We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in the Old Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the Old Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed one night in a small pokey room on the 6th floor with a cement pillar in the centre of the room. Then went to Ha Long Bay and returned the next day determined not to stay in the same room for another night. Before we had even asked, we were given a much bigger and more comfortable room on the 4th floor. Staff very efficient and helpful and friendly. The lemongrass tea with honey every time you returned after a day out was always most welcome. Good variety for breakfast. As mentioned before by others, there is a lot of noise with construction but staff apologised right from the start. It goes from 6am to 6pm but I was assured it would be completed by December 2012. The location is excellent, right in the Old Quarter with all the atmospheric sights and sounds. Only a five minute walk to the Puppet Theatre and not far from the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment; we appreciate your opinion regarding our facility and service. We do have rooms with different characteristics. The room mentioned on the sixth floor, which has a balcony and is different from our other Executive rooms, was designed with technical and geomancy purpose which led to the pillar in the room. We do understand that some of our guests would prefer rooms with balcony while others prefer larger rooms with more space. That is why we present different rooms in the same room types for our guests so they can enjoy different rooms to find the one that fits their preference.

As your comment, our renovation is planned to be finished by the end of November; our facility will be completed with 63 rooms, a pool, two restaurants, one lounge and a gym. We would be glad to have another chance to welcome you to stay with us so that you can truly enjoy a leisure and convenient stay.

Yours sincerely,
Tirant Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    455
    114
    24
    5
See reviews for
245
678
104
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Tirant is in a great location if you want to be in the Old Quarter. Surrounded by heaps of bars, restaurants and the hustle and bustle of Old Quarter life. We were disappointed our room did not have a window as we'd asked for, but it was spacious with great facilities - a huge bed, computer with Internet access, and free wifi. We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Tirant. The staff provided exceptional service and made our first days in Vietnam a welcoming experience. From the polite, helpful and cheerful doormen, to the outstanding Mandy, Ken, Lisa and Sarah at reception. I was so impressed at their kindness and professionalism, especially their assistance to get our cellphones and iPad onto Vietnamese internet and cellphone systems. They gave great advice and recommendations for restaurant and taxi also. Even the laundary service gets a mention - without asking, they mended a damaged garment. On departure I left my wallet and glasses at reception ... Adam, the porter, delivered it to me by motorbike at the train station before my train left Ha Noi - now that's service. I would recommend the Tirant and would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Cindy B,

It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. It is our utmost reward. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our service, staff performance, facilities and central location. We will be sure to share it with our colleagues. It is a motivation for us to deliver even better and higher service quality.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit to Hanoi Tirant Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Tirant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I am really blown away by the service here. The hotel is very nice & occupies a great location on a relatively quiet street in the old quarter just 2 blocks from the lake. The rooms are lovely and they have a terrific breakfast. The only negatives I can think of are that there's some construction going on (only during the day) & the wifi goes in & out a bit (but less so than anywhere else we've stayed in a month in SE Asia). But it's really the service that sets this place apart. Every staff member is impeccably trained, professional & warm, & went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable & had a good time. Bella, who works the travel desk, made particularly special efforts to care for us every step of the way. Said construction, by the way, is s heckled to produce a rooftop pool, bar & restaurant with lake views that will surely make this among the best hotels in Hanoi. I will absolutely stay here again if I return to Hanoi & recommend it with enthusiasm!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Colomonica,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hanoi Tirant Hotel. It was a delight reading your feedback with regards to our hotel services, facilities and central location. We appreciate your good words on our staff performance, which will be passed on as an encouragement to our team, so we can confidently keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.

With regard to Wi-Fi network, sometimes there is network congestion at peak hours due to significant amount of data downloaded and uploaded. We have set up private networks for each of our floors and keep our server maintained weekly to improve smoother experience for all guests.

Our renovation work is expected to be finished by the end of November. By July, all heavy construction work has been completed and we are now in the process of furnishing renovated rooms. All noise impacts will be minimized as much as possible during our guests' stay.


Once again, thank you very much for choosing Tirant Hotel and we look forward to hosting you again in Hanoi.

Tirant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had two rooms for 4 nights. Hotel is in great location in Old Quarter, within easy walking distance of heaps of restaurants and bars and the Hoan Kiem lake. Received free room upgrades. Rooms are very well appointed; a computer with Internet access and free WiFi on each floor. Bed were king size+, firm but not too hard. In room safe, fridge, complimentary fruit on arrival. Not much cupboard space if you want to unpack your suitcases. Ensuites are very well appointed and of a very high standard. Had street front rooms, so a little noisy during the day (especially with renovations underway), but very quiet at night as the scooters leave the streets. Top floor bar is closed as it is being renovated - they have bought the hotel next door and are extending and (I believe) are adding a pool. Staff are of the highest quality - nothing is too hard for them and their attitude and manners set the standard that the rest of Vietnam should strive for. Money changing is quick and easy and the rate is only slightly below what you can get on the street. The breakfast buffet is extensive and fresh with a cook prepared to cook your special eggs. The price of the rooms were very reasonable. The hotel airport pickup (US$23 per car) and dropoff (US$20) service is only slightly dearer than a local taxi, but without the risk you take with local ripoffs. Used their overnight luggage store at no charge. Would gladly recommend the Tirant and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The lower floor, street front rooms (we experience 2nd and 3rd floors) are very good, so rest should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Steven H,

Thank you for reviewing Hanoi Tirant Hotel and for taking the time to express your experience in such detail. We are so pleased to read that you had time to enjoy our facilities and services.

I will pass on your kind words to my teams which will serve as an encouragement to all of them to keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.

We are finishing up our renovation and expecting to have 30 rooms, gym. rooftop swimming pool, lake view bar and 2 restaurants by beginning of December. We hope that Tirant Hotel will be a better place to stay providing more comfort for all travelers.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mandy Le
Customer Service Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Exceptional staff; excellent customer service, polite and great hospitality.
Place is beautifully decorated and very clean. Throughout our holiday in Vietnam we stayed in 3 star (Tirant Hotel), 4 star and 5 star hotels. Without a doubt Tirant hotel was a lot better than the 5 star hotel we stayed in.
On our second night Tirant upgraded us to an Executive Room.
We can't thank you enough for making our stay so memorable! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasha2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sasha2012_12,

Thank you for reviewing our property, Hanoi Tirant Hotel and for taking the time to express your experience in details. We are so pleased to read that you had time to enjoy our facilities and a room upgrade we offered. Your feedback is an encouragement for us to continuously strive delivering even better services. Our hotel team appreciate very much your good words.

Once again, thank you for choosing Hanoi Tirant Hotel as part of your journey and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mandy Le
Customer Service Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our stay with this hotel was a very good one..It was located in the old quarter and the Hoa Kiem lake was a walking distance. The price was moderate. Services were exceptional.

Breakfast was included -buffett --style. Wifi and a computer in each bedroom was a great plus.
There was a tour desk and one of the workers was named Bella. She worked so hard for us to see Halong Bay, on our last day in Hanoi. Our previous reservation earlier that week for an overnite trip to Halong Bay was cancelled due to the bad weather.
On one occasion, Bella was so nice enough to walk with us at night to show a good restaurant.

When we run into problems with the room computer, they sent a personel in a few minutes literally until the computer was fixed.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our families and friends.
Joe and Luz of USA

Room Tip: go for the top front room for a view of the Old Quarter of Hanoi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joedb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

It is such a delight to read your review. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our facilities, services & central location.

We also highly appreciate your comments as it helps let other travellers know about your experience at Hanoi Tirant Hoteli. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

Bella is definitely an asset to our team and this recognition will be shared with her and the team. Thank you for taking the time to recognize her.

Once again, thank you very much for staying at Tirant Hotel and look forwards to seeing you again.

Mandy Le
Customer Service Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

On our last leg ofma 3 week trip in Vietnam we decided to splurge a little. The Tirant hotel looked a little to flash for us when Mandy showed us the rooms but due to the discount for renovations going on and then also being able to barter a little we were able to get a luxury room for a great price. The renovations did not stickmtomthe 8am-6pm but this did not bother us too much as we were only in and out of the hotel durning these times. Mandy was amazing. Her English was great as she had done her degree in Sydney Australia which made it so much easier to communicate. She went out of her way by walking us to a mini mart and a chemistnasmwe could not find these. The hotel also hels our bags for us when we went to Halong bay for 2 days 1 night and remembered our names when we came back and put us back in the same room. Due to renovations the bar and resturant were shut and I think that is why the breakfast was only very average.
The locatin. Ofmthemhotel was also just what we were looking for. Right in the middle of,the old quarter and near may restaurants and bars.
The service overall was fantastic and when we return we will definitely be returning to the Tirant Hotel
Sean and Tiffany, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoitiranthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Tirant Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Tiffany,

Thank you for reviewing Hanoi Tirant Hotel and for taking the time to express your experience in such detail.

It was a real pleasure reading your positive a feedback. I appreciate your compliments for me. As a key person in Customer Service Department, I am proud of my hard work & efforts. This time, we feel that our mission on providing customer satisfaction is fulfilled and your review will be a great motivation for us to work harder every day.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Tirant Hotel and look forward to your return so we can serve you even better next time.

Best regards,
Mandy Le
Customer Service Lead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#87 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Property: Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Address: 38 36, Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing