We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Opera House - good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #83 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ha Noi hotels can be tricky. You have the grand old Metropole and then there are only few other locales up to international stadards. As part of the french Sofitel chain Hotel de l'Opera ensures quality at reasonable price. The location next to Metropole Hotel and the Opera House if fairly good. The optimal location would be on the northern shore of Hoan Kiem lake but there are no proper hotels in this area. The theatrical design is well executed - not too bling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear rantati7,

Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating, it's always a pleasure to receive such great feedback. I'm glad to hear that you like the decor, the location and the hotel overall, as a member of the MGallery collection of Accor, our aim is to create a memorable experiences for the guests which in this case, I believe that we have succeeded.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to your new found holiday home - Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi when next you visit.

Sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived after midnight but were greeted graciously and efficiently. Fabulously comfortable bed and the breakfast that was included was either a buffet or table side ordering of western and Vietnamese items. We choice a courtyard table by the reflecting pond to accommodate our party of 6. Excellent service, great food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Suzanne N,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, Our team always love to see 5 out of 5 ratings!
I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our team, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We hope you have found a new holiday home to return to and we look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel room is spacious with gorgous decor, comfortable bed and quirky bathroom.
We stayed between 20-24th December so it was quiet and just perfect.
The decorations at the Green Fairy Bar was spectacular (it was where my fiancé proposed to me!) Pack a warm jumper at this time of year so you can enjoy drinks near the water feature of the bar.
We didn't have the food at the restaurant as we preferred to go out in the city.
Location wise - ideal as it was near the Opera house and it was quieter. We liked this as we enjoyed going for walks to the town during the day.
Please note that as it is colder at the time of the year, we thought the swimming pool would be a bit warmer but it did not matter as we enjoyed being on the balcony and relaxing with a book.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear AdelaideRyan,

Many thanks for your review- we are deighted we have created an environment you clearly enjoyed! Our teams work hard to look after our guests in the memorable style of the hotel - looking after you was a pleasure and congratulations to the happy couple, we're delighted to be a part of your wonderful journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, we'll have the honeymoon set-up ready for you ;)

Sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel de L'Opera has to be one of the most ridiculously over designed places I have ever had the displeasure to stay in. The designers have evidently little first-hand experience of any of the disciplines relating to ergonomics! My first thoughts were 'my goodness it's a tart's handbag', it is camp on steroids. The rooms are not designed to live in, they are designed to look at! The furniture inadequate for more than one person unless you use the over-sumptuous bed as a chair. This may well suit some with an over-active artistic bent but not someone that values comfort and practicalities over fluff and nonsense, form over function. The double bedroom proper is separated by a curtain from the bathroom, this is not clever as the ablutions of one occupant naturally disturbs the other! Lighting, again, quite naturally, shines through light material easier than a wall. This room was, as most, overlooking the atrium which hosts the many activities and functions of a working hotel; this means noise, and to make matters worse, music or rather Muzak, is pumped out at disturbing volume ricocheting from wall to wall. This kept me awake at night and woke me in the morning after a restive night, this, even considering I was using earplugs! The constant drone seeping through the very fabric of the room and through the pillow. I complained at reception and was told, "what music". My wife later complained and we were "upgraded" to a room with upgraded outside noise with a female voice over a loudspeaker interspersed by loud music and other assorted street noise. The receptionist either had a very cruel sense of humour or was entirely deaf. Either way it was no favour. Why you would shift guests rather than turn the music down is a mystery to me. There was, however, extra seating in this room but you wouldn't want to utilise it for long. Over the longer term this hotel would make me suicidal. It is with interest I await the public relations amelioration from the management.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanuman-Haa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Hanuman-Haa,

You are awaiting the public relations amelioration from the hotel’s management? What can I say? You did not like the hotel based on your personal taste and preferences, but I am surprised you chose to book us in the first place: images of the hotel are widely available and only a mouse-click away. Hotel de l’Opera, like many other boutique style properties of its kind, was uniquely designed to appeal to travellers seeking experiences away from the ordinary. I fully agree with you that the chosen style for this property may not be to everyone’s liking, but surely it is your own responsibility to carry out sufficient research into the hotel of your choice to ensure it meets your requirements? Whilst I appreciate that this is your personal opinion of our property, lucky for us, the majority of our guests, including a substantial number of repeat guests, hold an opinion of this hotel and its style, which stands in stark contrast to yours’.
And even though I do not believe that I am in a position to apologise for our inability to meet your expectations with regard to interior design, I am very sorry indeed for the noise disturbance you experienced: December was an extremely busy month with not only the hotel running at full capacity every day, but also many year-end related activities taking place in and around the hotel. As you know, Hanoi is an extremely vibrant city and excessive noise from a great variety of sources is an unavoidable aspect of life here. Without a doubt an aspect of life here which takes a little getting used to, but on the other hand clearly something that contributes to the unique character of this city.

I am sorry to hear the background music played in our courtyard disturbed you in your room: the volume is normally kept deliberately low at all times. As no other guests have remarked on this situation before (except on occasions when we had a special event taking place there), I can only imagine that perhaps during the night in question it had been turned up by accident. Please rest assured that your comments have been relayed to our Bar staff to ensure that more care is take to ensure the volume is carefully controlled and adjusted at all times.

Sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was disappointing. I was hoping this would be a cheaper alternative to the Metropole across the street and the older Hilton nearby but it was a let down. The air conditioning wasn't cold so I asked for the engineer to come up. He tinkled and then said it would get colder. But after that it was ver weak - just warm air. In Hanoi even in winter you still need ac especially since many rooms face into an internal courtyard there is no fresh air.
The room décor is trendy modern with polished dark floors, red chairs and gold mosaic bathrooms. Big beds with duvets that were too heavy for the weather. The lighting is too dim. With all the lights on it wasn't well lit.
Buffet breakfast was okay but the buffet setting was a bit cramped.
In the end the fancy décor means nothing if you don't have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear phdtravel,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MarkazJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel de L'Opera, Hanoi for New Year as part of our two weeks trip in Vietnam. We booked four nights and WOW!
Thank you to Mr. Bodo Klingenberg, the GM and team for the warm welcome and looked after us so well.
The room and bathroom were stunning. The hotel was immaculate and the restaurant and bar well worth a visit.
We had a wonderful time and will stay again in near future. We would highly recommend this place for sure!
Thank you again and all the best in 2014.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank J0ed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de lOpera H, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear J0ed1,

Wow! Many thanks for the 5 out of 5 rating, it sure did make my day. Our aim is to give you a memorable escape experience away for the madness of everyday life - I am delighted to hear we succeeded in cocooning you away for your time with us.

It would be wonderful if we could welcome you again in the future for an even better stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, your new found home away from home.

Sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 600 in Hanoi
2,303 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#74 of 600 in Hanoi
1,933 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 600 in Hanoi
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $139 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing