We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location... Hip rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location... Hip rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location in Hanoi... Short walk to old quarter. Great rooms.... Very hip/boutique feel. Bed was great! Staff very nice... On our last morning we had a very early breakfast as we had an early start to Halong Bay.... Our eggs took a very long time to come!!! not really helping our early start.
Overall - great place to stay in Hanoi... With very comfy boutique rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear mollyjetset ,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am pleased to know that you like our hotel with regards to the rooms, nicestaffs and its boutique feel.

I am however sorry to know that the breakfast did not meet your expectation. May I express my sincerest apologies for the case.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    452
    115
    34
    12
See reviews for
200
616
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
switzerland & czech republic
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The first impression arriving at the hotel was disappointing. The entrance is like in an office house, so we had to ask twice if it was the right address. Entering the lobbby all is quite else. The personnel is helpful but
never intrusive. The rooms are spacious and well equiped with expensive gadgets and l'Occcitane products. The internet connection by wifi and
LAN cable was reliable. The bath is beautiful and the best of the room which is otherwise a little bit dark. The hotel has an indoor pool and a terrace for relaxing. The breakfast was very good with some French touch. The price for it with nearly $ 30 p.p. incl. all taxes and service is ciearly for Vietnam too much.

This central situated hotel can be recommended and you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear elcoco1,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staffs as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
316 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed at the M Gallery Hotel de l'Opera for a full week for business and found it to be just okay.

What it has going for it is location, location, location. It is around the block from the famous and beautiful Sofitel Metropole, in the opposite direction there are some fine upscale restaurants including Jacksons Steakhouse. The mains street the hotel opens on to has a number o art galleries and a '7eleven' style store across the road. A veyr short walk up this street is the impressive Opera House at one end and a stroll down the other end of this street is the old quarter.

Things that weren't so good. The hotel is built with a centre void - so it means most rooms face straight into other hotel rooms. The void has a dining/club area at ground floor - it is very noisy.

The service staff are eager to assist but English is very challenging particularly when compared ot other similar hotel staff. Housekeeping rarely respect the do not disturb sign. The food outlet on the ground floor serves a limited menu and for breakfast buffet - it was not unusual to find some items not replenished. The lobby bar - advertised heavily as an 'Absinthe' bar was an immense disappointment as on this trip and on a previous one earlier int he year - on both occassions it was out of stock of... absinthe. Also airconditioning very very poor in this public spaces despite the rooms being ok.

Strangely - in the local tour guides the hotel is listed as having a spa - however it doesn't exist and I was advised it was opened during the hotels launch briefly and has been closed ever since.

I'd have given this a 3 star but allowing for the non-existent spa and the always out of stock absinthe - it's a 2 star.
I'd recommend this hotel for a quick fly in and fly out business hotel but for couples and leisure travels who want a veyr special experience - the l'Opera needs more work, go with the Metropole.

Room Tip: high floors, away from lift lobby, request non-smoking if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I booked this hotel for my friends going to Vietnam to attend my wedding. I secure 2 booking with my credit card and both time have problem. For the first group of friend, the hotel double charge on my credit card. They did email me to alert the mistake and said the refund was made imdiatly. I was waiting for one week to check my credit card the refund did not arrive. In the mean time, the credit card company charge me for overlimit spending caused by the hotel mistake! I email the hotel 2 times one week later to ask about the refund and no one reply. I called a few times and they said they will check again with their bank for the refund and let me know...At the end, i got it back after over 3 weeks. It's very hassle and waste of time for me. But not yet finished.
After one month, they contacted me to tell that their staff forget to charge my credit card the full amount for another couple of friend. Somehow they charged only 2/3 of the full amount but on the credit card authorisation form, i did allow this hotel to charge the full amount for the room. Another waster of time for me to go back and check all my credit card statement to verify it for them then allow them to charge the rest.
But i heart from my friend that the room and service there are good so far. They seem happy about their stay. Only the payment staff dont know how to do their job apparently.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear lthg,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the payment issue you have faced.

At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurence.

We appreciate your sharing the concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in not a far distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is located close to the Opera House and a short walk to the lake and old quarter of Hanoi. It has been beautifully restored into a hotel with many old and some very modern French characteristics. I stayed in a suite room - which was two rooms and so had ample space to work and have meetings in the second room. Unfortunately these rooms are on the outside and so come with all the traffic noise that Hanoi has to offer...why do motor bikes have to blow their horn at 3 am??? There are superior rooms that face into the hotel courtyard which would be a better option for my next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysTravellingJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear AlwaysTravellingJuli,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Location was nice. The hotel is not in the middle of the old quarter (so not in the middle of craziness) but close enough to walk. Service was helpful and rooms were nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW-relaxed-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear JW-relaxed-traveller,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staffs as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice during our trip to Vietnam and were lucky to stay in a suite room each time. Both rooms were designed differently but we extremely well equipped and comfortable. The hotel itself is in a great location to explore Hanoi. Our problem with it was the food and drink both in quality and service. We arrived at 10:45pm after a delayed flight, tired and hungry only to be told that the restaurant and room service stops at 10:30pm and the only thing they could offer was a club sandwich. My husband does not eat meat and asked if they could make one with just the egg and veg. We were told that this was impossible. Not deterred, I ordered a sandwich and we sat in the bar area and waited whilst I observed a chap sat at the bar take a loaf of sliced bread off somewhere and came back with two plates. One plate had a single round of sandwiches which he just left on the bar whilst he continued to the end of the bar with the other plate stacked high with several rounds of sandwiches in which is proceeded to munch his way through. My solitary sandwich sat on the bar for 10 minutes until the bar tender re-appeared. This continued to be the theme on both our stays, mediocre food in the breakfast room combined with extremely slow service in the bar. Shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Abs64,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am sorry that your experience at our restaurant/bar did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing