We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #83 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Myungduk C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shearny
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay At Hotel I'Opera .
We were on a Golfing trip and first time to Vietnam (group of 10 ) .
From the hotel staff to the amazing meals all were excellent .
With the Western and Vietnamese style breakfast everyone had a wide choice , and not disappointed by quality or quantity .
From the shower to the Extra super soft and comfy bed (great to return to after a long day at Golf ) we were amazed at it all .
We will definitely be staying here again ...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of Hanoi's newest hotels. Accor corporate philosophy gets a "bohemian" makeover which mostly works. Its not excactly "boutique" (how can a hotel this size be) but then its not run of the mill business either. Good sized well furnished rooms, high and wide beds, wifi, great bathrooms (except no bath, but then who needs one in Hanoi). Most rooms seemed to be around a central court-yard which ment no city views but then again no city noise either.

Our rate included breakfast which was very good, and really nice touch you could order a la carte AND help yourself from the buffet, plus as many capucinos as you like all included. Plus a free newspaper from you country of origin (GB, AU, FR, US, JP at least) and the Vietnam News.

Service was excellent, friendly and efficient.

Bar sells Absyinthe at about $100 a pop if your feeling lively!.

Whats not to like? Well. if you want "real" colonial-era character then pay up and go over the road to the Metropole (another Accor property but in a different league) as you wont find it here (the Metropole is outstanding). Closest competitor to this hotel is probably the (very) nearby Hilton Opera so compare prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear SingBob,

Thanks for your kind comments on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi as well as our service team. As a signature hotel of the MGallery brand, we do strive to create an unique experience and style that is different from other 5 star hotel in Hanoi. We are glad to learn that you enjoy our room, breakfast and other hotel facilities and services.

Again, thanks for sharing your experience. Your kind words would be a great encouragement to our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with the experience. The rooms are well appointed with a huge bed, plenty of room and a classy bathroom. Our only issue with the room was the air conditioner vents blowing air directly onto the bed. The fan speed needs a lower setting to prevent this. The pool was a welcome relief after time out in this hot and hectic city. Staff were competent and friendly. The hotel offers a currency exchange at an attractive rate but check the transaction carefully as there was a 'mistake' with one of ours which was immediately accepted & corrected when pointed out, so quickly in fact it made me think the staff member already knew about it. Overall we were well pleased with the hotel, would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, back from the road and had no noise issues at all. The air conditioner blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is in a great location that allows you to walk to most places (eg. Old quarter, Opera House). While the entrance and lobby is not impressive like the Metropole Hotel, the interior of the rooms are nice, with a great hotel hall that opens up to the sky.

Location wise it is really in the same neighbourhood as the Metropole Hotel. They are located a stone's throw from each other. Thus, you can stay cheaper here, and still walk to the Metropole for a great evening out at their restaurant or have a drink at their bar.

Breakfast is a good spread of local and western. Prices are however, at hotel rates and costs at least 3x of the prices on the little local joints in the old quarter (esp for the Vietnamese food).

Free wifi, which is great.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade and the rooms are huge and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancyancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was there 2 weeks back, staying 1 day each in different hotels trying out different hotel culture there. In my opinion, this hotel was remarkable. They have the best food in Hanoi, and I fell in love with their food. (oh btw, they have the best beef noodles!) At times, I would even travel back from other hotel to come to this hotel's restaurant for dinner! The Supervisor was very nice and VERY professional. Definitely a plus to this hotel.

Apart from the food, hotel is really clean, lovely design, and very comfortable. Definitely coming back to stay with this hotel after so many awful experience in other hotel.

Room Tip: You pay what you get. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo Nian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 600 in Hanoi
1,966 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#44 of 600 in Hanoi
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $109 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing