We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at Hotel de l’Opera March 7-9 and I want to express my gratitude to the whole staff for the memorable experience they provided me with. As a Platinum member I was delighted to be upgraded to a fantastic Opera Grand Suite with a fabulous view from the bedroom, overlooking the Opera itself. The bed is top-notch, the design features a perfect combination of extravagance and ‘bon goût’ and the suite itself is extremely comfortable, providing ample spaces of various kinds, each of them of different ambiance for different usage.

I will definitely highly recommend Hotel de l’Opera to my friends and acquaintances and I look forward to having the pleasure to stay at that hotel again when I have a chance.

Marc H

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank maplenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear maplenight
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and your kind comments are very much appreciated.
It is always a special pleasure to look after our Accor Le Club Platinum member as we greatly appreciate your support and loyalty of our group.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel de l’Opera and to being of assistance to you again hopefully soon.
With kind regards
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    452
    115
    34
    12
See reviews for
200
616
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Superb location right in the centre of the Old Quarter, and the rooms are just so luxurious. Standard rooms are on the small side, and if you like natural light, make sure you request a room with an outside window - if they face onto the internal courtyard they are very dark. Rooms generally can be noisy, but that's the trade off for the location. The enormous beds almost need a footstool to get yourself up on them, but give a great night's sleep - and the pearled tiles in the bathroom are some of the prettiest things I have ever seen!

Room Tip: Take an outside room if you want natural light, it's noisier with the traffic, but feels less cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Julie M
Greetings from Hotel de l’Opera Hanoi and thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay with us.
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to take the opportunity for highlighting so many details, which pleased you in particular, such as our super-comfortable beds and our great mosaic tiles in the bathroom. By the way, did you realize that much of the inspiration behind Hotel de l’Opera derives from its close proximity to Hanoi’s famous opera house? Many theatrical components were incorporated in the design of the hotel, such as the many curtains, velvets and bathroom mirrors which are like dressing room mirrors in a theatre. Personally I always liked this idea very much and I was glad to read that it appealed to you too.
Thanks again; I do hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Hanoi and Hotel de l’Opera soon.
Kind regards
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Very central location enabling you to visit central Hanoi with ease. Fast check in (no welcome drink). Our room was very spacious and well equipped with all amenities one would expect for this standard of hotel. Although the bathroom is large, there was only a shower which suited us fine. The whole ambiance of the room and bathroom is 'glitzy'. Very unusual (primarily very high up from the ground) yet very comfortable beds. Good wi-fi connection. Ample storage space for clothes. We had dinner on our first evening in the hotel restaurant, the Lautrec, Good food and excellent service but somewhat pricey.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and constantly monitored and replenished but what was a plus point was the possibility to be able to order items (ie. porridge, English breakfast and more) from a separate menu all served very efficiently. Excellent service throughout.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed for our needs, the décor and facilities to my taste, and I would definitely stay here again. We had room 706, a suite on 7th floor which was bright and airy, though not quiet (I don't mind the sounds of a strange city). All but one of the staff were charming and helpful.
However our breakfast order was served incorrectly several times, and when I asked for decaf coffee by pointing to the menu (the waitress spoke no English), I still got caffeine.
When we checked out our drinks did not appear on the bill. I was told they were complementary - when I queried this the receptionist telephoned for confirmation and then assured me it was so. I was therefore surprised to be telephoned in my room by a very brusque lady telling me I had not paid for my drinks and I must come down & do so immediately. I paid up for a quiet life and because it was not a lot of money, but this is very poor customer service.
my advice to the hotel - get rid of the grumpy receptionist (wish I had taken her name), and ensure that your waiting staff are familiar with the menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really impressed by the staff at this hotel, all of whom have been very very duly and helpful. The rooms are extremely well appointed with all the amenities one would expect and the beds are truly wonderful with deep pillow tips and supportive mattresses as well as a pillow menu.
Breakfast is a veritable feast with something for every taste.
Rooms are all facing an internal atrium so the nose of the city is excluded, however this does mean that you don't get an idea of the weather outside and it can be a little echoey.
A great location with easy access to the important parts of a tourist visit to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms may suffer less from echo in the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

One of the best hotels during our trip in Vietnam. Good service, good location opposite the opera house. The breakfast is amazing. There is a small buffet with fresh french style bread etc. and there is a also a menu you can choose from.
The beds are very comfortable and the room was really quiet. The shower is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Amazing. Hotel was beautiful. Breakfast was amazing. Staff was great. We stayed here twice. On the second stay we got an upgraded room. Both rooms were fit for a king. Pillow top mattress, shower and claw footed tub, fresh fruit in room. Rooms are very contemporary. We had a very early flight and they prepared our breakfast to go. One of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HamptonPDX123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing