We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel de l'Opera, Hanoi, Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #79 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I loved this hotel The bed was the size of my bedroom at home. If you are shorter than my 6 ft, you may need a pogo stick to get in!! The bathrobes would be worth tossing everything out of my suitcase to make room for......of course, I mean after purchasing!!! Right near the opera house and the lovely lake and its pagodas. I did a lot of souvenir shopping by getting lost in the maze of many-shops streets. Those small shops' owners were so friendly and the prices so low I didn't have the heart to bargain seriously. My tip? Wake up early and take a cyclecab ride around the nearby lake. There is almost no traffic at 5:30-6:00 am. The lake is a park, too. Tae Chi groups and solo joggers, beautiful flowers, all a serene backdrop to the ride. The cyclecab (my name) is a human-peddled bicycle with a spacious passenger seat over the front wheel; the handlebars are the back of the seat.
The hotel's staff is marvelous and helpful; the buffet almost excessive; a quiet and luxurious haven in a capital of motor bike madness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Setterington 6,

Thank you for your great review on trip advisor upon your recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

It is so happy to know that you had an enjoyable and peaceful time in Hanoi, especially during th time of Tet holidays. It's always a great pleasure to know that our colleagues had offered great service.

Setterington6, thank you again to your gracious comment and we all look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Hanoi.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

A Great Hotel in Hanoi. We stayed here for three nights from the 28th January 2013. From the time we alighted from our taxi and were greeted by the hotel staff we knew we were in for a great stay. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the opera house. It was so spacious and quiet, the bed was the best we have ever slept in. The room ambiance was warm and the amenities were modern and comfortable. The free standing bath was so relaxing after a day of exploring. The heated indoor pool has a ceiling mirror which was magic at night. The La Fee Verte bar had an amazing cocktail list and the absinthe fountain added that cool french touch. The breakfast at Cafe Lautrec was a good variety of Western and Vietnamese cuisine complete with a bowl of Pho. Our concierge "The" was so helpful in arranging our tours to Ha Long Bay, Ninh Binh and Hoi An. The hotel's location was so convienent to Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter and is surrounded by lot's of local eateries and coffee shops. We will definitely return to the Hotel de l'Opera.

Room Tip: Request a "Opera House" view room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear John F,

Thank you for taking time to write about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.

It's delighted to receive such a positive feedback and I am so happy to hear your gracious comments toward the room, the hotel's location, the amenities, the conceirge and the services at La Fee Verte bar and Cafe Lautrec restaurants.

John F, thank you again and it is our pleasure to welcome you upon your return to Hanoi

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel. I stayed here after staying at the Metropole on an earlier visit to Hanoi and whilst not having the same History or grace found it to be more practical. An excellent hotel for the business traveller, I found the Internet and wifi to be the best so far in Vietnam. A modern feel, super rooms and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear ctew 2,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience after your stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

I am so happy to hear that the service offered is up to your expectation and it's great to know that you think our hotel is a great place for business travellers, especially with regards to the excellent wifi internet, the modern touch of the rooms and the comfortable beds.

Thank you again and I would welcome you back upon your next visit to Hanoi

Until the occassion permits.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel to stay when in Hanoi. Its a very modern and stylish hotel with the service to match! Fantastic location within good walking distance to wherever we needed to go. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a better room (a suite I think) which was a lovely surprise. The room was spacious and equipped with everything that you could possibly need, they truly think of everything at this hotel! The bathroom had a gorgeous looking bath, separate shower and toilet and a seating area in front of the mirror (perfect for the ladies!) The room had one of those really high beds and it was extremely comfortable with amazing pillows too. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of both Asian and Western choices. There was one function in the hotel whilst we stayed there, but the noise was not a concern as the function finished up at a very respectable time. The service at this hotel is excellent. Staff are extremely helpful with everything. The bar downstairs had an awesome selection of cocktails to try. Overall we were really really impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loz20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear loz20131,

Thank you for your generous review after your recent stay at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

I am so glad to know that you found the location, the ambiance, the room, the breakfast and especially our service provided by our staff are at your satisfaction.

As we strive hard to exceed guests' satisfaction, your review is valuable and serves as an encouragement to all of us at the hotel.

Loz20131, once again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful new hotel in Hanoi, perfectly located nearby the opera and the lake. Only 15min from the lively old quarter.
The decoration of the rooms is very special, a bit funky but you will love it. The beds are so comfortable, very big, same for the pillows, the bathroom is very well equipped, and Wifi is fast.
If you can afford a suite, just do it !
Breakfast is really great, large choice of western and Vietnamese food. The restaurant’s room is very impressive and you will perfectly relax while having your meal.
The indoor swimming pool with its outside sundeck gives you a beautiful overview of the opera house. Really a must try !
The only little drawback could be the impersonal welcome from the reception staff, all the rest of the staff of the hotel is really friendly and lead by such a kind and professional French manager.
You should definitely have to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitt1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear pitt1912,

Thank you for your recent review toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that the hotel's location, decoration, room, pool and the wifi are at your satisfaction. And especially I am happy that you like our various choice of Western and Vietnamese food at the restaurant. I will personally pass your comments to our Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage team whom I think they deserve it.

Thank you again for your kind notes and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi.

With kind regards and until the time permits.

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I guess we have to start by confirming that the beds were rather unique but very comfortable. Service was excellent and despite Hanoi being a traffic dominated city, the fact that the rooms faced into the central atrium meant that street noise did not impact on the bedroom. Breakfast buffet excellent but other F and B outlets only good. Problem could be caused with noise from functions held in the atrium but these finished early in the evening so were not too much of a problem, although Muzak was switched on quite loudly for breakfast early each morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear theoliversmotril,

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi subsequent to your recent stay with us.

Theoliversmotril, as we strive hard to exceed guests' expectation, then your postive feedback is really important to us. And I am delighted to know that you found our bed 'unique' and comfortable; and the service and offering of the breakfast as well.

In a seperate note, we took note on your comments on the music during breakfast and appropriate action will be action to provide the best ambiance at the restaurant.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back when you have reason to re-visit Hanoi.

Kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - modern, chic hotel in a great (for us) location. Rooms were big, great bed and pillows. All staff very friendly and helpful. Shower only - no bath - not that it bothered us ! Room was a bit noisy, we were on the first floor facing the courtyard. As other reviewers have written, the noise from the fountains and courtyard bar was a bit of a nuisance. Also, the meeting rooms seemed to be on our floor and there was noise from trolleys wheeling food and drink for the business clientelle.
Buffet breakfast was good. Downtown Hanoi was only a few minutes walk. Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and will stay there again (but either take ear plugs or spend time getting a quieter room !)

Room Tip: Probably avoid the first floor ....!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stu1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear stu1169,

Thank you for taking time to write about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi on tripadvisor.

It's our pleasure to receive your positive feedback with regards to the hotel's location, the great bed and friendly staff, especially our Breakfast Buffet.

I am however sorry to hear that you have encountered noise issue. And please kindly rest assured that we will find the best solution to make it improved.

Once again, thank you for your note and we would welcome you back until the time permits.

With kind regards,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 597 in Hanoi
1,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 597 in Hanoi
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 597 in Hanoi
1,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 597 in Hanoi
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $118 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing