We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

In the French Quarter, near the lake and the Old Quarter, really smart boutique hotel- Accor M Gallery Collection, not your usual chain hotel experience. Bedroom decor perhaps over the top for some, but fun. Fine bathrooms, free wifi, gym, pool,comfortable beds helpful staff. Little bit of street noise, but not a real problem- Hanoi has a lot of street noise- mainly motorcycles...and everyone uses their horns

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear nathanwaks,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, with regards to our helpful staffs, bedroom decoration and other facilities. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Yours sincerely,

Christophe T. Caumont
Assistant Executive Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    452
    115
    34
    12
See reviews for
200
616
76
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

On any measure this is an excellent hotel. Whether for business or holiday I wish all hotels were like this. The staff were very good, the food was good (not excellent but better than average) and it is a very good location.

It is located in the French Quarter near the Opera House. This is the fancy part of Hanoi without as many touts and people bothering you on the street. It is also a more expensive part of town.

That said Hanoi is a convenient city to walk around. You can get to most of the major tourist spots easily on foot from either the Old Quarter or French Quarter.

The unfortunate thing about Hanoi is the people are not very nice and are constantly trying to rip off tourists... I feel aweful to say this as I have travelled all over the world and do understand Vietnam is a developing country... but I have never encounted the level of dishonesty across the board in terms of dealing with street mechants, in restaurants or booking tours. I feel sad to say this, and while this hotel was excellent, after being there for a week I would never visit Vietnam again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Cfan41
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, with regards to our colleagues, the food and location. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Being acknowledged that you have encountered some incidents on the street, I however hope to welcome you again to visit our hotel and Hanoi city in not a far distant future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant.

Yours sincerely,

Christophe T. Caumont
Executive Assistant Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was a massive disappointment. A five day stay in March 2012 revealed the following:
We had a room which looked into the atrium. This is roofed over and therefore a little dark. As a result the rooms can be gloomy. The Spa is still absent (this absence featured in a review in February so the hotel are not trying very hard are they?) The pool is cold, unattended and generally unattractive. The gym area has to be opened specially because it is not staffed. The web site advertises three restaurants but we found only one and upon enquiry the staff were unable to direct us to the others. The menus were very limited and the quality only average. The breakfasts, whilst offering good choice provided only a large pre-prepared omelette as the egg option. In a hotel which aspires to be quality shouldn't there be a choice of freshly prepared eggs at breakfast? It's the first time we've experienced this lack of service.
The bar staff, as we found them, were poorly trained and the much advertised cocktails are made to a "recipe" which lacks any reference to proportion so when I rejected an "Americano" which was 95% soda the barman could only tell me it was made to the recipe and refused to do anything about it. On the plus side the fittings are quality and the staff try very hard. Oh yes, the "doctor on call" does not exist but they reception staff will put you in touch with the "Family Medical Practice" which does provide a good service. Overall, not a good experience and the management need to visit some competitors to see how it should be done.

Room Tip: A room which has a window to the outside must be brighter than the ones looking inwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, Executive Assitant Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Aitch 1950,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Separate meetings will be hold internally with regards to your comments on the Spa, Swimming Pool, Fitness Center, Restaurants, Bar and Doctor on Call service. Especially the Spa, due to some unexpectedly reasons, we have some delay in opening it, and I am really sorry for this.

At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christophe T. Caumont
Assistant Executive Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- a member of MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Not sure where to start as this hotel surely exceeded my expectations.

From the friendly, hassle free welcome from all staff throughout the hotel, to the attentive porters, and more importantly; the bedroom: stylish, theatre feel and less is more. Just classy and with all modern equipment. I had no issues with my wifi throughout my stay.

Spotlessly clean and amazing rain showers and the renowned l'occitane products
Bed amazingly comfortable with first class linen.

The hotel is perfectly located for visits around the city and within a short walk of the old quarter and the lake.

Cannot relate to the reviews of noise as exhausted once in bed and you just doze away from the comfort of the bed.

The bar area is the perfect place to relax after a long day and prices lower than I had expected for such a stylish, well renowned brand.

Truly a delightful experience to the point that I already booked another Mgallery hotel.

Will definitely return if only just to have the best latte ever served outside of Paris..........and the feeling of being looked after from the moment you enter through the glass doors!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHJORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldelOpera, Executive Assistant Manager at Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Danetrotter,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi, with regards to out attentive colleagues, location, the bar and the comfortable bed and modern facilities.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Christophe T. Caumont
Assistant Executive Manager
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi- MGallery Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
Address: 29 Trang Tien Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operatic Glamour in the Heart of Hanoi: Hotel de l'Opera offers travellers a sophisticated break near the iconic Hanoi Opera House. As soon as you arrive you can't fail to be won over by the magic of the setting and the theatrical interior, filled with rich shades, silk drapes and flamboyantly coloured furniture. The same decadence runs through the 107 rooms and suites that combine 21st Century comfort with French sophistication and grand decor. Just as impressive are La Fee Verte Bar renown for its signature Absinthe, and the hotel's restaurants Cafe Lautrec for Mediterranean inspired cuisine and Satine for Vietnamese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing