We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Hanoi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Ranked #30 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for the start of my trip in September and again in November and I can safely say this is the best place to stay in Hanoi. So much so that staying at Central Backpacker's was a highlight of my trip!
A variety of people stay at Central and every person I met was friendly and a lot fun to be around. The staff are super kind and helpful and always up for a chat. CONG the bar man is an absolute legend, ask him nicely and he will even come on a bar crawl with you. Another thing I thought was awesome - every morning a really sweet little Vietnamese woman came into the dorm and cleaned up quietly, she even lined my shoes up for me.. I gave her one of my dresses as a present when I left.
Beds are comfortable, rooms/dorms are quiet enough for a good nights sleep (depending on your roommates obviously), there is free beer every night, cheap drinks all night, brilliant atmosphere and the dorm beds are only $5. What more could you want?
Thanks so much to everyone at Central for making my trip so bloody amazing :) xx eliza

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizakate1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    67
    29
    3
    9
See reviews for
1
38
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melfa, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at Central Backpackers Hostel for 5 nights. Everything was fine until the last day, when my bag was STOLEN from the luggage storage. The manager was even at first resistant to helping me get a police report. The staff's response was hostile and they actually blamed me. This place is not safe and not trustworthy. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beds aren't too bad, a bit better than painful. Breakfast (a mini baguette) is alright, though I thought it a bit odd that the room temperature butter came in old, plastic, single serving containers with Vietnam Airlines logos. They charge about double for laundry compared to what you can find around the corner. Oh yeah, and my girlfriend's laptop got stolen from their "secure luggage storage area". It turns out the following is how their luggage storage works: they put everything in a pile under the stairs, then they let anyone come in and take anything they want without doing anything to check on ownership. When the manager arrived he started insulting my girlfriend and saying it was her fault that her laptop got stolen. Then he tried to discourage us from filing a police report! Don't stay here. If you do, don't trust anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Awesome bang for your buck. Free beer from 7-8 (no strings attached!), free breakfast, free wifi. Decent dorm, all for $5/night.
I took their suggested 3day2night Halong Bay cruise & bungalow on monkey island for $105. Excellent value. Amazing food, one of the nicest boats we saw while out there, and monkey beach was excellent for sunbathing. The bungalows were nice enough but might be worth upgrading to the seaview for the amazing view.
BUT although everything is included, you have to pay ridiculously for anything to drink on the boat (including water), and if you bring your own drinks, you have to pay $1/drink extra (if they catch you).
But definitely bring alcohol to party on the beach on night #2.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillTheCannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in Central Backpackers for 3 nights. Each time we had another room (2 private rooms, 1 night dorm) and all three nights where good. The rooms are clean and the staff is very nice and helpful with everything. The hostel is located in a tiny street in the centre of Hanoi so you can walk everywhere.
We took the Halong Bay Tour (3 Days, 2 Nights) and loved it. The tour was $105 p.p. and it was worth it. I mean you can't expect a brand new luxirious boat and stuff but it was totally fine and clean.
We would stay at Centrals again and book other tours with them as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Central Backpackers was actually full when we tried to book last minute, but they helped us process our Chinese VISAs from Hanoi. What is known to be difficult was a VERY simple process with their help. We went on one of their Halong Bay/Monkey Island tours and met great people and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Lastly, when we lost our camera while on the tour, they helped us by writing an authorization letter required by our insurance claim. They met all of our needs and requests in a friendly manner and the Hostel seems to also be full of good people with a fun vibe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at a different backpacker chain in Hanoi, this cheaper alternative trumped it on most counts. Free local beer (bia hoi) from 7-8pm, and $5 air conned dorms with other traveller conveniences. Would definitely stay here next time I'm in Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 334 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Jungle Hostel
Funky Jungle Hostel
#64 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Hostel - Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Hostel - Original

Property: Central Backpackers Hostel - Original
Address: 16 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true backpacker's hostel owned & operated by an awesome Vietnamese guy so I threw on my cape and created a hostel like no other and you know we've got it right! Why only 5 bucks you ask? 'Looks so good, there must a catch. Is there hidden costs?' Nope! ....you're a backpacker right? You're on a budget right? So we cater the price to your needs! Once you are here ... You simply won't want to leave! - The best things about central backpackers are the crazy travellers, super friendly staff, comfy beds, free internet, Breakfast and most of all Free Beer from 7:00pm to 8:00pm every night! Air conditioned, clean rooms, hot showers and did I mention free Beer. - Tour: Do the Halong bay and Sapa trips with us, we guarantee you will get the BEST time and the BEST one with the cheapest price! For Halong Bay tour: we are the 2nd organizer HALONG BAY PARTY trip for guest booking only through the Central Backpackers hostel only. And it is the 2nd tour in Hanoi that stays on a private island in the Cat Ba National Park where is next to the Castaway island and you can join in the crew of young and great fun people and have your own beach with the Bungalows, for Rock climbing, Kayaking and partying. For Sapa trek: We do offer the Sapa trekking tour and going to stay at homestay with the family of tribe hill people and we will show you all of the nicest part of Sapa like the brilliant landscape, the real live, the culture and staying far from the tourist area. We also do some daily tour around of Hanoi as Hanoi city tour, Hoa Lu- Tam Coc, Perfume pagoda, Mai Chau village, Phong Nha cave and open bus, flight or train ticket, visa... Everything you want we can get it. We look forward to meeting you and remember, Happy Hour starts at 7:00PM every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Central Backpackers Hostel - Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing