We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay...”
Review of Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Ranked #73 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay...”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and I spent most of this past December at the Tirant Hotel and found that it was a very good choice of lodging. First of all the staff was wonderful, very warm and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet included a wide variety of the morning meals [cooked to order] we are used to at home in the US, and it also gave us a choice of traditional Vietnamese breakfast items. The hotel's location is perfect, close to Hoan Kiem Lake and right at the edge of the old quarter of the city. We were able to walk to most of the places we wanted to visit in the city, conveniently exploring from the hotel. The young manager of the hotel, daughter of the owners, has a new graduate degree from the US and seems determined that her guests will be comfortable, well and courteously attended to, and that a stay in her hotel will be remembered with pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert-Whit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    470
    117
    26
    5
See reviews for
265
715
105
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable (each with their own computer). We were a large group (15 in total) so saw many or the rooms, including the inter-connecting rooms which are fanatics for families. Tirant is in a great location, with lots of atmosphere and good restaurants in the surrounding streets and an easy walk to the lake, water puppets etc. The rooms are not well sound proofed, so noisy surrounding guests may cause you some problems. In addition, the windows half the rooms look directly out at other buildings so there isn't any natural light. However, the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts (which were included in the rate) were great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyOf4OnHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Tirant is a family run, independent, small hotel in the heart of Old Hanoi. Nice rooms, clean and not too noisy. The staff are lovely, very helpful and attentive. It is perfectly located for exploring the old city and has a great little roof top bar. Breakfast was excellent, fresh fare, Vietnamese and European style.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sicane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was the starting and end point of our 3 week Vietnam holiday in Nov-Dec 2011.
Location is ideal - right in the old city, a couple of minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake but in a quiet side street.
Initial 5 night stay was in a room at the back with a window up against another building. The king size bed made the room a bit cramped.
Final 2 night stay was at the front with a window with a view (much brighter) and a queen sized bed which made more space in the room.
Breakfast downstairs was probably the best we had in Vietnam. Staff were very efficient.
We booked this based on online recommendations and recommend further

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AussieTraveller20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Tirant Hotel is easily the best hotel ive stayed at in Vietnam. I stayed here with two friends and upon arrival we received a hot welcome drink to warm us up from the brisk winter weather outdoors. The room is spacious (big enough for three friends comfortable to have a bed each) with very clean, stylish new bathrooms. The breakfast on the ground floor was very good with a great range including banana pancakes, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs etc. The staff was so helpful as we left very early to get a flight from the airport, so they organised a taxi for us (12 USD) and even said they would organise a take-away breakfast for us as we left before the breakfast service started. We also got our clothes washed (which is next to impossible during Chinese New Year) and it came back within a day at a third of the price we expected. Definitely stay here - the price is good, the location is amazing (within 2 minutes of everything in the old quarter) and the rooms are perfect and the staff are great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Chosen this hotel for its closeness to Hoan Kiem Lake. we stayed here over the last Tet Holidays.
Was not disappointed for the Rooftop Lounge had a wonderful bird eye view of the Lake, had a first class viewing of the Firework display at zero hour of the Lunar New Year (Tet).

Vivian, the owner/ manager of the hotel gave a party at the lounge, with free flow of drinks and finger food.

We had a wonderful time, the clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff, great location and great view of lake and fireworks more than compensate for the hustle bustle and poor hygiene conditions of Gia Ngu street. (was told by the hotel that this street was formerly called Tirant street- a French name, thus the name of this hotel)
One other regret was - when we saw this hotel initially, it is actually much smaller than it appeared on the image of this site - it is actually half the size it appeared to be, the photographers may have stretched the photo before posting it here.

Room Tip: if you want a room with windows,ask for room numbers ending in 1 or 2,only the 2 front rooms have wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just when we thought the staff couldn't do enough for us, they did even more. If you want a completely hassle-free stay in an amazing and sometimes crazy city, you can't go past the Tirant. Right in the middle of the fascinating Old Quarter, the hotel offers comfort, convenience and a great place to relax in after a day of walking and avoiding motor-bikes! Our rooms (we had 2 stays) were very comfortable. A great feature is the computer in each room. As we didn't want to take our laptops with us, it was very good to have a computer in our room to check on what was happening at home. The breakfast was tasty and diverse and the cocktail lounge on the top floor served very reasonably priced cocktails and drinks. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#99 of 586 in Hanoi
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#67 of 586 in Hanoi
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#90 of 586 in Hanoi
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Tirant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Tirant Hotel

Property: Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Address: 38 36, Gia Ngu Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Tirant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirant Hotel is brand new boutique hotel with ideal location on 36-38 Gia Ngu Street - the heart of Hanoi, is a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (just 2 minutes), beautiful architecture of the Grand Cathedral, Opera House and a fascinating slice of centuries old life in Hanoi, the old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Tirant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing