorm which had comfy beds and contained an ensuite shared bathroom, air con, lots of power points and featured a balcony. The showers have hot water all day. Downstairs there is a bar area and lots of computers for guests to use for free (unfortunately smoking is allowed in this area).The free breakfast was basic but really nice (bread, butter, jam, a banana and tea or coffee).The staff here are friendly and always on hand to help you book tours, trains, buses etc and they really made our stay in Hanoi smooth and easy. It's a great place to meet people and go out if that's your kind of thing, but the rooms are far enough away from the bar for the party each evening not to ruin your sleep if you're not a night owl. We booked the 2 night/3 day Ha Long Bay tour through them (tour operator was Open Tours) for 110 USD and it was very good - we would recommend it as we felt like we were taken good care of and the accommodation on Cat Ba island is stunning. The only negative point at this hostel was that the bed sheets are not changed between guests, the sheets are treated with a scented spray each day instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paperlily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My first stay in Vietnam ... Ok so I was posh and got a private room but It had 2 big beds in it! oops. The staff are so friendly and helpful maybe a touch crazy! Went to some nightclub called Bubble Bar but shut early due to the curfew in Hanoi.

The free beer is a brilliant idea (ok maybe dangerous idea) it was brilliant to socialise with other travellers.

A couple of computers in reception to keep up to date with the world of do some planning, people are always coming and the staff will gladly help you with any query.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My apologies to Toi and all the staff at Central...this review is long overdue!

In my eyes, there is absolutely no competition. If you come to Hanoi, you simply must stay here. Me and my friend arrived here in September, and literally had the time of our lives. The staff are absolutely amazing - gave us huge amounts of information about attractions in the area, and even took us on nights out. As a matter of fact, they even got me out of a sticky situation in central Hanoi where I may or may not have broken a taxi door... Although it is recommended in Lonely Planet, the review doesn't do this place justice.

The bar does happy hour which includes super cheap beer. Look out for Cong the barman, absolute LEGEND. On duty every night playing some big tunes, he's absolutely hilarious.

I actually felt pretty emotional leaving here - forget all the western-run joints in Hanoi. For the real Vietnamese experience you need to stay here. Lovely rooms, lots of computers for internet access, great bar, wonderful staff and perfect location. Choose central!!!

THANK YOU. I promise I'll come once I've graduated and have some money! I miss you all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorS647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 334 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Jungle Hostel
Funky Jungle Hostel
#64 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Property: Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing