We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Palace Hotel(Hanoi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveler rating
1,136
569
133
33
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,136
569
133
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barskyline restaurantlemongrass teaold quartergreat hotelhalong baybuilding worktop floorhoan kiem lakeperfect locationexecutive roombreakfast buffetstreet noisean upgradeno windowthe hustle and bustletravel agent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,351 - 1,356 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Tirant Hotel is situated just in the middle of the Old Town of Hanoi, near the lake. Once you walk out of it, you are in the middle of the maze of streets with their tumultous traffic and continuous horn blowing. The hotel itself, however, is very different: Staff is extremely freindly and helpful, nearly all of them speak good English, and the rooms are small, but nicely furnished and with well-functioning wifi. Some rooms do not have a window, which, however, does not make that much of a difference. The lounge on the roof top has a splendid view of Hanoi and offers really nice cocktails. The pool, however, is more of an over-dimensioned bath-tub. Breakfast is being served in the basement, yet, there is a window with natural light. The staff organized a car to Hai Phong and back for us, which cost us 155 US$ and was very comfortable; picking us up at Hai Phong harbour on our way back worked without any problems. The only negative aspect of this hotel consists in its thin walls - if you have a light sleep, you can be certain to wake up when the people in the neighbouring room leave at 6 a.m.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for 2 main reasons. Firstly the location in the old quarter was perfect for our introduction to Hanoi as we have come to live here for 18 months. Secondly, as I browsed the hotel list it is one of the few that provides a pool and outdoor sitting area. The pool is small but right on the rooftop where it is almost always breezy and a respite from the sometimes oppressive heat at street level. Also at this level is a bar which also provides food, from snacks to full meals. Remember to take cash or credit card upstairs with you as there are no facilities to charge back to the rooms. Our room was described as Executive deluxe and was very spacious, just as well as we had 8 bags with us. Computer with free Wifi is provided in the room on the off chance you don't have your own laptop. Wifi is available free all over the hotel too, another bonus. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent providing fresh fruit and cereal, eggs cooked to order any way you wanted them, european style ham, salami, eggs, tomatoes, a selection of vietnamese dishes and the usual selection of bacon, sausages, hash browns and so on. This was a very busy hotel and fully booked each of the 4 nights we stayed there so sometimes there was a bit of a wait at reception if requiring help but the staff really do a great job. They even went shopping to buy quite a few appliance adaptor plugs for us and also made some business related calls on our behalf which was much appreciated. Why didn't I give this hotel a 5 star rating...the basin in our bathroom was cracked, the housemaids forgot to replenish the soap and shower gel and we often didn't have our room cleaned until quite late in the afternoon. Having said that I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and by the way the bellhops are delightful

Room Tip: Executive rooms face the street, are lighter with more windows and are not noisy as the windows are double glazed
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Angela458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great, the staff is fantastic and helpful and it is in the heart of the old quarter in a fantastic location, minutes away from the lake, the night market and right in the chaos of the old quarter which is where you want to stay in Hanoi. The excellent short introduction to Hanoi whilst pointing out key attractions on the complimentary map over an iced cold ginger tea during check in is a great way to start your stay. Then you get taken to your room which is where things take a turn for the worst if you happen to be staying in room 603...The room was spotless and well decorated and appointed in line with the rest of the hotel, however it is rather small and it has only one stained glass window which (fortunately I suppose) doesn't open and looks into the hotel corridor. I've stayed in many hotels but this is the first time I've stayed somewhere with no visibility of the outside world. In the morning we had to get the lift 6 floors down to the lobby to see if its raining or not. We asked reception if we could change the room but they politely advised us that they were fully booked and could not change us. As far as i could tell a similar room doesnt appear to exist on oter floors (on the second floor the gym ocuppies tgis space) however its well worth checking this. I would love to rate this hotel higher and if I'd stayed in one of the other rooms which I jealously gazed upon in all their sun drenched brightness as I made my daily weather forecast trip to the lobby I'm sure I would have. However I stayed in 603 and I wont.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Karagiozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

We just recently received your rating of your stay with us.

We were very much perplexed to know that you find your stay to be "terrible", which is all due to the problem of “no window” you have with the room 603 while all other aspects of your stay were good according to your review.

First of all, the original booking you made with us is for Classic room (For example, on Expedia website, the room description for Classic Room is “… This room has no windows and the room/bed type depends on availability at check-in.”). Since we have clearly clarified all room features on all websites which contain online booking engine, we have firm proof that there is no hidden or cheated information.

The room 603 is exactly the Classic room type, the room you booked for. Moreover, we do have many guests who have resided in our classic rooms before (we have each of them located on all other floors, except for the 2nd floor where it turns into a gym and the 7th and 8th floor where we arrange them to be the Suites) and since they are well acknowledged of the room they booked for, we have never received such a review or complaint.

Furthermore, you did mention about asking for room changing but were not satisfied. If you have booked the other room type, then we would have been able to reserve the other room for you ahead of time since we were fully booked for a long period of time. If we had had other room available, it would have been no difficult for us to change room for you, even without surcharge, which we have done many times before since we understand how important it is for you to enjoy your vacation.

For us, a business doer who never makes any attempt to cheat or lie to our value guests, the review of “terrible” is very much unfair and subjective. We wish that by posting our management response, our current and future guests would feel the same and will not be affected by prejudice and biased comments and will continue to support our establishment.

Regards,
Vivian Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have so much i want to say about this hotel re the 5 star staffing to the clean and cool rooms.

But lets start at the start, they picked us up at the Airport for $20 bucks which was good value and they upgraded us into their suite room. ( another upgrade we were on a roll)..

From the staff looking after us every day to the wonderful breakfast their is nothing you could ever not want here....

Yes there is a pool.....on the top of the roof...small but very handy and you can sunbath their as much as you like.

What one me over on the hotel .........we were leaving on a 6 am flight to KL and the hotel not only made sure we were woken they had a car organised for us and ......breakfast......(brown paper bad with water, muffins, toasted sandwich and fruit) WHO DOES this......!!

This is the only hotel i will ever use when i go back to Hanoi.....they have won my heart and my business.

I need to mention that as a gay couple they treated us with the greatest of respect as a couple...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jamie20121009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

For visiting the Old Quarter the location is as good as it gets. Looking around at other similar priced hotels in this area the Tirant stands up very well. The small rooftop pool is a bonus when escaping the heat and busy streets. The staff in the hotel are excellent and helpful. Bella on the tour desk especially so. We broke our stay with a trip and were allowed to leave our luggage which was of great assistance. On return we changed room to 501 which was an improvement from 210, more window and a larger room, both rooms had great showers. We did not make use of breakfast so can't comment. If the Old Quarter is your destination and the price suits your budget then stay here. Wi Fi dropped a few times but once notified staff made every effort to rectify the problem. Rooftop bar is independent from the hotel, you can't charge to the room and staff are a little short on experience of serving alcoholic drinks. Never the less this is an excellent hotel, well run by the managers and I recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: 501 was a good room. There is nightime street noise but that is because it is the Old Quarter there is no escaping it and it caused us no concern.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews