We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely decor and lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #72 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely decor and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Locations is great, just a short walk from the old town. Hotel looks nice from outside but it does not really do it justice Rooms are beautiful, we went for a suite and it was fab; bed was so so comfy and huge. Staff were very friendly when called upon.

The atrium/courtyard is a great place to have a drink and really shows the hotel at its best. Would highly recommend this hotel. Just a stroll away from the metropole which we visited for drinks and would defo stay in the Hotel de l'Opera again as better value for money and of equal high quality decor.

Read a lot about the noise on TA but we didn't hear a thing and slept soundly.

Highly recommend.

Jude

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    442
    113
    34
    12
See reviews for
196
600
74
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Experience - After a 30 minute sweltering walk from the other side of town, we welcome the cool interior of Hanoi De l'Opera. Checking in was a fast even when we came in an hour earlier than the check in time. Initially booked the Grand deluxe room, i requested to be upgraded to the Suit for a tub to soak in as Hanoi was really HOT. With a small additional charge they swiftly changed our room. The whole check-my-room-and-change-it took less than 15 minutes. And what we got was worth more than what we paid for. So it was worth it.

The Room - Upgraded to the suite, its more spacious (too big to know what to do with the extra space) than the deluxe room, has two TVs, a work desk, sofa, closet,minibar and what you would come to expect. The toilet is 1/4 of the room, beautiful tiled flooring,a cast iron bathtub and has a separate enclosed shower and bidet. The bed is the tallest i have ever seen, and so soft and comfy we never wanted to leave. Its a bit dark but just nice for a relaxed atmosphere. Only downside is the room is just by the street, and they have public announcement every morning and evening for half and hour we were there. Combined with the love for honking, it does get a bit noisy at times.

The Service - Excellent! Like mentioned before, check-in was literally a breeze. The front desk staff speaks good English and do try to accommodate to our request. The staff at the Cafe Lautrec are very attentive and react very well to our request, conveying our request for the ala-carte breakfast to our liking(Asian spicy taste). The staff at Bar La Fee Verte is also prompt and attentive, the evening instrumental music played is very tasteful.

The Good - Great room, food and service, worth every cent paid.

The Bad - The room too close to the street can get noisy at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor or one that face the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorMohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Very happy with this hotel found it very central and the staff were more than helpful. If you are concerned about the noise ask for a room facing the gorgeous courtyard.
The only issue I had was that the wifi kept dropping out but this aside we really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izzyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We only stayed at this hotel in Hanoi to do the Halong Bay cruise but we were very pleasantly surprised by the service provided and the quality of the rooms. We had breakfast provided and it was as good as anywhere I have stayed. We also had a dinner there and the meal was first class. I would recommend this hotel as great place to stay and good value for money. It was close to everywhere and very central. I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

On my first trip to Hanoi I was delighted by the friendliness and the superb service I got in the hotel and my wonderful vast corner room and bathroom with its varnished wooden floors and enormous bath that could become part of the room if you opened the curtain on one side. A great room for a couple but I was on my own travelling on business. However it was a most enjoyable place to stay. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating and offered me a late check-out with quibble or charge. Afternoon tea was particularly good value and the trademark cocktail definitely kickstarts your evening.

Room Tip: My corner room was fantastic however given the endless traffic noise and sounding horns that charact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Could not be a better choice of a hotel in Hanoi. The location is ideal, within steps of many of the finest restaurants in Hanoi and a short walk to the lake. Wonderfully helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet, with all the fresh orange juice one can drink (something not found in many other deluxe hotels in Vietnam). The room are very well appointed, although if one is short getting up to the bed might be a challenge. (Highest bed I ever recall seeing.) My only quibble is that the room lighting is a bit dim, especially if one has a room facing the interior closed courtyard (the majority of the rooms in the hotel). It would have been nice to have had at least one bright light for reading.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face a closed (roofed) interior courtyard. This makes for very quiet rooms. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked a Hanoi – Halong Bay promotion package by the hotel. This was a big disappointment as the package promoted and sold by the hotel is certainly not luxurious. We wrongly assumed the hotel would offer packages consistent with the hotel status and reputation but this was not the case.
The package was overpriced and included accommodation in rooms that were dirty and poorly maintained.

Room Tip: Book you accomodation separately from the cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Lucc
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi and Emmeraud Cruise of Halong Bay. Whilst we were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by the hotel, we were very sorry to hear that your cruise experience had not lived up to expectations. However, I would like to point out that Emmeraud and Hotel de l’Opera are entirely separate companies and that we merely teamed up in an effort to provide a one-stop booking facility as many visitors to Hanoi like to combine their stay in the city with a excursion to nearby Halong Bay. Even though we have no influence over quality and pricing which is entirely up to Emmeraud, I would like to assure you that the company enjoy an excellent reputation and are considered one of the finest cruise operators in the market. Following your review posted on our site, we immediately got in touch with them to discuss your concerns and any further comment on your experience will be taken care of by them.
In the meantime, thank you again for your kind words concerning your stay with us, which are much appreciated and sincere apologies for the disappointment caused by your cruise experience. I do hope that this will not deter you from returning to Hanoi and staying with us again in the future.
Sincerely
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#64 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing