We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good staff”
Review of Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nova Hotel
Ranked #92 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Nova Hotel in Hanoi. The location is about 5-10 minutes walking from the lake and well situated in the Old Quarter. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with suggestions around town.

I'm usually very hesitant to book tours with a hotel, but their price for a Halong Bay trip was cheaper than most of the agencies in town and the boat I ended up on was very nice.

I was in one of the cheaper rooms ($24 for an inside room with no window). The no window thing doesn't bother me, in fact I prefer it when in a loud city. The price was right, the staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Brian88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 529 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a fabulous choice for a reasonably priced hotel in Hanoi. We stayed here on 3 separate trips in and out of Hanoi in May and we had 3 different types of rooms. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful, and Viet, the manager, has all sorts of tips on Hanoi and Vietnam in general. The location is great in the Old Quarter, (the best area to stay in Hanoi) and the hotel is sparkling clean and the rooms are modern and new. If you are willing to pay a little extra, opt for one of the top rooms with either the balcony or the full window. We thought at first that it wouldn't be worth it to pay extra for the balcony, but we loved the early morning and late afternoon views and peace of watching Hanoi from above. On one stay, we took an inside room, with no window. (I thought that would be a bit closed in, but quite frankly, after all of the sensory input from hours on the hectic streets of Hanoi, the inside room was kind of a quiet relief! The breakfast is excellent, with your choice of many selections, and very generous servings, and prompt and cheerful service. Also, they even let us check in early at 6AM after returning from the overnight train from Sapa! We also left a small backpack with the hotel while we traveled outside of Hanoi, and we were happy with that free service. I highly recommend Nova Hotel, we were very happy with the whole experience there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is an excellent Hotel (formerly Vega Hotel). We had a great time while staying here, the owners and staff are really friendly and go out of their way to help, their motto is really true
" Working for big smiles", that's what you get every time you enter the hotel. They recommended restaurants, tours and places to see while in Hanoi and all were fantastic. The hotel is very central for the tourist and with in walking distance of most of the interesting things to do in Hanoi. The rooms are a good size, very clean and with all the amenities, the breakfasts are delicious with a choice of western or Vietnamese food, the best we had in Vietnam. I would recommend this hotel to any one who wanted a comfortable, relaxing and cool place to stay whilst in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Glenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at Nova Hotel (formerly Vega Hotel) in Hanoi for 5 nights recently. It was fabulous. The hotel is in an excellent, central location. The room was well equipped. Breakfast choices were western and vietnamese. The staff were sensational, very friendly and helpful. Viet had great ideas for local restaurants and places to visit. We booked our Halong Bay tour through Viet and that was also excellent. Highly recommend this very well priced property and we'll definitely stay there again when we return to Hanoi. Thanks to Viet and your team - made our trip to Hanoi very memorable.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with city view on level 6 - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a good opportunity to spend time for rest after sight seeing in Hanoi. The staffs are very nice and helpful also they are so friendly. The owners paid attention to every guests and introduced a good tour package. Finally the location is really good and near by Huan Kiem Lake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Logigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are looking for a decent price and good place to stay, this is it.
At first I was there for 3 days 2 nights so that I could get used to the city and find a suitable hotel for a long term stay but ended up staying at Nova (I believe it's former name was Vega Hotel) for a month. If you are staying at window room, or perhaps with balcony is better, you get to wake up with enough sun light but quiet at the same time. Nice food in the morning I had really enjoyed omelet and Pho every morning with Tra sua (hot milk tea) and Cafe sua da (coffee). The room was clean, staff were more willing to help when I had questions. What can I complain.
What makes it a better hotel than others is that hotel has vega travel through which you can also book Hallong Bay trip and other places. Despite of noisy street and hard to walk street, hotel made my trip. I guess it was the best decision I made in Hanoi. Highly recommended

Room Tip: deluxe room with window or a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Nikos_Younopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed in room 701 & found the room very clean & comfortable. It's on the top floor with a balcony. The room was spacious & the bathroom modern tho it was a bit awkward getting in & out of the bath for a shower. (I told Viet the only thing letting it down were the shabby towels). The glass & door to the balcony are double glazed so its very quiet in the room. Viet & his staff were fantastic he is very knowledgeable & speaks very good english. We booked our Sapa tour (stayed at Holiday Sapa Hotel & our guide was great too)) thru them & it was excellent, they organised everything for the trip, took us to our sleeper carriage & picked us up in the morning when we came back. It would of been chaos if we had to find our own way. I would recommend to stay at the NOVA Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for room 701 or 501 as they have a balcony tho i think the bathroom in 501 was very cramped &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank triplover57Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#61 of 597 in Hanoi
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#122 of 597 in Hanoi
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#90 of 597 in Hanoi
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#165 of 597 in Hanoi
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#48 of 597 in Hanoi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel

Address: 57 Hang Dieu Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Vega Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $28 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in June 2011, Nova Hotel ( formerly Vega hotel which is recommended by Lonely planet guide book with the same people, hotel logo, slogan and address ) is located in the area of 36 old streets in the center of Hanoi Capital - Vietnam. Our Hotel is near such major tourist attractions as Ho Guom (Hoan Kiem Lake) just 3 minutes walking only, Dong Xuan Market, Thang Long Water Puppet Show, Van Mieu Quoc Tu Giam (Temple of Literature), Chua Mot Cot (One-Pillar Pagoda), Vietnam’s History Museum, The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and more. The brand new eco-friendly Nova Hotel is once again perfectly positioned to be your hotel of choice in Hanoi. Boasting 23 beautifully designed rooms, they are an excellent choice for a leisure and business travelers alike when looking for accommodation in Hanoi. While simple, the bedrooms are elegant and luxurious, featuring extras like LCD TV screen and good-quality taps in the bathrooms. Come and enjoy your stay in comfort at Nova hotel where our professional and genuinely dedicated team is waiting to welcome you and guarantee you have a memorable visit to Hanoi and Vietnam. More than a hotel, Nova Hotel offer guests a fantastic special unique abstract paintings from temporary famous Artist Tran Hong Duc. His paintings have gain many exhibition awards, both in Vietnam and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing