We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Ranked #86 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is located close to the Opera House and a short walk to the lake and old quarter of Hanoi. It has been beautifully restored into a hotel with many old and some very modern French characteristics. I stayed in a suite room - which was two rooms and so had ample space to work and have meetings in the second room. Unfortunately these rooms are on the outside and so come with all the traffic noise that Hanoi has to offer...why do motor bikes have to blow their horn at 3 am??? There are superior rooms that face into the hotel courtyard which would be a better option for my next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysTravellingJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear AlwaysTravellingJuli,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

Location was nice. The hotel is not in the middle of the old quarter (so not in the middle of craziness) but close enough to walk. Service was helpful and rooms were nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JW-relaxed-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear JW-relaxed-traveller,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staffs as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice during our trip to Vietnam and were lucky to stay in a suite room each time. Both rooms were designed differently but we extremely well equipped and comfortable. The hotel itself is in a great location to explore Hanoi. Our problem with it was the food and drink both in quality and service. We arrived at 10:45pm after a delayed flight, tired and hungry only to be told that the restaurant and room service stops at 10:30pm and the only thing they could offer was a club sandwich. My husband does not eat meat and asked if they could make one with just the egg and veg. We were told that this was impossible. Not deterred, I ordered a sandwich and we sat in the bar area and waited whilst I observed a chap sat at the bar take a loaf of sliced bread off somewhere and came back with two plates. One plate had a single round of sandwiches which he just left on the bar whilst he continued to the end of the bar with the other plate stacked high with several rounds of sandwiches in which is proceeded to munch his way through. My solitary sandwich sat on the bar for 10 minutes until the bar tender re-appeared. This continued to be the theme on both our stays, mediocre food in the breakfast room combined with extremely slow service in the bar. Shame.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Abs64,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am sorry that your experience at our restaurant/bar did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, with nice bright touches.
Amazing rooms, friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good location. The only but is the price that is steep. I would rather stay at the Metropole for the same price ( in fact we did do it on our return to Hanoi), which is definetely one step above.
Also the swimming pool area is very average and a shame for a hotel of this kind!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Nelson D,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. We are pleased to hear that you like our hotel with regards to the rooms, frienly staffs, breakfast and location.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is a modern boutique hotel and its design is a mixture of Rococo and modernism, funny. Bathroom and bedroom are separated by a curtain, no idea why. Bed is ok although it's hight might be a problem for some. Shower is modern with a strong stream and the the WC is in a separate chamber which is cool. Walls between rooms are thin and we could hear our neighbor coughing.
Breakfast is dull compared to other hotels we have been to in Vietnam. Staff is young and unexpirienced. They hardly speak English but they node as if they undrstood you and disappear. If the hotel is fully booked you may wait for more than 30 minutes for a table. It takes them a long time to refill, but they are very quick in removing the plate you still eat from. A/C in room is ok, but in corridors, elevators and public areas you hardly feel it.
Wireless signal strength depends on where you are. On our first room on the 2nd floor it was strong and fast. On our return from a 24 hrs trip they gave us a room on the 8th floor, where the signal was weak and slow. If I ever come back to Hanoi I will for sure look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner yard are quiter unless they have a show there. In such a case don't get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Urido,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am sorry that some of our services did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I am happy to let you know that we have totally re-thinked our breakfast offer and as of May 14th I can assure you that the experience will be more attentive and more stable with premium products to choose from.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The rooms are spacious, clean and great amenities. they offer free bottles of water which is also a plus, the breakfast offers a wide selection of hot and cold food. the beds were high off the floor and very comfortable, the bathroom towels soft and plush. The street noise can be heard even with the windows closed, and there is always activity in this area. However, that didn't prevent me from getting a good nights sleep. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. I would definitely stay again. located between opera house and lake park. close to street shopping, and the puppet show

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior courtyard instead of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Lgoehle,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments toward Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Bodo Klingenberg
General Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- member of MGallery Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto241
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoteldelOpera, General Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#41 of 607 in Hanoi
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#77 of 607 in Hanoi
2,044 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 607 in Hanoi
1,925 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi

Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $102 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive, you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing