We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Ranked #79 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

located in the heart of the old quarter of ha noi. close to everything. the staff were friendly and helpful, especially lisa in the reception. breakfast was good. the pearl restaurant in the lobby was good, but the lake view restaurant on the 9th floor was so so.

Room Tip: some of the rooms were a little bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hotel car picked us up from airport no problem although it later transpired that this form of transport is roughly $20 more even than a taxi ordered by the hotel.

We had booked a suite at $120 a night - the first room we were shown was somewhat gloomy and the bathroom smelt - you could see a leak coming from under the jacuzzi bath. Initially they called a plumber and a cleaner but it was obviously a bit of a patch up job and the smell was going to linger. We insisted we needed to change rooms and were taken to a nice bright corner room - no jacuzzi bath which didn't matter - more importantly the bathroom had a window. Good sized room with large comfortable bed, seating area, two massive TVs, safe, tea/coffee facilities, air con, balcony with views over Hanoi but as someone else posted the view to the lake now more or less obscured by new building. But all in all large and comfortable and the hotel IS perfectly situated in the Old Quarter for you to get stuck into to all that has to offer. Great fun.

Sadly another downer is that breakfast is no longer taken on the top floors - which have great views over the city. The breakfast dining room is in the basement area which feels very subterranean. Equally the food wasn't much to write home about - no fresh juices, lack of choice with fruit and cereals, pastries not particularly good. Large selection of buffet hot food but not particularly appetising. I think the problem here lies in the range of types of rooms and their cost on offer - had I been paying $50 I think I might have been happier with the breakfast.

We were also taken aback when returning to our room around 2.00 o'clock to find it hadn't been serviced - their answer was that their policy was to service the rooms from 3.00 o'clock. Not particularly happy with that - one of the pleasures of staying in hotels is that you come back to a lovely tidy room.

Again I think the broad range of types of rooms and tariffs means that it doesn't quite hit the mark at the more expensive end.

Staff perfectly friendly and helpful as they should be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank member53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Member53,

Thank you for your review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel,

We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you had to go through during your stay here with us.

Regarding your comment about our hotel car pick up service, there must be a misunderstanding because the charge for pick up service is $23 as it has always be while the drop off service is $20. If there is a conspiracy of this matter, please forward us your invoice so that we could look more into this matter.

We have forwarded all of your comments regarding the room service, maintenance and buffet breakfast to our management team so that we could improve these areas.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments and we wish to have another chance to serve you better.

Best regards,

Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently spent 5nights 6days at the Tirant Hotel in Hanoi and we picked it based on its high ranking on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. It is located in the heart of the old quarter, in walking distance of night markets, the lake, what feels like hundreds of places to eat and many many shops.
The staff are very friendly and eager to help in any way they can. The food in both the roof top restaurant and buffet breakfast is amazing and the rooms are clean, comfortable and safe.

After spending each day out in the hustle and bustle of Hanoi experiencing everything the city has to offer, it was always a nice feeling to come back to the hotel to recharge for the next day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NICandEMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Nice place to stay. Handy to the action. Staff attentive to detail and happy to arrange things like the puppet show and Hanoi tours. Had 4 nights there. The first three were in a not overly big room. Adequate but not big. The Tirant took care of our main luggage when went to Halong Bay. On return we had a room that was much bigger. Good free internet. Breakfast is a rather nice complimentary buffet one. The only complaint would be the air conditioning is evidently the same for all rooms. Much better to have individual control.

Room Tip: The one up on the 8th floor is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riachella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is situated right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter which was pretty exciting. On the top of the hotel is a great bar/restaurant to escape the going on's of the streets below. We really enjoyed the location. Many of the tourist attractions and great places to eat are within walking distance. It's not a massive hotel, but yet has everything you would want - including a swimming pool on the roof. The service was great too. Us Aussies could learn a trick or two from the Vietnamese.

Room Tip: As the hotel is in a busy section of the city, I imagine for quieter rooms would be nearer the top t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bee_and_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staff were helpful and friendly from the second we arrived until we left. The breakfast had plenty of choice, Asian and European. The location was a 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and right in the heart of the old quarter. We paid for the basic room but were upgraded to a room with a window which overlooked the street. We did not experience any noise, and enjoyed watching the goings on. The room, bed and bathroom were large, and the free computer in the room was a bonus.
The hotel was clean and well maintained, and the roof top bar had great views over the old town, with nice food and cocktails.
Would stay again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Hanoi, near to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jones686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Tirant hotel is located in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the old quarter. The staff are friendly, accommodative and nothing is a hassle. We made the mistake of not taking their offer of airport pickup, which is a lot cheaper and quicker than any taxi. The staff also helped with organising tours and any price queries we had.

The free breakfast was also a bonus and the views from the room are some of the best.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank lalatheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#151 of 600 in Hanoi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Address: 38 36, Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $70 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing