We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel with super friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #74 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel with super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a start for our trip through vietnam, this boutique hotel is really very nice with super friendly staff. We booked upfront a quiet room and got one on the first floor, courtyard side, indeed very quiet. The room itself had a 'high' bed, but with a very good matrass, and some funky furniture. Excellent breakfast with good choice.

The hotel has a very good location close to some major attractions and the old quarter, only the pool could use a revamp to make it look a bit more attractive...

We had on our arrival a 'welcome' dinner organized for the two of us (by our tour operator) in the press club, a 'prestigious' restaurant nearby (200m), we asked to sit outside on their terrace upstairs, nice, but seen that there were only a few tables, it missed some atmosphere, food was good, wine very expensive ( as in most places in vietnam). Our second night we had dinner in an italian restaurant ' meditteraneo' near the old quarter, excellent service and excellent food.

We visted the old quarter and the night market, same stuff in most stores, but better prices then on similar night markets in HK, KL and BKK. We also did a bicycle trip near Hanoi to visit a temple and some local villages, not bad but temple not really coming close to what we saw in neighbouring countries. For a drink in Hanoi, you can go have a walk around the nearby small lake, always a place to find with a nice terrace.

Anyway, we would highly recommend this hotel if you like (smaller) boutique hotels with great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear yvakat,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on tripadvisor.com

I am very happy to know that Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi has made an enjoyable experience part of your visit to Hanoi. It's my great pleasure to hear that you call our property as 'nice boutique hotel with super friendly staff'.

yvakat, we do hope that we will have the honour to welcome you back when you have another occasion to visit Hanoi

Thank you and with kind regards,

Until time permits

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    441
    113
    34
    12
See reviews for
196
598
74
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth Town
Level Contributor
330 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our 5 night visit t Hanoi was made even more enjoyable by staying at the Hote de L'Opera. We really liked this hotel and rated it a 5 even though there weer a couple of minor issues. We liked the funy nature of the rooms. The colour and set up is different to many cookie cutter rooms we have been in. The coloring is different but not over the top. The bed although higher than the norm is fantastic to sleep in. The mattress is comfortable and the pillows divine. The bathroom also is functioanl but quaint. Toilet is bit like being in the shower? Our courtyard room on teh 8th floor was quiet with none of the noise issues other speak of. We erally liked the total blackout curtain.
The pool was an appreciated extra when we had finished aday of walking or touring! Water is not overly warm though - temperatures only 20 -21 degrees in Hanoi at this time We also really took full use of the happy 2 hours at the bar. If you select well some of the cocktails are excellent value. I.e the French Martini at 40000 is excellent value!
We had several meals at the restaurants. We hadan advantage plus card s at 50 % off it makes the cost good value. Possibly the best, surprisingly was the BBQ Lunch Buffet. The pork was very tasty, the oysters in cheese sauce very good. Overall though the meals provided were hit and miss. Some dishes first rate others barely ok. the wait staff though are all very good as were all staff that we dealt with.
The location is excellent. Lovely part of Hanoi and only a short to medium walk or taxi ride to many of the sites worth seeing.
A couple of minor issues. The shower is quiet different. we had to turn the faucet all of the way to the right to get a warm shower, water never got to be hot. The other annoyance is the tv channels are very limited. Yes there is a full range of international channels, but no Movie channels! no HBO! no AXN was frustrating. The rooms are a little small - the bed takes up most of the room.
Overall though we really like the hotel and definitely will return when next in Hanoi.

Room Tip: If you need a quieter room get a room on an upper floor on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear dbfun48,

Thank you for your detailed comment on Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on the site.

I am so glad to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We also highly appreciate your comment on how we can improve the quality of service. On a separate note with regards to the TV channel, we will technically check the system as we have a long list of nearly 50 international channels including HBO Asia, Start Movie...

dbfun48, thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming back when you have a chance to revisit Hanoi

Until occasion permits

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The l'opera hotel is a nice and comfortable hotel with a super great breakfast offering (they really have everything could could wish to have for breakfast: Noodle soup, fried rice, a wide variety of fresh fruits, veggies, bred, jam, fresh juices etc.). I was really impressed by this.The rooms are nice and clean, but not exactly my taste (huge beds, a lot of purple color). It was also not very quiet during the night as we had a room to the street. The staff was friendly, except the person who was at the reception in the morning when we left (very early). He seems to be be kind of asleep and was not helpful and unfriendly. He even refused to take our greeting cards to send via the hotel post. This was kind of confusing for us as we did not expect this in this high price hotel. What a pity and slightly bad impression at the end.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMU1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear SMU1980,

Thank you for taking time to write about us on tripadvisor.com

I am however sorry that you haven't got good impression at the end of the journey while the start was nice with impressive breakfast and friendly staff.

Your candid comment is highly appreciated. Your response will help us to check up the level of service provided to our guests and then make improvement.

At MGallery, we strive hard to meet the guests' satisfaction and your review is always valuable to all of us so that we can continuously upgrade the quality of services.

Thanks again and allow us to have another opprtunity to welcome you back

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights over 2 separate visits: 2 nights each in rooms 201 and 402.

Positives: Funky design of rooms, blend of modern, French colonial and traditional Vietnamese design cues. Big rooms, even the basic "deluxe" rooms. Great breakfast. Very helpful, polite and friendly staff. Good location in French quarter near Hoan Kiem lake.

Negatives: Funky design may not be to everyone's tastes - mosaic red and gold bathroom tiles and gilt silver frame for the TV. Rooms overlooking central courtyard can she affected by noise from the cafe between 6:30am and 10pm (but still nice and quiet at night).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lurch0001,

Thank you for taking time to write about us on tripadvisor.com

It's always a great pleasure to receive your positive feedback with regards to the 'funky room with blend of mordern, great breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff and good location.

Also we highly appreciate your candid comment especially referring to the noise in the courtyard.

Lurch0001, thank you again for your kind note and we do hope to welcome you back upon your next visit to Hanoi.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We are just back for a second stay at this hotel broken by a cruise on Ha Long Bay. This time we are in a larger room on a higher floor, and our bed is not on the platform others have written about, and that we had last time.
The only fault with the room is that the bedside reading lights are not very functional, so you can't read on the bed and their is only 1 comfy chair under a reading lamp.
We also had an issue last time where my bedside lamp had obviously had repairs carried out with electrical tape to the cord. On night 2 I moved the cord and the light went out and I could not get it to come back on. About 15minutes later I noticed a burning smell and put my hand on the lamp's control cord to find it was hot and the plastic was melting. My husband unplugged it and wrapped a note around the cord warning for it nit to be turned back on. As we were checking out early we just let them know what had happened the next morning. They were most apologetic. Really this was a small issue.
Breakfast is excellent with lots of continental choices on a buffet, 6 different cereals, dried and fresh fruit, nuts, yoghurt, butcher muesli, 4 types bread,jams,cold cuts and all the asian options as well. Then add to that your ala carte cooked options. No way you'd leave here hungry!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear JoJoSydney_Australia,

Thank you for your recent reponse on tripadvisor.com

I am happy to know that you had nice experience while staying with us, and especially with your comment of excellent breakfast.

On a separate note, I am so sorry for the case of the lamp and we will have an internal check-up for this kind of equipment.

Thank you again and we would welcome you back when time permits

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is well managed and staffed - friendly and helpful front desk and manager. Breakfast is great - part buffet and part a la cart. Swimming pool is small but covered and warm - good for kids. Walking distance to just about everything - great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor is good - they have small balconies to get views of the Opera House and street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukott21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of old quarter area. You can easily walk around to many interesting place ie Opera House, St Joseph Cathedral.
The hotel is in a good size and nice-fancy decor even the building have french style but the room is very modern. The funny bed which is very high but comfortable.
The con is staff quite lack of English knowledge especially concierge. Try your best to get tourist info somewhere but them. Reception not so friendly but it is okay.
Overall is very good, breakfast also nice. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiainlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#91 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing