We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #83 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The price of your room is good
The car for pick up to & from the airport is good
But some people don't understand english so it make difficulty conversation
More AC in the lobby
The breakfast is very good


  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Henny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Henny G,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

Firstly, we sincerely apologize that, though overall you have a pleasant stay with us, you are not full satisfied about a few draw-backs, such as the English level of some staff and the air-conditioning system. We would inform our management team about your comment and would work on timely solutions.

It is still a great delight to learn that you enjoy our other services, namely our room, airport pick-up as well as our breakfast buffet. Again, we really appreciate your review; it is a valuable assessment helping us strive toward perfecting our service.

Thanks for choosing Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at hotel de l'opera and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The staff were incredibly accommodating and professional, they assisted us booking our overnight cruise to ha long bay and were happy to change our original booking and swapped our nights to suit the cruise. There was nothing that was too much trouble. The location suited us perfectly and we were able to walk to most things we wanted to see. Would not hesitate in recommending hotel de l'opera!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Westy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Westy311,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to learn that you were really happy with our service, especially our staff. Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi always prioritizes customer satisfaction, so it was a great pleasure for us to receive such an enthusiastic compliment like yours. We would certainly pass your words to our management teams to motivate them to keep up the great work.

On behalf of the hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing us and recommending us. Hopefully we would get the chance to welcome you again at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent out first 2 nights here after 26 hours of travelling and a third night later after returning from Ha Long Bay. Staff excellent, friendly and spoke excellent English. Concierge very helpful and organised an excellent city tour. Arriving late we had room service food at the bar. My wife said it was the best food of our entire 2 week trip. Our room was of a very high standard. My only criticism was that on our return we were initially put in a room looking over the main street. This was very noisy but all credit to the hotel, when we complained they immediately moved us room facing the inner courtyard which is very quiet. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Quiet if room facing inner courtyard. Rooms overlooking main street very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Dr P C,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time writing us these kind words. We are glad to see you regard your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi as heavenly, and to learn that our service team from all departments has brought you great satisfaction: including our concierge, food and beverage, and especially our front office team.
At Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, our foremost priority is to bring a memorable and pleasant experience for our guests. Your comment is a valuable motivation and assessment tool that helps us achieve our goal. Please accept our most sincere gratitude for that, and for having chosen Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We do hope to welcome you again and to recreate another experience that is just as heavenly, or maybe even better for you and your family.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

After two and a half weeks travelling the length of Vietnam, the Hotel de l'Opera provided just the luxuary we needed to finish of our holiday perfectly! The rooms, service, pool area and dining options were excatly what you are looking for when booking this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Joanna C,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We would certainly pass your kind words to our service teams. Your happiness and satisfaction is the greatest recognisation and motivation for our team members.

Hope that you have a delightful trip in Vietnam. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

During our family vacation in Asia, we booked the Hotel de l'Opera for two nights. We arrived late in the middle of a downpour after a flight from Laos and were happy to see some comfort. While the request for a connecting bedroom was apparently lost in reservation wonderland, my ClubAccord card allowed us to get an upgrade to a Suite. The room was spacious, bed were perfect and the free bottle of red wine made us feel at home. The breakfast buffet is very rich serving all tastes from east to west. There are some downsides though: For a hotel of this class, the noise isolation of the windows could be improved as Hanoi traffic is fairly noisy; the pool is rather small and there are little/no seating opportunities if the terrace is inaccessible because of rain. Wifi is free up to 256kBit (more is premium), the management through a code that seems to change regularly could be improved. All in all we can easily recommend the hotel to family travellers.

Room Tip: Use your ClubAccord card if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear thkohler,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. First, we would like to offer our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We would definitely work on improving our window system to have better noise isolation for our guests. About the internet speed, it was a bit slow during your stay as our WiFi system was going through an upgrading process; again we are really sorry for the inconvenience it caused you.
We are also happy to learn that you enjoy staying in our Suite and our breakfast buffet, and that overall you have experienced a comfortable trip with us.

Thanks for choosing Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We do hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and because we thought it was more interesting than one of the standard 5 star chain hotels. It delivered on both of these.

The staff were by far the best aspect of this hotel, from the concierge who booked our table for supper and lent us his plug adaptor when we realised ours had been lost, to the woman on the front desk who tirelessly tried to resolve the issues which arose for us, the competency and warmth of the staff made our stay. Other positives are the location which is excellent, and the beds which were crazily comfortable! Breakfast was delicious, if a little pricey. Also the pool area was very pleasant.

However we did have 2 quite major issues with the hotel.
Firstly there was a function while we were there which took place in the central courtyard which our room looked over. I'm not sure if the windows are single glazed or if the event was extraordinarily loud, but there was karaoke and music playing for a few hours during which we literally couldn't even hold a conversation in our room because it was so noisy. We had to leave our room in the end, which was frustrating to say the least. The event did end by 8.30pm, but it meant the room was unusable for the whole evening. I have never experienced noise like this in a good hotel before and it was surprising they allowed it to happen.
Secondly our room was on the 6th floor, the floor above the smoking floor, and our ac system seemed to go through theirs because our room stank of smoke for a while which was pretty disgusting. Neither of us are smokers and suddenly having a room which smelt like a pub was gross. Again we left the room while the cleaning staff of the hotel resolved it, which was enormously inconvenient.

This hotel was not cheap at all, and although it had great potential to be a very comfortable place to stay, the fact we couldn't be in our room for about 3 hours of our 20 hour stay due to the noise, and the added issues with the smoking meant that we wouldn't stay here again or recommend that others stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Np3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Np3008,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We are glad that you enjoy the service our team delivered, as well as our bed, breakfast, and pool area.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience the event at our courtyard caused to you. The negligence of the third-party organizer did lead to a fault in term of noise control. Incidents like that are really rare at our hotel as we are usually very selective on deciding which events can take place at the courtyard.
We are also sorry that you experienced the unpleasant smoking smell in your room. We have informed the engineering team about the smoke issue you mentioned, and they would work on it and would try to improve our ventilation system in the near future.
Again, we really appreciate your kind comment on our service team. We would also work harder and improve all the points that fell short of your expectation for us. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back some days in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The good:
Very well located close to high end shops (LV Salvatore etc)

Linens make your bed very cozy, neat soft perfect, towels are almost brand new impeccable white.

Breakfast buffet very fresh, orange juice fresh squeezed. Good terrace (ground f) to enjoy.

Travel desk very diligent and reliable.

The bad:
Internet offered at your room is disastrous... Is included in your rate, they said, I rather pay it to have good service, not even the news it was able to download. (Our room was 604)

This is the main reason for only 3 points. Your bed at the door, yes literally. The room is designed to have the bathroom at the end of your room, so you just open the door and jump into the bed. We spent almost an hour trying to let the staff understand how tired we were, and that we needed a quite place to rest . Of course not at the door, by the way the doors for some reason are slapped the whole time, so imagine your bed at the very door side. They finally gave this room 604 that has at least one meter and a half from the door; still not enough way from noises, but the others were worse.

The rooms have funky design so up to you, for us the walls are very dark good for sleep; during the day very dark.

Staff friendly... not outstanding...

Room Tip: Rooms that have the bed as far as possible from the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcelineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Picky-BB,

Thanks for sparing your precious time sharing your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.
We sincerely apologize for the slow speed of the internet. We are actually trying to improve our internet, and the WiFi system is going through a maintenance period which causes a short-term slow-down of the service. We are sorry for any inconvenience it caused during your stay.
We appreciate your comment in regard of bed arrangement issue. We would take that into our serious consideration, and would work out a better solution in term of room planning.

Finally, we do want to thank you for your kind comment on our other services and location. We would strive to improve ourselves and resolve the issues you mentioned. Thanks for choosing Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 606 in Hanoi
2,397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#43 of 606 in Hanoi
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#77 of 606 in Hanoi
2,020 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 606 in Hanoi
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $113 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing