We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel in the middle of chaos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel in the middle of chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Tirant Hotel is situated just in the middle of the Old Town of Hanoi, near the lake. Once you walk out of it, you are in the middle of the maze of streets with their tumultous traffic and continuous horn blowing. The hotel itself, however, is very different: Staff is extremely freindly and helpful, nearly all of them speak good English, and the rooms are small, but nicely furnished and with well-functioning wifi. Some rooms do not have a window, which, however, does not make that much of a difference. The lounge on the roof top has a splendid view of Hanoi and offers really nice cocktails. The pool, however, is more of an over-dimensioned bath-tub. Breakfast is being served in the basement, yet, there is a window with natural light. The staff organized a car to Hai Phong and back for us, which cost us 155 US$ and was very comfortable; picking us up at Hai Phong harbour on our way back worked without any problems. The only negative aspect of this hotel consists in its thin walls - if you have a light sleep, you can be certain to wake up when the people in the neighbouring room leave at 6 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    455
    114
    24
    5
See reviews for
245
678
104
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for 2 main reasons. Firstly the location in the old quarter was perfect for our introduction to Hanoi as we have come to live here for 18 months. Secondly, as I browsed the hotel list it is one of the few that provides a pool and outdoor sitting area. The pool is small but right on the rooftop where it is almost always breezy and a respite from the sometimes oppressive heat at street level. Also at this level is a bar which also provides food, from snacks to full meals. Remember to take cash or credit card upstairs with you as there are no facilities to charge back to the rooms. Our room was described as Executive deluxe and was very spacious, just as well as we had 8 bags with us. Computer with free Wifi is provided in the room on the off chance you don't have your own laptop. Wifi is available free all over the hotel too, another bonus. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent providing fresh fruit and cereal, eggs cooked to order any way you wanted them, european style ham, salami, eggs, tomatoes, a selection of vietnamese dishes and the usual selection of bacon, sausages, hash browns and so on. This was a very busy hotel and fully booked each of the 4 nights we stayed there so sometimes there was a bit of a wait at reception if requiring help but the staff really do a great job. They even went shopping to buy quite a few appliance adaptor plugs for us and also made some business related calls on our behalf which was much appreciated. Why didn't I give this hotel a 5 star rating...the basin in our bathroom was cracked, the housemaids forgot to replenish the soap and shower gel and we often didn't have our room cleaned until quite late in the afternoon. Having said that I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and by the way the bellhops are delightful

Room Tip: Executive rooms face the street, are lighter with more windows and are not noisy as the windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Angela458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great, the staff is fantastic and helpful and it is in the heart of the old quarter in a fantastic location, minutes away from the lake, the night market and right in the chaos of the old quarter which is where you want to stay in Hanoi. The excellent short introduction to Hanoi whilst pointing out key attractions on the complimentary map over an iced cold ginger tea during check in is a great way to start your stay. Then you get taken to your room which is where things take a turn for the worst if you happen to be staying in room 603...The room was spotless and well decorated and appointed in line with the rest of the hotel, however it is rather small and it has only one stained glass window which (fortunately I suppose) doesn't open and looks into the hotel corridor. I've stayed in many hotels but this is the first time I've stayed somewhere with no visibility of the outside world. In the morning we had to get the lift 6 floors down to the lobby to see if its raining or not. We asked reception if we could change the room but they politely advised us that they were fully booked and could not change us. As far as i could tell a similar room doesnt appear to exist on oter floors (on the second floor the gym ocuppies tgis space) however its well worth checking this. I would love to rate this hotel higher and if I'd stayed in one of the other rooms which I jealously gazed upon in all their sun drenched brightness as I made my daily weather forecast trip to the lobby I'm sure I would have. However I stayed in 603 and I wont.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Karagiozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

We just recently received your rating of your stay with us.

We were very much perplexed to know that you find your stay to be "terrible", which is all due to the problem of “no window” you have with the room 603 while all other aspects of your stay were good according to your review.

First of all, the original booking you made with us is for Classic room (For example, on Expedia website, the room description for Classic Room is “… This room has no windows and the room/bed type depends on availability at check-in.”). Since we have clearly clarified all room features on all websites which contain online booking engine, we have firm proof that there is no hidden or cheated information.

The room 603 is exactly the Classic room type, the room you booked for. Moreover, we do have many guests who have resided in our classic rooms before (we have each of them located on all other floors, except for the 2nd floor where it turns into a gym and the 7th and 8th floor where we arrange them to be the Suites) and since they are well acknowledged of the room they booked for, we have never received such a review or complaint.

Furthermore, you did mention about asking for room changing but were not satisfied. If you have booked the other room type, then we would have been able to reserve the other room for you ahead of time since we were fully booked for a long period of time. If we had had other room available, it would have been no difficult for us to change room for you, even without surcharge, which we have done many times before since we understand how important it is for you to enjoy your vacation.

For us, a business doer who never makes any attempt to cheat or lie to our value guests, the review of “terrible” is very much unfair and subjective. We wish that by posting our management response, our current and future guests would feel the same and will not be affected by prejudice and biased comments and will continue to support our establishment.

Regards,
Vivian Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have so much i want to say about this hotel re the 5 star staffing to the clean and cool rooms.

But lets start at the start, they picked us up at the Airport for $20 bucks which was good value and they upgraded us into their suite room. ( another upgrade we were on a roll)..

From the staff looking after us every day to the wonderful breakfast their is nothing you could ever not want here....

Yes there is a pool.....on the top of the roof...small but very handy and you can sunbath their as much as you like.

What one me over on the hotel .........we were leaving on a 6 am flight to KL and the hotel not only made sure we were woken they had a car organised for us and ......breakfast......(brown paper bad with water, muffins, toasted sandwich and fruit) WHO DOES this......!!

This is the only hotel i will ever use when i go back to Hanoi.....they have won my heart and my business.

I need to mention that as a gay couple they treated us with the greatest of respect as a couple...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie20121009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

For visiting the Old Quarter the location is as good as it gets. Looking around at other similar priced hotels in this area the Tirant stands up very well. The small rooftop pool is a bonus when escaping the heat and busy streets. The staff in the hotel are excellent and helpful. Bella on the tour desk especially so. We broke our stay with a trip and were allowed to leave our luggage which was of great assistance. On return we changed room to 501 which was an improvement from 210, more window and a larger room, both rooms had great showers. We did not make use of breakfast so can't comment. If the Old Quarter is your destination and the price suits your budget then stay here. Wi Fi dropped a few times but once notified staff made every effort to rectify the problem. Rooftop bar is independent from the hotel, you can't charge to the room and staff are a little short on experience of serving alcoholic drinks. Never the less this is an excellent hotel, well run by the managers and I recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: 501 was a good room. There is nightime street noise but that is because it is the Old Quarter there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location with the old quater right outside the front door. On arrival we received a lovely welcome with fresh honey and lemon grass tea while reception checked us in. We were given a great introduction chat about the hotel and the surrounding area by a gentleman with extremely good English. We had 2 interconnecting rooms and the air conditioning worked really well...also self regulating which was great. The rooms had no windows but this meant they were very quiet...like a little cocoon in a busy city. The breakfast was a feast with fresh made eggs and omlettes to order and room service was cheap and really good when too tired to go out. The pool on the roof is quite small but it did the trick to cool off after a hot Hanoi day out. The cafe upstairs did a good coffee. I thoroughly recommend the Tirant Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank btc863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My son (10-year-old), friend and myself stayed in Tirant Hotel for 2,and 3 days later, again for 1 night. It was an excellent choice, maybe the best, if your looking for an affordable hotel on an A-location ( Old Quarter, 1 minute from Hoam Kiem lake) with a swimming pool. The room is clean, the bed is big and the shower is good. The breakfast is fine, fresh fruit, all sorts of eggs, sausages, bacon etc, bread and Vietnamese noodles. I only missed a good espresso, but you can find that just around the corner. The swimming pool is small, but big enough for me to cool off and my son to play. Relaxing at the rooftop pool with a cocktail after a hot day in the city, that's really a treat. But maybe the thing that makes this hotel stand out, is the service. Always friendly and ready to help: luggage storage, trip booking, taxi's, shoe cleaning ( after 2 days at Sapa), massage, restaurant tips: they helped us with everything. And everything turned out great. Therefore, we would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KlaarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#87 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Property: Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Address: 38 36, Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing